SPIED: Mercedes-Benz C 200 BlueTEC in Malaysia

Mercedes-Benz_C_200_BlueTec_Malaysia

Now here’s something we didn’t expect – reader Ong Kok Tsin just sent us a picture of a W205 Mercedes-Benz C 200 BlueTEC parked at Cycle & Carriage Jalan Tun Razak.

A diesel C-Class isn’t exactly a shocker – MBM did bring in a fleet of the W204 C 220 CDI recently – but this particular engine variant caught us by surprise.

While we were predicting that the 170 hp/400 Nm, 2.1 litre C 220 BlueTEC would reach our shores sometime in the future to take on the BMW 320d, this C 200 BlueTEC is powered by a Renault-sourced 1.6 litre four cylinder turbodiesel engine with 136 hp and 300 Nm of torque. It should be paired to the same 7G-Tronic Plus transmission found in other W205 models.

This base diesel variant will join the Australian market in the first quarter of 2015. As the rest of our W205 range mirrors Australia’s rather closely, you can expect the C 200 BlueTEC to arrive here officially within the same timeframe.

Earlier this month, MBM added the RM339,888 C 250 AMG Line to the Malaysian lineup, which also includes the RM285,888 C 200 Avantgarde and RM 314,888 C 250 Exclusive. Meanwhile, we already know that the Mercedes-Benz E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid will arrive here soon, as a tax-free CKD model. Exciting times ahead for MBM, eh?

W205 Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG Line

W205 Mercedes-Benz C 250 Exclusive
W205 Mercedes-Benz C 200 Avantgarde

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• cendol (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 2:37 pm

What will the price be like?

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 2:59 pm

What line is the car in the picture? AMG?

• Blaze (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:03 pm

This Renault sourced 1.6 diesel engine is known to be short on power and refinememt. Even the smaller A class which equiped with this puny engine is reported by the European auto jurnos to be simply outclass by it’s competitors. Better get the 220 or if price matters, probably better get the 316i..

• zeek (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:21 pm

For now, the 320d remains as my preferred choice. But that MIGHT change once I get the chance to have a go in the C220. and if I had to choose between the 316i & the C200 BlueTEC, I’d go with the latter.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Ehm… at least the 1.5 in the A 180 CDI is supposed to be really good. Very low fuel consumption, very quiet and powerful. Quiter and more fuel saving than the Mercedes engine it replaced. Owners are happy. And at least on German forums the consensus seems to be that Renault makes really fine diesel engines.

• Therealmaserati on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:06 pm

diesel cars FC are damn good. But maintainence for diesel engines are ridiculously exp!!

• alldisc on Oct 25, 2014 at 6:17 pm

diesel engines have no spark plugs, and ignition system – making do without spark plug cables and the likes.

meaning it already has less service items as the petrol counterpart (ie EO, OF, air filter, fuel filter), so how come one can say it is more expensive?

• Errrr on Oct 24, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Is this gonna be a poor man’s mercedes like the poor man’s BMW 316i?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • The C-Class is MBM’s bread & butter… Launching this Bluetec version is most likely to challenge BMW’s 320D and to get a slice of market share, after all there are people who will go for fuel efficient models instead of performance.
    Still… Can’t help but to curse the C-Class’s high price

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 4:19 pm

So BMW has a petrol 1.6l engine in the 316i and Mercedes has a 1.6l diesel engine in the C200 BlueTEC…very interesting indeed but MBM needs to CKD it to be competitive and I have little hope seeing this car matching the 316i in price considering its badged as a C200 BlueTEC rather than a C180 BlueTEC.

• gaviny on Oct 24, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Renault? seriously?

my opinion on diesel engines

audi>porsche>hyundai>bmw

bmw most agricultural , audi and porsch you don’t hear a thing

• you got drive all of the cars meh? how you know renault’s engine feels like?

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 24, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Actually no, Renault makes some of the best diesel engines. Quiet, refined, powerful and low fuel consumption.

Audi diesel engines come from VW, and they are noisy as f***. Driven a few of them, and especially outside at idle they are extremely noisy, with that clackering sound that you’d associate with a diesel. No complains on performance or fuel consumption, but noise and refinement…

• benzy on Oct 24, 2014 at 5:46 pm

210k bluetec?

• raymond75 on Oct 25, 2014 at 10:48 am

Maybe this bluetec is limited like amg line allocation which is 12 unit only that brought to malaysia by mbm…

• EnergyAnalyst on Oct 25, 2014 at 2:42 pm

renault’s engine is really going places at Daimler’s Mercedes. A, B and now C line. What would be next?