Volvo S60 T5 facelift at Glenmarie showroom – RM269k

Volvo S60 Facelift 1

Earlier today, we heard that the yet-to-be-launched facelifted Volvo S60 in T5 trim (a T4 model is also listed on Volvo’s Malaysian website) was on display at Federal Auto’s Glenmarie showroom, so we popped by after the launch of the Nissan X-Trail to get a closer look at the refreshed Swede. Thanks to sudonano for the tip!

In February 2013, Volvo updated the S60, V60 and XC60 (the last of which is already on sale here). As such, the S60 gets a completely reworked front end – a new, more defined bonnet, more angular headlights, a wider front grille ditching the previous chrome surround and auxiliary lights on either side, plus more stylish lower air intakes.

The rear bumper insert has also been revised, with the twin round tailpipes on this T5 model now receiving chrome finishers. Also on this car are new 17-inch “Sadia” alloy wheels, compared to the “Njord” rollers on the previous T5.

Volvo S60 Facelift 5

Inside, there’s a new gloss black illuminated gear knob that replaces the previous transparent piece, revised interior lighting, new silk metal frames around the air vents and – on the T5 at least – a digital instrument cluster taken from the V40 and facelifted XC60.

Unlike our facelifted XC60, the updated S60 won’t get Volvo’s new range of Drive-E engines (at least not initially), instead soldiering on with the existing T4 1.6 litre and T5 2.0 litre Gasoline Turbocharged Direct Injection (GTDi) four-pots, derived from Ford’s EcoBoost mills.

The T4’s B4164T motor produces 180 hp at 5,700 rpm and 240 Nm of torque between 1,600 and 5,000 rpm, while the T5’s B4204T7 mill delivers 240 hp at 5,500 rpm and 320 Nm between 1,800 and 5,000 rpm. As before, both engines are mated to a six-speed PowerShift wet dual-clutch transmission, sending power to the front wheels.

Volvo S60 Facelift 3

From what we can tell, the S60 looks to keep its standard equipment count from before – there’s keyless entry and start, leather upholstery, power-operated front seats with driver’s side memory, dual-zone auto climate control, a Sensus infotainment system and Blind Spot Information System (BLIS, now radar-operated instead of using cameras).

Also spotted on this T5 are front parking sensors, a grille-mounted radar for the adaptive cruise control as well as sensors and cameras on top of the windscreen for the Collision Warning with Full Auto Brake and Pedestrian Detection. All of these items were reserved for the top-spec car before the facelift, and we expect them to remain so,

The price list at the dealership lists a retail sticker of RM268,888 on-the-road without insurance for the T5 (over RM10k more than the old car’s RM255,000), inclusive of a five-year warranty, a five-year free service package and a five-year Volvo On Call package. A price for the T4 variant has not been released yet.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Very simple interior for RM269k car,better get Tata Prime anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Maserati(Official) on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:12 pm

A 2014 Pre reg director usage BMW 520i or 520d by Auto Bavaria is now going for RM260k. Virtually brand new with just 2000KM clock on it.

Why should I buy a China Made car for that price? Every panel and part of the Volvo is now Made in China. When Geely took over Volvo, they promised that the whole car would remain purely Sweedish. Well, China lied to the world. Every single part of the Volvo now is Made in China. Go and see for yourself next time you are in the showroom.

Might as well call this car Geely S60

Better I get a car like the BMW that will give me status and style

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 67
      • Polestar on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:28 pm

You still haven’t improved dummy, still stupid like last time.

Volvo in Malaysia is still from Sweden, assembled in Malaysia. Please find a forum with idiots like yourself around before you post dumb things like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
      • Boleh! on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:05 pm

I’m the big big boss of Geely (also Mercedes, if u remember), I strongly disagree with ur unevident claim that all S 60 parts are made in China, I would like to remind you that every single element of S60 is indeed European based.

• Masakmati on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:09 pm

Pity this Maserati as he is just an uncle junior Toyota sales guy like Sam who lacked of love. He is only an angry uncle with no wisdom . Sales is bad, struggle to get money for his son proton saga like Sam. Nothing to do at showroom so talk coxk sing song like CCB to get people attention.

• Boleh! on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:11 pm

Btw, why u think a BMW can give u style n status? Like that you think drive my MB car no style n status? Like that how to convince me giv u VVIP status? Still long way to go lah…. Sorry, not qualified yet…

• sammy on Jan 25, 2015 at 4:11 pm

What kind of man are you? Relying on car to give you status and style? That car ain’t going to fix that bald patch of yours mate…
        Besides you genuinely prefer a lightly-used then a brand new vuulva? ( yes, that’s how they pronounce it in sweden).. gee..

• Annoynimouse on Jan 25, 2015 at 9:53 am

Why complicate things. I prefer Ikea products over complex, fussy ones. Its very neat.

• Don Juan De Marco on Jan 23, 2015 at 4:55 pm

The facelifted version S60 has a more stylish/better looking front-end than the current face. Although the dashboard is starting to look dated..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • design: boring exterior & interior..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • gavincsy on Jan 23, 2015 at 5:15 pm

hmm risky buy leh, what if suddenly they launch the new drive e engine 6 months down, cry man

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Alamak increase in price just for those front parking sensors? Plus you also get an outdated engine! Should have been sold at the old price instead…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Samnutt on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:15 pm

What do you mean by outdated, Your inspira at home is worst ok. although you are putting f30 photo and please don’t mislead people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • tokmoh (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Expensive price increase, disappointing it’s not even with drive-e powertrain. Can’t imagine it selling, Volvo fans will wait for drive-e, non Volvo fans hardly notice this brand at all.

• Polestar on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:43 pm

Yes, the fact that this facelift does not come with the superb Drive-E engine and 8 speed gearbox is a major disappointment.

• Stanley Free Makan on Jan 23, 2015 at 6:21 pm

What kind of freebies will I get for purchasing this car?

• Thomas Tan on Jan 27, 2015 at 4:03 pm

After 5 years warranty, all your free gifts will come one by one. Be patient.

• Same L0rr Ori on Jan 23, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Poor people drive Volvo. Rich people drive Toyota Altis like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
  • karipap basah on Jan 23, 2015 at 9:15 pm

last time volvo may be appealing to old uncle, retirees and headmasters….

But today, I dont think ah pek would give the volvo a second look, much less buying a volvo….

So kesian, Volvo

• Jimmy on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:08 pm

C250 has sunroof.
    Volvo is a better brand than Mercedes, they think.
    The only attraction from Volvo is only XC90, and they are arrogant when they know this, and they will take away 12 airbags, anti-roll etc safety features as well as panoramic sunroof.
    Imagine an XC90 with 6 airbags and that is ‘Volvo for life’.

• Jimmy on Jan 23, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Malaysian Volvo is not the genuine authentic Volvo with all the safety features, true? They downspec their Volvos?

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:35 pm

I personally was a bit disappointed with the new S60 actually. One of the biggest highlights of the pre facelift was the part where it looked really naughty,and in red looked fantastic at night. Plus you could get a T6 with AWD too…

This one is just trying to be a beige car to attract the stereotypical Volvo driver. I’m sorry but in today’s hotly contested C segment market, looks sell, case in point the BMW 3 series with it’s really agressive face or even the very well thought out and luxurious C class. Not to mention the same 2.0 EcoBoost which while has decent power has not so decent economy, paired with the not well thought out PowerShift transmission.

Why Volvo, why…

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Federal Auto needs a wake up call.

They can’t sell cars from 2011, FOUR years ago!! Check on their website, they have S40, S60 T6, S80, XC90 from 2011.

They can’t sell at current price, why do they believe increasing price by >RM10k can improve its sale?

Drive-E powertrain is the highlight of facelift variant, enough dumping Ford’s mediocre powertrain to customers.

• rchoo on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:28 am

ugly rear.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 11:43 am

at this price. good luck volvo.

• better buy 328i same hp

• nabill (Member) on Jan 24, 2015 at 4:16 pm

I dont kno… Volvos to me dont make sence to buy new at all… For me it makes more sence to get a 1-2 yr old volvo n enjoy the car… They are jus overpriced n they are trying to compete with the germans bt they are definatly a step down…they dont stand out from the othrs… U might argue safety is their big selling point bt its over emphasized i believe… Nice to have lane departure warning n all, bt everyone has the basics right, competition has all the necessary airbags, strong body shells, n most electronic gadgets that are vital…
    Volvos will always be a niche and a novelty rather than mainstream

• Nobody here thinks the rear looks like a preve? anyone?

• FlamingFox (Member) on Jan 25, 2015 at 4:06 pm

It sure does but I prefer Volvo’s version though both do not look lively at all

• xatomic on Jan 25, 2015 at 5:22 pm

i really wonder who will pay for this fugly FWD car when you got so many alternatives at that price range

• tiger on Jan 25, 2015 at 10:18 pm

this is a very very outdated dinosaur with same body same platform same design, maybe the engine and gearbox oso likie Vios same in every NEW MODEL?? i think Paultan should mention this issue next time…now readers very updated..when Geely bought Volvo we know Geely DONT HAVE ANY LATEST TECH nor Platform to offer Volvo (like when P1 buy Lotus)

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 25, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Get the Lexus ES.

Great Luxury and guaranteed RV

• kumar on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:59 am

it may die like saab. very sad.time for a drastic price revision volvo. no point of all that safety if ppl cant afford.

• niterunner99 on Jan 26, 2015 at 3:42 pm

My 2cents…
    For this S60, the T4 model is suited for daily run about, the ‘pick up’ can match those diesel cabs. And if you are heavy footed…pass 2000rpm is somewhere nice to be. It’s not difficult to reach & it gives a bit of racing sound behind…of cause can’t match those 2L & above racers…but better than nothing!

If you find T4’s 180hp is too little, add the POLESTAR to get 20 more ponies (it’s cheaper than AUDI’s 1st stage chip up!), what it does is to tune the gears & they’ll ‘drag’ 1-2 secs longer before shifting.
    Do choose your tyres, as harder ones will sure bring in road noise into cabin.
    1 full tank of 67L can get around 650km (combine)
    T5…well its performance are definitely better than T4 for sure!

There’s diesel model, less HP & a bit more engine noise, but 1 full tank can reach 800km+!

So there you have it!