Next-gen Hyundai Elantra leaked prior to April debut?

hyundai-elantra-possible-leak

An image allegedly showing the next-generation Hyundai Elantra has begun making its rounds. According to Indian Autos Blog, the Elantra (Hyundai Avante in South Korea) is expected to make its domestic debut some time in April 2015 before hitting the showroom floors in the middle of the year.

With that said, we’re not exactly sure if the case is as straightforward as it appears with multiple sources claiming that this could be the Korean-spec Hyundai i40. Upon closer inspection, the aesthetic details aft of the head lamps do mirror the i40 from the angular, block-like side mirrors to its pronounced shoulder line.

Whether or not this pans out to be true, we’ll know when the time comes. For now, all this points to a vastly restyled Elantra for the future. In place of its softer curves are more angular lines evident in the rather chunky head lamp assemblies and large, trapezoidal front grille – flanked by vertical LED daytime running lights.

Click to enlarge spyshots

Comparisons between the alleged leaked shot and spyshots of the next-gen Hyundai Elantra do give away a number of relations. For instance, the front end shows a similar head lamp design, albeit slightly wider than it is on the camouflaged mule. Right below on each side, a pair of vertical slats are in place of where the LED DRLs currently reside in the leaked photo. Elsewhere, horizontal steel slats are embedded into the grille.

At the rear of the camo’ed test mule, one might be able to notice the subtle lip spoiler poking out from beneath. The rear lamps appear to a lot wider compared to the ones found on the current model, as well. Should that be the case, expect them to ape the stocky-looking head lamps as illustrated in the leaked photo.

As for powertrain options, the new Elantra is expected to feature a range of both diesel and petrol engines from Hyundai’s CRDi and GDI/T-GDI (turbocharged) umbrella. Likely candidates would include the 1.6 litre, turbocharged four-cylinder engine from the third-generation Hyundai Tucson crossover. In this application, the mill pumps out 175 PS and is mated to a seven-speed dual-clutch or a six-speed manual transmission.

GALLERY: Next-generation Hyundai Elantra spyshots

GALLERY: Hyundai i40 facelift

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Sengoku on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Don’t really like the new grill..really reminds me of the new Audi grill…why do it so similar man.

Scroll down paultan.org’s website and see the Latest Audi Q6, same grill

• Abu Sayur on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Yeah looks awful to me. Kill it with fire before it gets onto our roads.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:29 am

Get a kimchi? You smile big at the beginning and then after a few years, end up at my showroom showing sour face and dropping jaws when you learn of its RV. Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
        • paulnut on Mar 13, 2015 at 11:30 am

Your son use proton saga anyway.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 13, 2015 at 11:58 am

You can bullshit whatever you like. Like I would care.

No one care about junk (Proton, paulnut).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • sam proton number on Mar 13, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Your son proton car plate numbser: BXX 6XX5 See it park outside your flat every night

• No more Value on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Same Lorrrr. Yup we can bullshit whatever we like just like you did

• UMW Mampus on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:24 pm

Duh.. RV is the only thing you talk about. Eh pitui you la UMW salesman, go look at your 90-100k plus range Vios and Altis without ESP, what a joke?

Cars are not supposed to be an investment in the very first place. So RV is irrelevant. “Investment” should be put in safety, there are other models with cheaper price compared to your UMW Tin Kosongs.

• Same Lorrr on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:52 am

Kimchi is no RV.. dont buy kimchi product.. Buy Toyota or Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
  • jemah on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:18 pm

OMG…FRONT DESIGN LOOK LIKE 2015/16 CHEVROLET CRUZEEEE

• I believe most will agree with me that current Elantra looks better compared to its successor. The fluidic design on the current Elantra is better compared to this boxy looking one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Das Auto on Mar 13, 2015 at 1:56 am

I see the same case for the Audi R8. Old curvy design better than new boxy shape. Audi designer’s infection.

• alldisc on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:43 am

i am with you Leo, i think Hyundai had lost it.

• Lordraven019 on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:22 pm

I benci u forever

• Pakcik on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:27 pm

The back looks like a Forte.. Or is it only me?

• Hyundai owns Kia.. I’m not surprised if the design is somehow similar

• ProtonGSC on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:58 am

People that thumb down on your comment are really “Katak di bawah tempurung”.

They never read world news…

• Matchy on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:29 pm

The DRL looks like Cerato…

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 12, 2015 at 6:45 pm

WTF? Audi grill on Hyundai?

• Ugly. Grill too big like out of proportion. Current elantra much better.

• OMG, why you pull a Toyota… What happened to the fluidic design?

• Ford with the aston martin, now hyundai with the audi? Whuutt

• Gracke on Mar 13, 2015 at 12:17 am

Why same with Cerato head lamp design, no more new idea!!!

• dunia kereta pon sama sama spt fesyen kain baju seluar..jadi xpelik ada persamaan..cuma proton je yg pelik xikut fesyen kakkahakah

• xikut fesyen??

Vios la x ikut fesyen, macam dugung la macam keli la

p1 macam conti haha!

• hahha gg la 2016 elantra nobody buy.
    ugly

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 13, 2015 at 12:02 pm

I would encourge more to buy Hyundai because :-
      If you drive a kimchi, your will lose trust from your bosses and your career will go down the drain. Younger and lesser experience staff that drives MyVi’s will change to Vios/City or Corolla/Civic when they get promoted pass you.

Your gal will ditch you for guys that drives Jap cars. Uncles and Aunties will look at you in funny way, as such the next time you attend family gatherings, you will park far far away.

After 11 month, you wanna sell because of all the humiliation, plus you are demoralised with younger people earning more than you. You dun wanna pay renewal road tax and insurance, but no one wants your rotten cabbage unless its less than 50% or new price.

Eye die die, you use the cabbage for another 3 month and look for me. I show you the Hilux, you yell Hailat Lor, I cut you a cheque.

You head down to a Toyota or Honda showroom to make a booking a downpayment for a real car.

A few weeks later, you drive home a sushi and all your pals, gals, bosses sees a new man in you.

You are now a much better man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • still better than proton…way better than proton…way way way better then any of proton design…light years ahead

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 13, 2015 at 10:34 am

For the current batch of Elantra owners, better sell your cabbage fast. The current trade in is at 45% of new price for 18month and below units.

When the new model comes, it will dive down to 35%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • thedarkside on Mar 13, 2015 at 3:08 pm

why next gen hyundai getting uglier? 1st sonata now elantra as well?

• No more Value on Mar 13, 2015 at 8:43 pm

What is this????????