Honda City Hybrid unveiled in Japan as Honda Grace

Honda_Grace_Honda_City_Hybrid_01

The highly anticipated Honda City Hybrid has been unveiled in Japan, where it will be badged as the Honda Grace – a hybrid-only model. This is the same hybrid sedan model announced at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show, which has since been confirmed for the Malaysian market.

Revealed on Honda’s domestic website, the Grace looks pretty much identical to the 2014 Honda City that we know. It has a few unique bits though – the blue-tinged bar under the grille (a common theme among Honda’s hybrids), the option for twin-projector LED headlights, LED taillamps, and a small bootlid spoiler.

Top-spec versions get the same 16-inch wheels that we have here, while others get a new 15-inch design. Also visible are aeroblade-type windscreen wipers, as opposed to the conventional units on the City. Inside, changes are limited to a new set of instrument cluster and the small gearknob shared with the Jazz Hybrid.

Little has been revealed regarding what’s under the hood, other than that it’s a Sport Hybrid i-DCD (Intelligent Dual Clutch Drive) unit. It’s more than likely that it will be the same package offered on the Jazz Hybrid and Vezel/HR-V Hybrid models – a 110 PS/134 Nm 1.5 litre i-VTEC Atkinson-cycle engine and a 29.5 PS/160 Nm electric motor built into a seven-speed twin-clutch transmission. Cooling vents for the lithium-ion battery can be seen by the rear seats, just like on the Civic Hybrid.

A locally-assembled Honda City Hybrid will enjoy tax-free privileges here in Malaysia, at least until the end of 2015 at current regulations. If it gets here in time, it should have a very interesting price range. Could it undercut the top-spec City 1.5 V’s RM90,800 price tag?

We’ll only know Japan pricing and further details for the new Grace Hybrid when the car hits the showrooms in early December this year.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Finally! Something that’s more than just vtec.

• DSGgarage on Nov 01, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Does the multiple clutch is reliable because it’s from Japan?

• Well for sure we won’t know until it’s on the market.

Anyway, here’s a promo video about i-dcd, you can have more insight on the dualcluth gearbox and how the electric motor is connected to it.
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C–2LxxaFto

• francis on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:52 am

Honda Sport Hybrid i-DCD seems very much identical to Toyota Hybrid Synergy Drive and it is different than formerly Honda Integrated Motor Assist (IMA). Anyone could clarify this?

• calculathor on Nov 01, 2014 at 1:19 pm

if it’s not DCT then take my money. i’m on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • The DCT is the key component of making the hybrid work.

• Same L0rrr on Nov 03, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Want a problem free hybrid? Get a Prius.

• LeJohn on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:45 pm

yeah. With the Prius being CBU and not CKD because of Toyota being stubborn. You must be freaking crazy to buy a Prius

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Saw in the Japanese Honda site, that there is an AWD option for the City Hybrid (everything else is in Japanese, which I don’t understand). Then I see the Sport Hybrid name also mentioned. Does this mean that Honda has taken the Sport Hybrid AWD system from the flagship Acura RLX (and Acuras are already one level above Hondas) and put it into a B segment Honda family sedan? Not even the other Acuras (TLX, ILX, RDX, MDX) get the Sport Hybrid system, though the new NSX will, but the other way around as the NSX is mid engined. If yes, this City with the Sport Hybrid option is probably one the most awesome handling current Honda cars.

• RA005E on Nov 02, 2014 at 7:30 am

Grace will use same 4WD system as Fit Hybrid and Vezel Hybrid. The one that in the Acura is called “Sport Hybrid SH-AWD”.

• Honda on Nov 01, 2014 at 1:41 pm

The insight is so dissapponted that majority of owners sold off their car in a year time…
    It is just not well received worldwide

• masteroushi on Nov 01, 2014 at 2:05 pm

wow, finally City made it into Japan market. Looking at the Honda JP website, Grace will have 4WD option too ..

• Aerodynamic bro on Nov 01, 2014 at 5:12 pm

That means I can buy halfcut Japan version to convert as City 4WD in Malaysia.

• Aerodynamic bro on Nov 01, 2014 at 2:06 pm

I would buy halfcut of that headlight and taillight for my Honda City

• The question is, will this City Hybrid face the same issue as the Jazz Hybrid, where it suffers 4-5 recalls within a year in Japan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 01, 2014 at 2:45 pm

As long as it is not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Carcarcarrrr on Nov 01, 2014 at 2:52 pm

It proves that the Honda City is a car that is good enough for the Japanese market. Can’t say the same for Vios and Almera though.

• Nissan sells the Almera in Japan with the name of Latio.

• Carcarcarrrr on Nov 02, 2014 at 8:50 pm

I didn’t realize that Ed ! So the Almera is known as the Latio in Japan. I guess South East Asian (SEA) models are all based on the platform of JDM models at the end of the day – Honda Fit, Nissan Latio, Toyota Vitz.

It would seem that the difference between SEA and JDM models boils down to the technical aspects, safety features, quality, etc.

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:51 pm

Its more probable that this is due to the Civic not being sold in Japan, except for the hybrid. So, the Grace is taking its place.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Come to Malaysia and the price becomes RM130k because of generous Malaysia tax regime.
    I don’t think ANYBODY will buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Sauron on Nov 04, 2014 at 7:13 pm

Beloved Cendol, stop whining and complaining. want to change world? get a good education, become someone and change the status quo. you accomplishes nothing by being an incessantly whining orc.

• Anti-Establishment on Nov 01, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Could it undercut the top-spec City 1.5 V’s RM90,800 price tag?

Not a chance in hell

• shiftstick on Nov 01, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Too late. Axia is cheaper, more space, more money savings. 29km/l = Axia No Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
  • Matrix on Nov 01, 2014 at 6:23 pm

I am driving city too.
    Normally city already can beat those branded C/D segment car.

With Hybrid , i think lambo/GTR can’t beat it.

Good job, honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Beat? Just because you can accelerate faster than them at a traffic light doesn’t mean you beat them. Most probably they weren’t even trying.

• AVH (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 11:10 pm

He probably meant beat them over a speedhump..
        ..I personally did in my prev gen City, in Sunway, there were 5 humps on the road and I was following a GTR, fed up, signal, overtake.

• spongewai on Nov 01, 2014 at 6:44 pm

AMAZING GRACE

lol

• shawal on Nov 01, 2014 at 8:19 pm

The new gen honda city is designed from the get go to accomodate a hybrid drivetrain…
    luckily that capacious 536 litre boot will come in handy to accomodate the batteries….

full spec and price it lower than the V spec…
    It’ll be flying off shelves….

• Nissan on Nov 01, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Tax exemption for locally assembled hybrid car is only until end of 2015. who will invest in such business? so definitely, we won’t get this one.

• RicoT on Nov 01, 2014 at 9:34 pm

My booking fee is ready for this car.

• Albert on Nov 01, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Same Lorr… Honda,Toyota and many big car manufacturers have hybrids.
    What does our proton has?
    Energy Deficient Syiok Sendiri Vehicle.(EDSSV},not EEV like Perodua AXIA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Proton has all tax payers pay money. So Proton no worry! Proton always have money, people mati Proton pun tak bankrupcy!

• Pricetag on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:50 pm

what is the price if it comes to malaysia? 120k?

• HOndaKan on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:39 pm

city hybrid will not hit our shores for next two years. confirmed d..city hybrid.. vezel hybrid.. bye bye