Driven Web Series 2014 – revisit all seven episodes!

Driven_2014_ep5_Mazda_3_vs_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_vs_Kia_Cerato 005

Well folks, after an eventful and exciting roller-coaster ride of a year, we’re fast approaching the end of 2014. Before we make our wishes and resolutions for 2015 and hurl ourselves once more unto the breach, we’re casting a last glance into our rear-view mirror, and the Driven Web Series quickly emerges as one of our biggest highlights.

Back for a second term with a bang, the new episodes packed sharper opinions, more thrills and spills, more guest stars (including everyone’s favourite RV expert!) and more placing Harvinder in compromising situations, all while singling out the best of some of the latest and most popular cars on sale in Malaysia.

We sincerely hope you enjoyed watching the season as much as we did planning, writing and filming it – and if yes is the answer, you may be pleased to hear that we’ll be back next year! Until then, watch (and re-watch!) all of this year’s seven episodes here. Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and Happy Holidays from all of us at paultan.org!

Episode 1: Honda City vs Toyota Vios vs Nissan Almera

We begin by dissecting Malaysia’s most popular vehicle category – B-segment sedans. Bringing together the Honda City, Toyota Vios and Nissan Almera in their respective top-spec V, TRD Sportivo and VL variants, we demonstrate the importance of safety features such as stability control and airbags – and attempt to find out if rear disc brakes really make a difference in this class.

Episode 2: MINI Cooper vs Citroen DS3 vs Volkswagen Beetle

Urban, trendy and fashionable – the qualities these cars possess that us three… don’t. So we decided to rope in celebrity host Megan Tan to help us decide which should take home the tiara: the new MINI Cooper, Citroen DS3 or Volkswagen Beetle. But wait… where’s Harve gone?

Episode 3: Honda Accord vs Nissan Teana vs Kia Optima

Enter the D-segment company car battle. It’s the Honda Accord, Nissan Teana and Kia Optima – all hiding 2.0 litre engines under their expansive bonnets. It matters at the back here, so we play chauffeur to our boss Paul Tan (or three of him?) and get his verdict on the rear quarters. We also put the trio through the all-important Pak Guard test – nobody should barge in and disrupt anything, right?

Episode 4: Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG vs Volkswagen Golf R vs Subaru WRX STI

It’s horsepower time – in this action-packed episode, the cool, sophisticated Volkswagen Golf R, the stark raving mad Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG and the reborn legend from the Land of the Rising Sun that is the Subaru WRX STI, duke it out on Bukit Tinggi’s spaghetti of tarmac. What are the chances of, say, a legendary rally driver gate-crashing our party and taking us on in a purpose-built, stripped out track car?

Episode 5: Mazda 3 vs Toyota Corolla Altis vs Kia Cerato

The C-segment sedan has it tough. With the Bs climbing up the ladder and the Ds reaching down below, there’s little room to breathe, but that doesn’t stop them trying. We look at the Mazda 3, Toyota Corolla Altis and Kia Cerato to see which packs the most substance behind the style. We even attempt to chat up some ladies using pick-up lines derived from the names of our cars… with varying degrees of success.

Episode 6: Ford Fiesta EcoBoost vs Honda Jazz Hybrid vs Mitsubishi Attrage

Excuse us, for we go a bit scientific here. Or as scientific as we can get on video without lulling you to sleep. Which technology saves the most fuel – small turbo engine, hybrid or good-old lightweight? We fill the Ford Fiesta EcoBoost, Honda Jazz Hybrid and Mitsubishi Attrage with RM10 worth of fuel each, and try to get to the top of Genting Highlands… via a massive traffic jam courtesy of Harvinder’s brilliant route planning. Which one of us will make it?

Episode 7: Audi A3 Sedan 1.8T quattro vs Mercedes-Benz CLA 200 vs BMW 316i

If you find yourself having to decide between the Audi A3 Sedan 1.8T quattro, Mercedes-Benz CLA 200 and BMW 316i here, well done, for you’ve made it to the first rung of the premium ladder. One sends drive to the front wheels, another to the rear wheels and yet another to all wheels – but when you’ve got four rings, or a three-pointed star, or a propeller roundel on the bonnet, does that really matter? We overlook all the snobbery to decide which of them deserves your hard-earned bread.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Rover (Member) on Dec 24, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Good job to the DRIVEN web series team! Really enjoyed what you guys have filmed for us.

There are also good surprises in the series. Sam Loo’s appearance is just the icing on the cake.

I have a suggestion though. Instead of cramming all the episodes in short bursts (in a few weeks), why not create one episode once every two weeks or so? This lets us anticipate and look forward to the episodes.

When is the next series starting? =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • PT Reader on Dec 25, 2014 at 5:55 pm

We need Sam Loo to do a review of Proton car! Hopefully, we’ll see it next year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • SalesManOnlySam on Dec 25, 2014 at 7:32 pm

This Sam has offended too many people, furthermore, he is such a childish sales man only who tak ada otak. A guy with no integrity and always lie on RV value. We know it is not easy to be a Toyota sales man, but pls don’t humiliate other brand to make yr Toyota looks better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • Jimmy on Dec 25, 2014 at 11:55 pm

Sam Loo for the win! He puts all the P1 salesman to shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • Same L0rrrr on Dec 26, 2014 at 4:39 pm

I never insult ppl with words like “idiot”, “stupid”, “brainless” neither I ask ppl get out from Malaysia. You don’t have to go anywhere if you don’t like Toyota.

Instead, I always comment based on facts:
            1. Iriz expensive.- FACT!
            2. Iriz doesn’t sell good.- FACT!
            3. Few weeks ago, 2013 Proton stock still available.- FACT!
            4. Proton’s build quality is questionable.- FACT!
            5. Proton can’t even sell its car to our neighbor Indonesia, Thailand and Singapore.- FACT!
            6. Proton fanboys so excited about the Iriz, but they hardly buy it.- FACT!
            7. Talk is cheap, actions count, buy the Iriz!- FACT!
            8. Toyota may not have the best specs.- FACT!
            9. Sushi cars have better RV and build quality. – FACT!

Respect the fact, then we can talk with sense. No need Proton Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • All cars are good on Dec 25, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Agreed with you, I am wondering why this joker dare to show his face here. He behaves just like budak kecil. Kasihan.

• Obviously (Member) on Dec 25, 2014 at 10:48 pm

In case you don’t know, that’s not the real Sam Loo in the video. Just saying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Sean Tan on Dec 26, 2014 at 1:11 pm

True, the real Sam Loo is an old uncle that always pretend like budak as what you said. Kid, you shall think twice before you act like him in the video. He is one joker only.

• Same L0rrr on Dec 26, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Every boy here includes Sean Tan will become uncle one day. But not every uncle can afford good quality and good RV car like Toyota/Lexus/Mercedes/Audi. You wanna continue syok sendiri for nothing, or work out yourself toward a better car? Your call.

• budak yang tak malu on Dec 27, 2014 at 8:51 am

Sean, notjing wrong to be an uncle, I saw Sam at toyota counter, he is just an uncle sales man. Forgive him lah. Let him survive with bis job.

• Casanova on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:39 am

Top 3 Driven’s best & most hilarious moments:

1. The debut cameo by Sam Loo! (who are you??!!)

2. Harvinder ‘dressed beautifully’ besides Honda Jazz. (phewwittt!!)

3. “Should you buy Iriz? Hell Yeah!” by Gregory (LOL!!!)

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 27, 2014 at 7:46 am

I am a used car salesman that trades on Hyundai *<18 mths old)

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 27, 2014 at 7:48 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its a KIA, it can no longer be traded in

• justwaitnsee on Dec 24, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Thumbs up.Keep up the good work guys. I really enjoyed all the episodes from Driven web series. It had it’s own identity. Malaysian ways, especially when u unite all 3 main races (Harv, Hafiz and JT). Hope next year will be a tremendous year in Malaysian automotive industry.Hope to see new year episode next year.:) Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and Happy Holidays to u too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • holofanboi on Dec 24, 2014 at 11:58 pm

To all the writers, regular commenters and even trollers as well as idiots alike…

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!

^___^

• Sleeper on Dec 25, 2014 at 1:45 am

Thank you for the compilation PT.

• R3 super negative camber is the best episode ever…hahahahaha…good one guys…keep it up!

• Saleh Hashim on Dec 25, 2014 at 9:39 am

Please do review comparison in low cost car which is the best value for money interm of durability, performance, fuel saving, maintenance, spare part, safety and design. For me, many people are looking for that especially for youngster.

Thank you very much for every review, i enjoy.

• BLT_CLUB on Dec 25, 2014 at 4:37 pm

If you lived in the UK, the answer would be a Golf.

If you live in Malaysia, get a Myvi or Axia. Can top, get an Almera. Swift is cool, but maintenance is expensive. Forget the rest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Matthew on Dec 29, 2014 at 11:17 am

Agree with you bro, Golf would be the best car for young people if the car price can be lower in Malaysia.

• TheRealMalaysian on Dec 29, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Personally, I’d go for Golf even though i live in Malaysia because this car has very good handling and it bring up joyful driving experience.

• german car loverr aka Jian on Dec 25, 2014 at 10:58 am

Merry Christmas everyone!Happy New Year too!

• 10 years from now, you’re going to look back at this and the main question on your minds will be… Why did we make those fashion choices??? :D

• BLT_CLUB on Dec 25, 2014 at 4:39 pm

10 years from now, the question would be why is P1 still around sucking tax payers’ money.

• Harry on Dec 25, 2014 at 5:04 pm

I love episode # 04 the best. Well scripted, excellent story line and review. The icing was getting our very own Karamjit S. in the show. Would love to see more reviews on upcoming cars toe to toe. Good job guys. Keep it up.

• policeman on Dec 25, 2014 at 5:56 pm

For the next season, how about an episode comparing road noises in various cars?

And the show could use some tits. Bouncing tits. Can use that to measure how smooth a ride is.

• dodgviper88 on Dec 25, 2014 at 6:20 pm

I find the e-magazines interesting too. Hopefully you all can revive it somewhere in the near future

• ProtonGSC on Dec 25, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Thanks for the awesome video and hard work.
    Hope to see more video from Driven.

Merry X’mas and Happy new year to everyone !!!

• Ali Rustam on Dec 26, 2014 at 1:05 am

Since most of Malaysian prefer B segment car, I suggest next year driven web series compare all B segment car in Malaysia such as Polo, Fiesta, City, Vios, Rio, Sonic, Saga and many more to let us know more information of this segment. And you can invite your fan and followers to test drive the car and give their own opinion.

• khusyairi on Dec 26, 2014 at 11:34 am

I hope paultan will make video for SUV in future.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 27, 2014 at 7:45 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Blaster88 on Dec 27, 2014 at 3:07 pm

I drove a 2010 Camry for about a year…good, reliable, no fuss (gets you from point A to B) and affordable maintenance. Honestly, I actually kinda liked it …esp the maintenance part. Would I buy a new Camry? Hell no! Let me tell you why….I walked into a Toyota showroom a few months ago…long story short, was told by a very “knowledgeable” salesperson ” Modern Toyotas do not new stability and traction control because the chassis is so good” WTF??? Heard that Hondas is outselling Toyotas nowadays and I was surprised at the amount of UMW promotions for Toyotas….BTW, have you seen the video that has been circulating around? Vios crashed into a Kapchai and the front was so badly damaged that the windscreen cracked? I guess in their quest for fuel economy, safety is compromised?

• Albert on Dec 27, 2014 at 5:15 pm

The next episode somewhere 2-3 years down the road will feature ” Proton decided to call it a day” when sales have dwindled to less than 70,000 units a year.
    Please IMAGINE with purity for a moment.
    We are not Proton bashers.WE are realists.With ‘GAME CHANGER Iriz,sales of Proton will only hit 117,000 units, a far cry from 138,000 units in 2013.
    The day will come when that episode of DRIVEN will signal mass retrenchments,auctions at Proton.
    Proton fanboys and girls have roughly that amount of time to continue their loyal support.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jan 04, 2015 at 6:12 pm

in episode 7, the number plate on the grey BMW 316i is “WXA 6383”
    in 2013, episode 5, at 10 minutes and 10 seconds show a BMW 320i in red with the same number plate???

• brianZ on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:54 pm

when is the new 2015 episode will be show?

• brianZ on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:55 pm

when is the 2015 series will be out?