Uber and Volkswagen get together for charity – local celebs to be Uber drivers for today in VW vehicles

uber vw 1

Two names that are attempting to shake off issues have come together to do their bit for charity – car-sharing service Uber and Volkswagen Malaysia will be running a one-day fundraising project for 31 different charities.

As the manner of the pairing suggests, the city-wide charity fundraising project will involve Uber’s services and Volkswagen vehicles, working together with more than 50 local celebrities who will be volunteering their time to become Uber drivers for the day.

The unique proposition takes place today (December 12) from 10 am to 5 pm – the celebs will be driving in vehicles specially provided by Volkswagen, picking up riders (or if you will, passengers) through the Uber platform and raising funds for their respective charity of choice.

All funds collected from these celebrity drives will then be matched by both Uber and Volkswagen Malaysia, on a reciprocal basis depending on the number of trips made, and channeled to the charities. There will be a standard donation of RM20 for all celebrity drives, with a maximum of 30 minutes per trip (from start to finish) and a maximum of three passengers per trip.

Uber says it expects demand for the celeb drives to be high, and advises that potential riders will have a better chance of securing a celebrity driver from areas such as Bangsar, KLCC Golden Triangle, Bandar Utama / TTDI, Mont Kiara, Mid Valley, KL Sentral and selected areas in Petaling Jaya.

All lucky riders are set to receive customised #UberSwag and Volkswagen merchandise, so, if you want in on the novelty and give to a good cause, make sure you download and open your Uber app, slide right to “UberVW”, set your desired pickup location and click ‘Request Celebrity’.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Maybe the word ‘rider’ should be changed to ‘passenger’..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Dec 12, 2014 at 12:20 pm

call it passenger when it is a taxi.

uber is basically not a taxi, but so-called your private driver. unlike taxis in malaysia, the cars are full taxed but has better appointments inside.

hence, the term “rider”. :)

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Local celebs are going to get a shock when the DSG fails and the car is stuck on the side of the road.

VW should sort their DSG issues as opposed to doing all this Uber Gimmicks

• TheRealMalaysian on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Luckily, it didn’t happened and I believe that VW definitely won’t let this kind of issue happen on that day.

• AVH (Member) on Dec 12, 2014 at 9:40 am

-50 local celebrities who will be volunteering their time to become Uber drivers for the day.-

And I have absolutely no idea who every anyone is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • ThePolygon on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:21 am

I only know 3. Reshmonu, Nash Idrus and Julie Woon. The rst I just couldn’t match the face to the name. But it’s for a good cause so… good :D

• Rosmah on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:51 am

I want Najib to be my driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
      • Michel Bay on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:55 am

Heh, I want to ride with Pricilla Patrick ! ! 100% Smooth with No Traffic Jam ! Bcause she is the Voice of Traffic Watch ! :D

• So thats why i saw some of them around PJ.
      Should have made more of an announcement beforehand.

• Hikaru on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:27 am

Wanted to give it a try but like someone mentioned, mainly c to b celebs. Nonetheless never slack for charity. Too bad I deleted the app long time ago.

• GodCar on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:32 am

seriously…who the f**k are those celebrity ?

Put lar hypertune gals :p

Anyway, pity those driver if the DSG fail on that day. It will be priceless and Sam Tow Truck comes to rescue !!! Priceless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • SPAD & JPJ will clamped down them on that day. Do KJ make the list of the driver? How about Hassan Malek & Ahmad Maslan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Haiyaa…just bank in your money to charity fund la..it is easier and directly went to the needed instead of VW hijacking it for marketing purpose and masked under charity drive.

• Anonymous on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:52 am

Typo on date (December 21)

• VW malaysia’s marketing team is better suited to sell clothings then cars.

• Proton Fanboy on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:55 am

Why don’t use Suprimau? No support for local product?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • kzm (Member) on Dec 12, 2014 at 2:30 pm

why the fxxx VW and Uber wanna use p1 car when the charity run by VW and Uber??

• spongewai on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:29 am

Jin Lim, Hitz.FM DJ
    Rueben Kang, Jin Lim’s best buddy of Jinny Boy TV on YouTube

Adam C, Red.FM DJ and Football Pundit

Carey Ng, Miss World Universe Model

Bernard Hiew, known as most favourite TAO FU POK his nickname

all i know them

• Reuben on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:40 am

Hi Paul Tan!Thanks for putting my name!LOL

• na bei on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:41 am

car will overheat. typical vw

• vw sucks on Dec 12, 2014 at 12:09 pm

whats with all these gimmicks. FIX YOUR CARS!! spend those budget on keeping us existing owners happy first WOULD YA?

GOSH.

i own a passat and i tell you im super frustrated with this car. The dealer is shit, VGM keeps giving empty promises. my car is in already in the workshop for almost 1 month now! NO COURTESY CAR, NO FOLLOW UP, DONT PICK UP CALLS, I DONT EVEN KNOW WHEN WILL I GET BACK MY CAR.

And guess what? I’m carless now and i use UBER to get get around. You owe me a lifetime of uber rides VGM!

Wanna experience hell on earth? buy a Volkswagen! FU VGM FU FA WAGEN

• iskhalifah (Member) on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:15 pm

I think whose who bought Passat can also afford a Viva/Axia as 2nd emergency car. Potential owners of VW should consider to buy a cheap or 2nd hand Perodua as a backup car (if they have no other car in their garage), can serve well to go to Pasar too.

• FightAgainsttheLAW on Dec 15, 2014 at 2:59 pm

You sent to which service center?
      I think you should send your car to another service center instead of just waiting.

• Jason123 on Dec 15, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Wow.. seems like you have a very bad experience with VW.
      I’m a Golf 1.4 owner and my car has been sent to the service center last few months ago for the clutch replacement and so far, I’m very satisfy with their after sales. Well.. at least not as bad as you said. I will send my car to the service center next month for normal service. Hope everything will fine.

• drMpower on Dec 12, 2014 at 12:22 pm

have UBER agreed to all JPJ/ SPAD rules and regulation? they may bring all the Klingons to be the drivers, but if they dont comply to all the rules, then i am afraid this show is big no go. or illegal.

and ah, i heard someone say UBER is BANNED in india? for very reasons they need to comply to all regulations here.

• alldisc on Dec 12, 2014 at 12:30 pm

pls make sure they know how to drive, let alone having a proper license.

a great way of VW influencing the artist to feel good about its cars… to buy them and have some impact to the public

• VW Fix your car first on Dec 12, 2014 at 12:41 pm

VGM, you should focus on VW owner facing problems.
    Frankly speaking, your QC is crap, your SC is terrible, customer service officer service is horrible!

Even HQ VGM customer careline can not solve the problem, no commitment, no follow up!

VGM, quality, reliability, service issues not solved, your sales will be zero..

Potential customer were scared away!
    Current owner will not buy another new VW!

CNB going to close 2 sales and service center in Klang and JB. China investor group dealer also scared away by VGM.

Common VGM, media publish on Sunday service, More courtesy car, expert from German all these marketing advertising “action” never comes true.

It makes me dissapointed, disgrace, regret to get VW. Buy problems home!
    New car sluggish sales, current owner’s car making big loss to sell VW problem car off.

NEW VGM MD.
    FIX VW CAR PROPERLY!
    YOUR SC STANDARD WORSE THAN PROTON, PERODUA!

• Why don’t u buy proton? problem solved.

you can enjoy a service center which superior thant VW too.

personally treat u kopi ais and yao zha kuey

• Chillax on Dec 15, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Calm down..
      Please state out the issues of your car first before you condemn.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 13, 2014 at 2:33 am

leng yein a celebrity? ok…..LOL…..i think im a bigger celebrity than her

• TheEnforcement on Dec 14, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Nice to read stories of company practice CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) to aid needy people. UBER and VW continue this CSR practice.