Toyota Corolla ad plays every trick in camera playbook

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9wDPPmHBZu0

Here’s something to brighten up your day – Toyota Canada pulled off this amazing commercial entitled Like You’ve Never Seen It Before and starring the North American-market version of the Toyota Corolla, making use of every camera setup and technique you can think of (and even some you haven’t).

The 60-second spot, created by Saatchi & Saatchi Canada, featured 99 cameras – mounted on looping roller coaster-esque rigs, on jumping RC cars, side-by-side on a fancy The Matrix-esque “bullet time” setup and even on a turtle – to shoot the Corolla driving on a wide expanse of tarmac. In all, the advertisement was shot over four days.

The end result is interesting, don’t you think? It seems Toyota is aiming to match Honda in the quirky commercial stakes, the latter building a Rube Goldberg machine out of Accord parts in one spot and creating a commercial full of optical illusions for the CR-V. Even Peugeot is upping its game with the recent bonkers spot for the Peugeot 208 GTi 30th.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Z-YXyi8UTU

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• UMW Big Liars on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:09 pm

The only trick Toyota knows how to play is lie to the world about their faulty pedals. For years they were lying and tipu to the world until US government got fed up with them. Told them to F off and admit it or get prosecuted.

Then the cowards at Toyota confessed the had faulty accelerator pedals.

Comnpany has no ethics and no resposibility. With all the strong US laws, they still can pull tricks, I wonder what our UMW is doing without any strong laws, lemon laws and protection to the consumer in Malaysia.

Yes, UMW can get away with murder because is is GLC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Same L0rrr on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:31 pm

With the lemon laws and protection consumer, Proton will be the first to kena. So far, we saw much more Proton owners killed than Toyota’s in Malaysia. It is FACT.

Lastly, let look at another interesting car ads which spent millions ringgit to produce.
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rg71_Uq0j68

See the gap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Atoy-ot on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Copy and paste from website:
        All Toyota-produced vehicles sold in the U.S. today—including Toyota cars and trucks, and Lexus automobiles—are unsafe.  It will take years before new models roll off the company’s assembly lines that are completely safe.  Also, millions of Toyota vehicles are on American roads already that are unsafe to drive.  Any recent-vintage Toyota product, model years 2002[2] and later, potentially can turn into a runaway vehicle at a moment’s notice.  Driving one or being a passenger is like playing Russian roulette.  Query whether Americans, especially young families with small children, will trust their lives to Toyota?

Tragically and irresponsibly, the company has lied for years and it is lying now.  First, Toyota claimed it was a floor mat problem.  Next, the problems were related to the accelerator pedal[3]; and on and on the company’s lies go.  Toyota has had 10 years to investigate these issues, and determine and implement solutions, but its management has lied repeatedly and it is still doing it.  The runaway vehicle safety problems, which are confronting the giant automaker, are of a magnitude equal to or greater than those that brought down the storied Firestone tire brand, and the same thing may happen to Toyota.  Every American needs to read about runaway Toyota-produced vehicles.  The facts are sobering.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Be professional. Please list your source if you’re quoting from a website. People want to track and verify your information too, you know.

• Quirky commercial or not can never hide the poorly equip, poor ride and handling and overpriced Toyota of Malaysia.

• Fortune teller on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:46 pm

UMW Toyota, please put 6 airbags + VSC as standard accessories to all your car lineups at no additional charges.

Do not become arrogant big headed like Proton used to be many years ago king of the hill or you will suffer same fate backlash from car buyers.

Honda and Nissan will knock you off as no.1 non national car sales if your arrogance persists and did not heed to car buyers demand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • That’s the best trick they can do. 6 airbags become 2 and VSC become nothing.

• Matrix on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:52 pm

This ad is bad.
    Should refer this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9PXgAEhD6vw

this only call pro!

what a what Toyota Corolla ad.

• ismail saad on Oct 15, 2014 at 6:40 pm

where can i buy that tortoise camera? lol

• Dun buy toyota altis..cheap plastic interior..alot of rattlig sound and compressor problem And worst is tin man roof..buy dun regret lata..u pay 100k for tin kosong..I own 1..so I know…worst is the car change new spec like change handphone.

• BLT_Club on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Nice ad. Unfortunately, we’ll never get a similar equipped car with a reasonable price. Toyota = Moving Forward. UMW Toyota = Moving You Forward to an Early Grave

• choha on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:30 pm

this corolla model is so much better than the local one

• Pening on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Did SamLor get invited to officiate the ad shoot? :)

• Kelvin on Oct 16, 2014 at 12:16 am

A Merc is still required to rig the camera on the chasing vehicle.

• Toyota King of fake RV on Oct 16, 2014 at 1:39 am

No amount of ad trickery can trick consumers anymore. This Altis is the most pathetic version ever. Lousy built quality, rattling and no RV

• Toyota King of fake RV on Oct 16, 2014 at 1:57 am

UMW magic trick is even better. Remove VSC and 4 airbags. Voila price increased by 50%. Amazing.

• Josh Ling on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:37 am

Honda’s still more interesting and brilliant to me.