New Toyota RAV4 Hybrid to debut at NYIAS 2015

The Toyota RAV4 is set to get a hybrid variant at the 2015 New York International Auto Show on April 2. From the teaser shots above, we can see that the RAV4 Hybrid gets its own tail lamp design that features what appear to be light bars (or a lower cost lookalike), giving it a more upmarket look.

We’re expecting the RAV4 Hybrid to share the same hybrid system as the Lexus NX 300h, which features an Atkinson cycle 2.5 litre four cylinder engine and two electric motors including one driving the rear axle, resulting in a combined output of 194 hp.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DPCraft on Mar 26, 2015 at 10:16 pm

Nice tail lamps, but front probably won’t look too nice(like the current one)

• Steven see on Mar 26, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Sam will change his son saga to saga hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • alldisc on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:03 am

Argue with facts, no need to make personal attack.

Only children do that. Grow up.

• UMW Mampus on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:58 am

The problem is Same Lorr speaks with no facts, he is only living in his own delusional world. LOL

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:18 pm

If I have any junk (aka Proton) at home, I will give you for free – FACT

Toyota cars are fuel saving, comfort, reliable. – FACT

Toyota cars have very good RV, check out 2010 Vios, City, Almera, Fiesta, Elantra, Forte at mudah.my then you know – FACT

Toyota sold good, best selling foreign cars in 2014 announced by MAA – FACT

Toyota still selling good now – FACT

When Proton salesman can’t even get the car sold after RM8800 discount, they curse others to mampus. Typical Proton style.

• toyota?no.thanks on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:38 pm

I can’t see any fact there. Thanks.

• John Tan on Mar 27, 2015 at 5:34 am

Why is Toyota not bringing in the RAV 4 to compete with the likes of CX5 or CRV? The present generation looks much better.

• klk1989 on Mar 27, 2015 at 11:11 am

Yes, they might bring in, but will they provide specification that are as complete as the CX5 or the HRV? I bet if they bring in the RAV4, it will be the same dual air-bags, ABS and EBD as the premium variant with no side/curtain air-bags, ESC and TC as an option. Likewise priced at sky rocket high. Thanks but no thanks.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:30 pm

There is NO perfect car in the world.

If your primary requirement is 6 airbags, VSC, ABS, EBD with dirt cheap price, please go for Proton Iriz.

People know what they get from Toyota.

And if you can’t afford Altis, Camry, Prius with 7 airbags, VSC, ABS, EBD, HA everything, STOP PRETENDING Toyota don’t have rich specs models.

Don’t blame the chocolate is too hard simply you don’t have teeth.

• They be getting rav4 we be getting rush