2015 Peugeot 308 spec sheet revealed – THP 150, Dynamic Cruise Control, Emergency Collision Braking

The order books for the new 2015 Peugeot 308 were opened yesterday ahead of its April launch, and it seems that dealers have been giving out indicative specifications to prospective customers. One of our readers, Fitri Haslina (yes, the same person who sent us some earlier spyshots) has provided us with a copy of the spec sheet, which reveals that the Gallic C-segment hatch will be filled to the brim with equipment.

First things first, the powertrain – contrary to what was previously revealed, the 308 will actually be propelled by a less powerful THP 150 version of the Prince 1.6 litre turbocharged four-pot, rather than the THP 165. As the name suggests, it produces 150 PS at 5,000 rpm as well as 240 Nm from 1,450-4,000 rpm, all sent through a six-speed Tiptronic automatic transmission to the front wheels.

Despite the reduced power output (torque remains the same as on the current THP 156), this is actually an updated mill, with new turbocharger and piston designs, as well as an ECU that has been fine-tuned to suit our fuel quality. Combined with the 140 kg lower weight of the new EMP2-based car, we’ve been told that the power-to-weight ratio will actually better the outgoing 308.

peugeot-spyshots-2

Elsewhere, kit count is exceedingly high, particularly in terms of safety – in addition to the six airbags, ABS, ESP and Hill Start Assist that you got before, the new 308 will also be equipped with Driver Assistance Pack, which includes Dynamic Cruise Control, Emergency Collision Alert and Emergency Collision Braking.

The exterior gets a boost as well, receiving 18-inch “Saphir” alloy wheels, LED headlights and fog lights. Also equipped are keyless entry, push-button start, a reverse camera, Alcantara seats with a massage function, a panoramic roof, a six-speaker Arkamys sound system and an enormous 9.7-inch (!) touchscreen that controls everything from multimedia, telephony, vehicle settings and even the dual-zone automatic climate control.

Ads on our sister classifieds site oto.my list estimated prices around the RM130k mark, which seems like good value considering the wealth of kit on offer. Five colours will be made available – Pearl White, Artense Grey, Mocha Brown, Rouge Red and Nera Black.

GALLERY: 2015 Peugeot 308

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• if the 130k price is true, then RIP Focus S+ thanks to it’s Powersh*t gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • Focus S+ is already dead, it was overrated by auto journalists, rubbish gearbox, rubbish interior, absolutely nobody bought one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
      • No wonder I barely see it on the road.

• BBC Top Gear on Peugeot on Mar 13, 2015 at 10:11 am

2 episodes ago Top Gear made a series on Peugeot. They said in the 70s, Peugeot made the best cars in the world.

But now, ALL Peugeots are junk. So low in quality. Once you see this episode, you will stay away from Peugeot completely.

Top Gear said Peugeots made thrash cars. Sadly in Malaysia, people here think they are getting Mat Salleh BMW or Mercedes.

Go and see the episode yourself!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
        • LOL you refer your car facts and information from the least informative and least factual car show on the planet well done.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 13, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Yes, you are right. In Malaysia, we have Proton; In Europe, they have Peugout.

No easy to find junk class car maker anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
        • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 14, 2015 at 12:48 am

That’s the TV show. What happens there is just for entertainment purposes, it’s not real, it doesn’t have to be true, …

If you read the actual Top Gear UK magazine review they actually like the new 308 and think it’s a good and premium feeling car that’s comfortable. Almost as good as the Golf.

• Why…those tyre replacements are going to be expensive! Whats wrong with 17s?

• Wow you’re one of the very few people who actually like smaller wheels. I’m genuinely impressed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
    • drMpower on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:28 pm

actually they put the 18s because they know malaysians mostly got money. contrary to what fb economic kings say, malaysians capable of paying 500-600 ringgit for an 18 inchers

but to be honest, a daily ride with an 18 inch is overdone. and ah of course it looks good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • exPUG308 on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:03 pm

i would have been thrilled if it indeed was RM500-600 for 18. but not the 17″ continentals that came as stock are RM833 a piece.

• exPUG308 on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:05 pm

RM500-600 for 18″? dude the previous car’s 17″ cost RM833 a piece. i would have been thrilled if it were RM500-600.

• bro I buy Goodyear 215/55 17 500+ oni. You buy Pirelli P7 full price is it?

• The originalContinental CSC3 225/45/17 cost a bomb, about RM780 each, and did not last that long. The same size, like Goodyear AS2 cost much less at RM515 each.

• you do know that Michelin ps3 225/45/17 cost around rm500 ?

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 6:59 am

Malaysians are obsessed with looks and bling bling… so Naza thinks they sell more cars by offering bigger rims. They raise the price for Naza too, if they offered the car with 16″ or 17″ rims it could be cheaper. And ride better.

• prabowi on Mar 12, 2015 at 4:34 pm

AP king or not, Naza has always been generous with the specs. Well done and keep it up (the spec) and the price down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Gen2 (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Finally the European Car of The Year is arriving at our shore, this babe will be a gem to drive. If the Lion badge is able to iron out the reliability issue (especially with the turbo) that plagued the previous 308, this is definitely the best of its class that money can offer currently in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • i like this car..but worry about its reliability..

• darknight on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:47 pm

yup! same as 1 of my friend. he likes Peugeot too he said
      he bought 2 years ago.. so far i never hear any bad comment for him

• It depends on luck. Mine so far got no major issues, except tire blew up prematurely. But i do have a friend who have had lots of problem with his car, one problem after another past 1 year. Mine and his are the same car, same spec, almost same time (differed by 1 month), but different driving behavior.

• Gen2 (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Finally the European car of the year is coming to our shore. This babe will be a gem to drive. If the Lion badge is able to iron out the reliability issue that plagued the previous 308 (especially with the turbo), this car is definitely the best of its class that money can offer currently in Malaysia.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 7:06 am

You’d expect them to have fixed that turbo by now… how many years have they produced the Prince engine? And they constantly update it… this new version has less power, maybe to make it more reliable?

• semlu on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:00 pm

vw is getting more headache how to sell their golf now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Fitri on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:04 pm

I’ve made my booking yesterday and the price that they put down was RM135k but is said to be lower after launch. Am very surprised at the amount of gadgets they have fitted inside the car. Can’t wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Deus Ex on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Hey, you’re the one who sent in the pics, aren’t you? Did Peugeot offer you any freebies on booking? Any idea on loan interest rate?

• Fitri on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:21 pm

Hey. Yeah it was me. Been waiting for the car for a year. I’ve sure made my fair share of research on the car. Interest rate I got was 2.55.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • I am the owner of 508 for more than 3 years. Even the car quite a few minor reliability issue and a major one, I am still very happy and look forward of driving everyday especially on highway. The new 308 spec is certainly very attractive and I am sure the owner of 308 is going to enjoy with the generous spec taken from Nasim. Looking forward to test drive it next month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • ARJUN on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:25 pm

AWESOME :)

• Apart from the European car of the year halo, if you don’t mind the very ridiculous RV in 2 years time, this should be a good buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • ARJUN on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:27 pm

hope 508 2015 also gona have spec like tis..

• customer on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Wow! Those are some really hot specs,I’m melting..

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 5:56 pm

Dynamic Cruise Control?!

Wow, now I am impressed. Well done Nasim! Seriously!

Can’t wait to drive it!

• Terrence on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Rear suspension is Torsion Beam? If so, it’s a big big put off just like the previous gen 308

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
  • therealmaserati on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:05 pm

Naaahhh… French cars are hopeless when it comes to relibility. Plus service is the same price as VW.

And Peugeot RV is horrendous. Loads of kit , but had enough of French. Way too many problems!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • how you know la dei? you got VW & Pug meh?

• randomguy on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:04 pm

My household got a Peugeot, VW and a Proton, planning to get a Ford after this

Unlucky much?

• lightningyao on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:19 pm

unlucky? I just got a new Peugeot this year.. what’s wrong with your Peugeot? mind to share?

• It would be good if they can provide 5 years warranty as well

• Fahmi on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Hmm looks like a very good alternative to VW Golf and Ford Focus, if priced right.

• Heskey on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:59 pm

My company will cover maintenance of rm5k per year. Do you think its enough for this car? Currently using vios which cost around rm2k per year to maintain. My mileage is about 40k kms per year.

• 1st 5 years warranty of all parts. Every 10k service cost around RM500, RM5k is more than enough to pay for your 1 year service. After 5 years will depend you still go back to Peugeot or go outside. Talking through 3 years experience for 508.

• Lor Geylang on May 21, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Thanks for the info!my second continental car after Opel ,,well lol…
        500rm every 10k is quite cheap.even 150rm for 5k, 3-400 for 10k is almost the same.
        2008 is quite chick for me , even we are talking about 308 here haha.
        anyway saw 3008 for 158k, quite cool, but no budget..

• gaviny on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:06 pm

308 seems to be a rare sight nowadays, must be all languishing in second hand yards

• 2 Years later, can easily get this from used car dealer for half price with 3 more years warranty left. Why not?…You may dislike but this is the fact for current Peugeot 308T.
    Some may say RV not important but not to this extend…

• A little disappointed that we didn’t get the 2.0 HDi

• wowow on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:23 pm

Woah full LED headlights? I’m impressed. Good job with the specs Nasim

• battery_life on Mar 12, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Too many gadget including electric seats with a massage function, sure will consume more battery. How frequent I need to change the battery?

• Ultraman on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Dude, bring some Pineng powerbank la in case the battery runs out. Get the largest mAh current please.

• battery_life on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:31 pm

If comes with dvr front and rear camera recorder sure will attract more buyer.

• battery_life on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:09 pm

If comes with dvr front and rear camera recorder sure will attract more buyer.

• ben yap on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:45 pm

disappointed with the power output.

a newer model should be higher power output and reduced weight. not the other way round where it has lower power output.

• Peugeot fan on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:42 pm

Remove the electric massage seats, sunroof and all other useless gadgets. instead equip the car with the latest 1.2l puretech 130 turbo engine. This 1.6 thp is already outdated.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:11 am

I’m surprised only one person here caught on the dynamic cruise control, and it didn’t find explanation in the article. Any idea how the Peugeot system works? Is it fully automatic, i.e. in a traffic jam it will start and stop automatically? If yes that is EXTREMELY convenient in Malaysia, makes driving in a traffic jam so much easier.

• Goto www.peugeot.co.uk or www.peugeot.com.au to look for the video, you will be impressed of the 3 safety features installed, not even 2011 508 has such features. This is famous feature of safety Volvo used to have.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 14, 2015 at 12:55 am

I have seen that, but it still doesn’t clarify things. You see, most systems like these will keep a distance to the car up front, until it stops (not sure if the Peugeot does even this, as it is mentioned in the video that it stays within 30 km/h… what happens if the car slows down beyond that?). When the car in front drives away, you’ll be stationary. Some however start moving again, which in a traffic jam is perfect.

So the big question is: Will it start moving again after a full stop? That would be great for Malaysia.

• applegreen on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:46 am

electric seats with a massage function? Nice!

After going back from office maybe i can go to showroom and test this massage function. After that going home and sleep.

• The specs is very impressive indeed at the price they offer. Well done Nasim. Now, please ensure that your service is up to the standard required of the brand. Do this and you’ll see there will be more Pug on the road again.

• This is the car that focus on the driver safety and did not compromised on the performance and style.
    why so stingy on the rv as this is about you own safety and your family too.
    if you ask me 135k is cheap for the gadget you get.
    240nm is no play as those 2.5 only give you 225nm only and cost you 180k.
    think about it.

• Wanker Machine on Mar 13, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Wow 150 ps….still slower than my wanker 1 series which only have 136hp.

The wanker is using the same prince engine but better economy and faster than this 308. Although the interior of the pug is much better than wanker, but when it comes to driving dynamics, the 1 series is much better.

Ok ok before you shoot me that I am anti-French, I used to own a 407 before selling it. I almost went for a 308 but decide to try the wanker series instead. The RV of the 407 was pretty bad though…sigh the bad thing about French.