2015 Mitsubishi Triton appears on oto.my – RM92,000?

s4-9275-image

The all-new 2015 Mitsubishi Triton has only just been launched in Thailand last week, but already it has popped up in a listing on our sister classifieds site oto.my, available for “early bird” booking.

Of course, being so soon since the global unveiling of Mitsubishi’s fifth-generation pickup, there’s very little information actually present in the ad copy, not even a tentative launch period. However, the car was advertised with an estimated starting price of RM92,000, some RM10,000 higher than the current base 2.5 MT STD model, which retails at RM82,185 on-the-road without insurance.

Available equipment listed on the ad include keyless entry, push-button start, “LED head lamp” (most likely referring to the integrated LED daytime running lights, as the new Triton only comes with xenon headlights on its highest spec), leather seats, Bluetooth connectivity and a multi-function steering wheel.

According to the ad, the new Triton will come in as a 2.5 litre model, which probably means we will miss out on the new 2.4 litre MIVEC VGT turbodiesel that produces 181 PS and 430 Nm, instead getting an improved version of the existing 178 PS/400 Nm 2.5 litre VGT oil burner.

In Thailand, the 2015 Mitsubishi Triton is now open for booking in both Double Cab Plus and Double Cab 4×4 guises. Buyers can choose between a 128 PS/194 Nm 2.4 litre petrol with a five-speed manual or the aforementioned 2.4 litre diesel with either a six-speed manual or a five-speed automatic. Nine variants are available, with prices ranging from 791,000 baht (RM80,700) to 1,008,000 baht (RM102,900).

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Design try hard fail =_=

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Kancil Hybrid on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Ni kat hiway mesti laju gila. 2.4 MIVEC TD VGT.

• Technologies are much more advance on the 4N15 MIVEC 2.4 DiD compare to 4D56 VGT. The engine lifespan are longer, durable yet much cleaner & fuel efficient but it need EURO 5. That prevent it come to Malaysia.

• Same L0rrr on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:55 pm

As long as it is sushi, it will have RV and build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • No standard la keta2 negara sushi ni,no corporate image,malu nak parking kat jockey

• cordia on Nov 26, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Better wait for Proton Arena Triton rebadge. Who knows Proton re-marry Mitsubishi again. Rindu isteri Jepun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • cordia puiii on Nov 26, 2014 at 4:42 pm

why you wanna associate with proton? talk kok n nonsense only. I bet you only drive kancil 660.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rrr on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:22 pm

I won’t mind buying the Proton Accordana. It is sushi car still, that’s why you see Perodua is selling good. So many Axia on the roads.

• ben yap on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:16 pm

expensive for a pick-up.

• albag on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:48 pm

that front face is the ugliest Mitsubishi I have seen so far… even uglier than the current Pajero.. talking about Pajero, wonder how will the new Pajero Sport gonna look like since they share the same platform…

• cakoii on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:16 pm

but pajero sport fast enough to smoke ur car bro..if u have a car laa.try pajero bro..then u know how tat suv so much better than his rival

• nabill (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:02 pm

the d max has alot of good reviews plus its undoubted realiability…waiting for the new navara with its mega spec…triton?? i pass..

• Experience on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Not I try to support Isuzu. Through my experiences, I had problem with triton, hilux & navara. Worst is ranger. Got 3 DMAX still in service. 1 2008 3.0 done 300,000km with no problem at all. Engine is very good. When comes to engine durability, Isuzu is the best I can say. Even pump diesel from drum on rural area has no problem.

• darkermarker on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:10 pm

the front of this truck looks weird and confused

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Is Yen depreciating?
    Is Ringgit depreciating faster than Yen?
    How do you justify? Please educate us.

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:11 am

Ah…kind of expected the 2.4L VGT MIVEC to not be offered here due to our bad fuel quality. Guess it really turned out that way.

• gaviny on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:30 am

shucks, the MIVEC would have given a much different engine characteristic and driving experience