Mitsubishi Malaysia recalls CBU Lancer models, ASX

mitsubishi-lancer-evo-x

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has issued a nationwide recall for its Lancer, Lancer Sportback, Lancer Evolution and ASX models. The recall involves only CBU units of the aforementioned models manufactured between 2007 and 2010, with the cause for concern pertaining to the V-ribbed belt and brake booster.

Issues concerning the V-ribbed belt affect only the Lancer and its subsequent variants while the ASX will need to have its brake booster inspected. Should a replacement be deemed necessary, Mitsubishi Malaysia will undertake the required steps to rectify the problem with no charge whatsoever to affected customers.

Owners of the locally-assembled ASX need not worry as the recall does not extend to CKD units. Affected owners will be notified by letters issued by MMM – individuals are urged to make the necessary arrangements at any authorised Mitsubishi service centre.

For further enquiries, individuals can contact Mitsubishi Malaysia at its customer care line at 1-800-18-6611, from 9.00am to 5.00pm, every Monday to Friday or visit www.mitsubishi-motors.com.my for more information.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Ah Beng the FAN on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Inspira no recall because use better parts. Proton the best, customer happy, quality guaranteed. Those who don’t buy Proton are all brain dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 54
    • Say no to protong on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:16 pm

mujur la proton nk recall. Nk claim warranty pun susah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 31
      • Ah Beng the FAN on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Use your brain when you claim warranty ok? Those small kichimiao problem like power windows, CVT, door handler broken also wanna claim warranty? You still got brain? Repair yourself lar, the car won’t break if you are not abusing it.

Trust Proton quality, condemn the Proton car abusers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 59
        • kington on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:54 pm

CVT Gearbox can repair?

Parts are scarce. Cost of repairing? Don’t even bother.

Beng, read up lar…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 06, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Standard Proton response “Boss, biasalah, ni Proton mah. Tak apalah, jgn takut!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
          • Why drag p1? You forgot to take med?

• Ah Beng FAN can repair your CVT Gearbox

No need to go Proton Center

• So, replica is better than original??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • Dumb u on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Sohai talk Sohai thing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
    • ae101 on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:25 pm

U driving inspira? Pity la. Earn more and buy better car next time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 56
      • jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:53 pm

I don’t see inspira is a bad car. It serve me well for 4 years without a single breakdown and now it clocks 100k.

Furthermore, i respect proton ex-ceo DSZ for making proton better during his time and i fxxk proton now for having dr.m again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
        • ceoProton on Jan 06, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Haha…you are making comment that is just like your name. What a fxcx up name you have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
        • Doctor M on Jan 07, 2015 at 9:02 am

I no need you to like me to buy my replica product. Buy a better car if you can afford. work hard.

• dumb u on Jan 07, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Sure la Mitsubishi jantung ni! but inside after 4 year many noise lo like kereta buruk cant compare CBU unit still solid no sound!

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:37 pm

CBU vs CKD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Mr Right on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:41 pm

Yeahhhhh…. proton is most reliable car in the world… go proton go… Support our national car! Yeahhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 16
      • @MrRight

Don’t Dream “proton is most reliable car in the world” that mean Volvo = is Proton.

Stupid Proton Sale In U.K. Only Few Unit
        Don’t Dream!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Reliable doesn’t mean good sales figure

• Number will tell the true!!!

• Then Merc is not good?
            You cheat by numbers especially when you condemn tax but you don’t even pay any!

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 07, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Mercedes S400L is RM588k a unit and its booking are full till next year. You have money also can not get the car.

When a product is good (eg iPhone), ppl will buy it even it is expensive. When a product is bad, ppl won’t buy it even it is cheap. However Proton is not cheap also now.

If you can’t afford one, please don’t say Mercedes are not selling hot.

• Comparing with Merc?
            Thats for how many units?
            Dun tell me it’s “3200K” like last time!

Lololololololololol

• think Volkswagen :P

• Proton has never had any recall at all even there are millions of complaints. Pronton will not value people lives at all. They never admitted their faults.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 36
      • @yy

Proton Savvy also have recalled and you should Google it!

• alldisc on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:45 pm

one recall over 30 years in business? WOW!!

• solo_wing22 on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:06 pm

Rubbish.. Perdana also had recall or have you forgotten?

• This is proton’s homeland, service centers will notify owners to change recalled parts. Just like P2.

And PT is not a media for deliver messages to car owners. Get your facts right.

• Ismail on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Is not proton don’t recall

Is proton got problem don’t even admit and pretend nothing happen

Then when you go svc Centre they only infm you your car got recall!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Ic. Just bcoz I dun own proton and nvr go to their svc ctr, so I dun know proton also has recalls.

• Glad to hear that….after consider between honda city and Inspira finally i choose Inspira, cant wait to have it, maybe this week or next week i can get it, booked end of last year, able to get rebate up to 9k. Proton SA said, soon Proton will end the production of inspira

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • MatrixLyn on Jan 07, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Don’t worry. You made the right choice. I have both Inspira and new City 2014. The Inspira is a better car in every respect, except the safety features cannot beat the City-E and V specs with the inclusion of VSA.

But beware, it will sucks fuel a lot more than the city….7.5km/l(Inspira) vs 12 km/l(HCity) in 100% City jam for my case.

• cfeowner on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:38 pm

CFE can do 10km/l in heavy traffic jam, so yes it’s more fuel efficient than normal 2.0l engine

• albag on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:42 pm

so the slogan “Smart Guys Get it” is so damn true now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • That Slogan Only For Advertising Stupid

If Advertising said the car can fly, so you think Proton car can Fly?

If can Fly No Airbus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • covvt on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Why you butthurt? You drive mitsu?
          Inspira rnh is much better anytime anyday

• albag made my day on Jan 06, 2015 at 9:42 pm

HAHAHAHAHA, YOU MADE MY DAY! CANT STOP LAUGHING ON Albag comment. HAHAHAHAHAHA the TRUE meaning of the slogan SMART GUYS GET IT! AHAHAHAH

• albag made my day on Jan 06, 2015 at 9:42 pm

HAHAHAHAHA, YOU MADE MY DAY! CANT STOP LAUGHING ON Albag comment. HAHAHAHAHAHA the TRUE meaning of the slogan SMART GUYS GET IT! AHAHAHAH

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 06, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Good bye Mitsubishi Lancer!! I’ll miss you………

No need Lanspira here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 45
  • I always appreciate this kind of recalls. These companies admitted their fault and tried to save people lives before anything gone worst. Have u seen proton recalls their cars back for a fixture? We have millions of complaints but proton never cares.
    Keep in mind that nothing is built perfectly in the world. Important thing is they know they are wrong and they know they need improvement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
    • chamber on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:05 pm

p1 got recalls, noob

• ayooo on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Proton do have recall. Latest is fuel pump for iriz. But then people like u will putar belit and say recall = bad quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • preve on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:20 pm

“Have u seen proton recalls their cars back for a fixture?”
      yes. proton called me to send my preve for a wire harness recall. its free too. dont simply talk cock la dude. search the web before you bark here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Then can your cock explains y there are still milllions complaints and not to have answers? The primary one should be power window. Lets see how ur preve power windows gone haywire soon or later and u will realize u should not drive a preve during raining day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
        • preve on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:54 pm

“there are still milllions complaints and not to have answers?”–can you give me a website link to those ‘millions complaint’. prove it to me! FYI, all those proton latest car has lifetime power window warranty.

• MatrixLyn on Jan 07, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Lifetime power window warranty is bodoh…only applicable if you continue to service at Proton SC for 10 years…I service outside can easily save me RM100 each time. After your car warranty over, there’s not a lot of reason to go back Proton SC, just to maintain the power window warranty…not worth it. Scam.

• Depends on where you do the service, some centres are cheaper. Anyway, the power windows are much better nowadays. It must be redesigned

• yy

You are cock!

Five year Myvi still can use power window! What proton doing? one or two year car power window already ROSAK. Still want to support Proton!

You go potong!!! Don’t Dream!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
          • kopisusu on Jan 06, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Just 5 years. You should wait until more than 20 years if Myvi power window are working without failure or not.
            My Saga 1.5I year 1989 power window still functioning up until today without any failure and I did not change the bracket up until today.
            Nowadays, all proton new cars are having a lifetime warranty for power window.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • @kopisusu

You need to think again! Your history Suck!!!

1989 Proton Saga does not have power window!

If really have on that time! Other car manufacturer will be death!

So think again and read you history!

• p1 power window got lifetime warranty

• MatrixLyn on Jan 07, 2015 at 1:37 pm

My old Mawi power window 3 years rosak liao. So how??? Sold the junk after 4 years.

• Yes proton has had recalls before. Perhaps you have been living under a rock for the last few years.
      The satria neo, exora CPS and CFE, had publicised recalls.
      The preve and suprima has had service bulletins too

• MatrixLyn on Jan 07, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Yep, Inspira also have. I got a recall notice just a few months after i bought my car in 2011. Something about hose and bushing…can’t remember. Received letter from Proton.

• Aster on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:44 pm

I received the letter on Monday morning. Apparently it was due to the max mileage of the v ribbed belt, which only tops at 100,oookm. Only Lancers with mileage approaching 100k will be affected. My warranty is over 2 years ago, but still got the replacement parts (v belt, pulley, and tensioner) for free. What more to ask? The v-belt of most car is rated at 100,000km by the way. It was nice for MMM to do it for free. Other car makers should do the same.

• panjang on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:46 pm

Good to hear that.
      The v-belt is cheap and i never change it at 100k,i do it at 60k.
      And no,i dont drive a lancer or inspira.our climate is hot amd makes the road very dusty,small sand and stone will gets trapped on the belt and causes it to becomes noisy and might lip after 80k km.

• confuse on Jan 07, 2015 at 8:30 am

how to know my ASX is CKD or CBU?

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 07, 2015 at 5:07 pm

good question. You dont know you own a local assembly car or an imported car.

• unforgiven on Jan 07, 2015 at 7:04 pm

You’ll see made in Jap on most places.

You may also get an AP paper started your ASX as in RM50+k or less, which the Datuk’s name is there as well, xx bin xx that owns the AP paper I guess. Always remember that’s fee money into the pocket system (legally).

• Johnny on Jan 17, 2015 at 5:11 pm

The only Proton worth buying is the Inspira, period. Until the new Perdana goes on sale, then there’ll be 2 Protons worth buying :p

• saldin on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Keep originality@be yourself.Inspirated that suck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • saldin on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Protong like sotong the most tong rubbish car in the world.the new lancer gte was launch.goodbye the bad name of inspirated!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • saldin on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:53 pm

Any commments?if you dont afford 2buy lancer just zip your mouth or buy evo celop that suck.everyone know the differences la:-p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • jonlemon on Jan 26, 2015 at 2:21 pm

high price 4the high quality.they buy the cheap one&convert like suckbangsat cars instead pretend 2be a richman puehhh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • lancer ori on Jan 26, 2015 at 3:26 pm

I saw many lancer gte on the road.only the richguys get it.shame on u inpirapura-pura la jaWa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • megadeth anticlone on Jan 26, 2015 at 4:03 pm

It seems like protong have I little bit of fan.nobody one 2buy the clone cars except who r really desperate @not smart enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • civic&inspira on Jan 26, 2015 at 4:13 pm

I race with inspira &I win. it looks like lancer but not lancer enough like lancer clone or cacat car.haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • lancer ori on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:37 pm

OFTEN COPIED NEVER EQUALLED

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 8:52 pm

Lancer is lancer so inspira is inspiralh bodoh!when inspira convert2be lancer/evo clone we call inspiraTed:-)

• thtoo on Apr 30, 2015 at 3:18 am

???