Perodua made its first fleet delivery of the Axia to a driving school last week. Eleven units of the new hatchback were handed over to Arinah Holdings, a Terengganu-based driving school which ordered 22 Axias.
“The delivery marks the first in such fleet sale delivery to an organisation and we are committed to deliver our vehicles per delivery plan – bearing any unforeseen circumstances,” said Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, Perodua’s president and CEO. He added that Perodua has received “overwhelming interest” from driving schools to acquire the Perodua Axia Standard E variant.
The Axia, launched last month, is Malaysia’s most affordable car with prices starting at RM24,600. Cheap and no frills, the Axia E is the perfect car to replace the basic Viva/Kancil that is the current staple of driving schools across the country. Older drivers might remember taking driving lessons in the original Kancil, Nissan Sunny or a Datsun.
As of last week, the Axia has received more than 33,000 bookings, with nearly 7,000 units delivered since launch day. Perodua aims to sell 30,000 Axias by the end of the year.
Dive into our Perodua Axia infohub for a wealth of information, videos (by both P2 and paultan.org) and pictures – including galleries of the various specs and one side-by-side with the Viva – that will aid your shopping process.
“we are committed to deliver our vehicles per delivery plan – bearing any unforeseen circumstances
Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/10/20/perodua-axia-deliveries-driving-schools-begin/#ixzz3Ge7SnbAZ ”
So purposely making 6 months waiting list for normal rakyat to buy E spec is their delivery plan too? So you can force rakyat to fork out thousands more for tissue box, coin box holder, anti snatch hook to get it within two weeks? This is almost like bribing, but legal. Sneaky.
1) Bribing is the act of dishonestly persuading by gift of money or other inducement. Question : Has Perodua give out anything to encourage more sales of higher variants?
2) When you forecast your biz/production plan, you’ll forecast the no.of sales to each variant. Safe to say, Perodua would never have imagined that the base E variant will be demanded by customers, thus the sudden shift in prod focus causing the long waiting period. That also explains for the quick delivery of higher variants, cuz they’ll surely expect a big rush but only for it to turn out the other way round.
1) Yes, in which Perodua persuades with the most valuable resource: time. Wanna receive your car in just 2 weeks instead of 6 months? Pay for it.
2) Inexcusable. E spec doesn’t even have radio, making a very kosong car is harder than full spec car with all kinds of accessories?
If waiting period 6 months still customer willing to buy, means the product really good! Like Mercedes W400L, Audi A6 hybrid etc.
Not like some cars, Oct2014 already you still can get 2013 cars with RM6k discount. A special term for this kind of products: JUNK.
Which one is correct?
P2 got 3000K orders
or
SA did BIG lie
haha!
poor rakyat with limited budget had no choice…
BIG LIAR…
everybody know ~99% both E & G spec sharing assembly parts and components.
I don’t see anything could delay the assembly build of E spec, as the major different only profit.
No Sports Rims, replace with the metal:-
No CD Radio, replace with flat plastic cover
No need spray side mirror cover, even less job
TELL ME WHAT ELSE COULD DELAY THE ASSEMBLY BUILD?
Maybe they have a low stock count and slow delivery of the mentioned metal wheels and the flat plastic cover for the car radio. That’ll be good for a joke or two, though.
Yes, definitely its the same, and definitely much easier to build an E compared to other variants. And yes, so easy like what you mentioned:
No Sports Rims, replace with the metal
No CD Radio, replace with flat plastic cover
No need spray side mirror cover, even less job
But then this is a factory we’re talking about. On the outside it easy to say “Aiya just change the ratio lor, then enuf lor.” But then, why they have an order freeze, spec freeze timing? And the freeze is half year back? Not only to Perodua, all manufaturers have this SOP. In fact, brands like Lexus freeze almost a year before start of production..
What I’m saying is, yes its ridiculous to see why can’t they just do the bare car faster than the others. But to conspire that they’re doing this to push other variants is not 100% justifiable, especially if you cannot rule out their “freeze” SOPs..
Do you need to call ppl a big liar? Unprofessional, immature..can’t you debate without personal reference/attacks?
Used by driving schools ??? SHY SHY … Alamak better get a IRIZ…
Maybe they ran out of Spec E tachometer-less instruments.
I’m guessing they could fit the G (assuming there is no change in harness)… but that would alleinate buyers of E for those with or without tachs…and assuming they have enough G Spec instrument meters to go around.
This sort of things happens all the time in manufacturing, especially when the forecast comes in wrong. U can blame the marketing department for that. Clearly buyers are smarter than them…they must have taken figures from the 660BX not knowing the 25k Axia E is a lot better deal than the 660BX ever was.
Gotta love ’em steelies
Got my license through the classic Datsun 1200. Or some refered it to the B series.. Boxy, small and with cool round lights… That was 27 years ago… Haha
How do they teach the student without the RPM meter? when to shift the gear at ideal RPM and all. Ke main agak2 je?
Yes indeed. I don’t know why they need to remove the RPM meter for a car intended for a driving school.
The thing is, the old kancil i used to perform my driving test doesn’t have rpm meter either.
Just FEEL it.
My time kancil 660 only. No AC, no power steering, 4 speed.
*5speed
There is a 4-speed manual Kancil, i believe the first batch 660 models.
Yup memang ada!!!
Simple back to basic, I am getting one in white and will install Clarion touch-screen Apple-Carplay system. Gonna call it Axia Superleggera! Mind you my other car is a stock BMW E36 Coupe haha
Might share more? Sure the Clarion Unit can fit well into the Axia Radio CD slot and how much?
The Apple CarPlay will be made available with Alpine and Pioneer 2-din touch screen headunits. They haven’t launched it yet http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/CarPlay/
I must say it looks awesome.
The Axia E is very light weight and cheap minimalist in every single way. It is a cheap runabout errand car to go to work and home; leaving your precious other car in the garage. Manual and steel wheels will ensure the car rock solid reliability.
I got my driving license in a 660 Kancil Manual; it doesn’t have a rev counter either. Heck, even a Rolls-Royce Phantom and Ghost doesn’t even have one!
Wow this time tou want to comapre Axia with luxury cars! I can’t stop laughing!
By the way, using Axia for going from A to B and leave bigger cars at home? Dun say it’s B segment car. That’s killing the purpose of that cars.
Can someone who’s taken a driving license recently comment on how relevant is it to learn driving on the smallest available car and then going on to actual drive a bigger car in real life?
I learned my driving back in the Nissan Sunny days and the difference wasn’t much.
During my time was first generation Kancil. It was very easy to do side parking with that car. After getting license, I was driving a van Ford Spectron, not much trouble driving that vehicle except for side parking which kind of hassle for me and also to turn into tight junction. But the rest it was okay.
WHat happen to those previous Vivas?
Drive into sunset>?
major fact people bought the Axia model. It was
cheap in the market & trendy look. Power, what we can expect from 1.0cc engine.
4 star rating driving school car.
comes in handy when the student panic during in road training.
on the waiting list,p2 must know or anticipate what the market want or might want.production line can easily adjusted to suit demand.
saying that a higher spec type has quicker delivery time is almost a lie.
manufacturer did that to clear their part bin.
If things go on like this.P2 might even adapt by either giving the added accessory as standart option on lower variant.Whether its mandatory cost option or not is up to them.
Just quota system imposed by P2 to increase the profit, may be the production is to produce only one E Spec for 10 G Spec produced (ratio of 1 is to 10) so to discourage purchasers to buy E Spec.
we need competent drivers…..testing them in a small car is not making them good and competent at all….
test them in a big car..that would make them a more confident and competent driver as well….
Whether small or big cars, Malaysians are actually quite conpetent drivers, its the super ego attitude and ignoring traffic rules that kill many of us year in and year out. It is quite ironic that some are killed at traffic intersections where traffic lights are supposed to prevent this from happening.
fully agreed. veery lansi
I saw one yellow Perodua Axia SE / AV close up today at my uni. Looks quite nice actually, most definitely bigger than the Viva, and almost as big as a Myvi ( the small tyres let it down ).
They said P2 axia advance ready stock so i don’t have to wait couple more month for other variant but it also dragged me more than a month to get it.. Bank loan process already complete but yet still don’t have a stock for me..
ya they are starting to popup around kl …but most i see is the low spec…..
and i noticed the rear led lights looks cheap , like those u get from brother’s , the led bulb is big and far apart from the next bulb….
Just a question, I ordered this car on the day itself when perodua accept advance booking which on the AUGUST I think, but till now there is no car for me yet. Does anyone facing the same problem as I saw there are many axias on the town. And yes I ordered a G Spec.
I booked on 18.08.14 for e spec. Despite numerous email and phone call. The Perodua don’t even bother to give me a email reply. Their customer services just give standard answer. Ie . 6 month waiting period
i paid booking 23/9/14 until now still no news. booked g (A).
Hmm…..Its time to show my real power at driving school due of no safety equipment. You Fail You Die
I thought of purchasing a Axia auto but my sister who just took delivery of one warned me to think twice as she say it’s very ‘under power’. I was wondering if the manual versionis
A friend who just took delivery of a Axia (auto) commented sadly that it’s very under power especially going uphill ! Is the manual version more powerful ?!!