2016 Kia Optima caught completely undisguised

2016-kia-optima-caught-undisguised-3

Just a day after Kia dropped the first official image online, the next-generation D-segment competitor has already been photographed out and about on a South Korean highway completely undisguised. Thanks to Jfclub.kr via TheKoreanCarBlog, we are now afforded a near-360-degree view of the 2016 Kia Optima.

Do note that the shots pictured here are that of the Korean-spec model and not the one destined for the United States market. With only shots of the front end of both cars available, we can conclude that the Korean-spec and American-spec cars will differ only in terms of front bumper layout.

2016-kia-optima-caught-undisguised-6

While the American version sports twin air intakes at each side of the front bumper, the Korean model counters with the inclusion of a tri-circular LED daytime running lights layout. The rear end of the Korean variant features a tail lamp design that’s more evolutionary rather than revolutionary, it has to be said.

When it debuts at the 2015 New York International Auto Show (2015 NYIAS), the new 2016 Kia Optima will likely be offered with a new hybrid powertrain, first previewed on the Optima T-Hybrid and the Sportspace concept. The latter also strongly hints at the possible inclusion of an estate body style for the first time.

GALLERY: 2016 Kia Optima spyshots

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• roxas on Mar 27, 2015 at 1:34 pm

wooowwww

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
    • Same L0rrrr on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:04 pm

In 2017, I will see new type of sour faces undisguised, especially during trade in negotiation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 59
      • I don’t know weather you’re living in dreamland or what.

Nowadays, try to sell your Camry and see how much they lost in RV. My father have to top up more than RM35K when he want to sell his previous gen-Camry. Less than 4 years car. Resale value my *ss.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 11
        • paulnut on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Sam is happy with his son proton saga RV that he bought from cheras Eon branch in Oct 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
        • Same L0rrrr on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:25 pm

I am sorry to hear that if your father met a losing trade in negotiation. We gave much better price here.

Bear in mind if Toyota considered bad to you, kimchi will make you cry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 43
          • bamboo on Mar 28, 2015 at 3:18 am

The earth rotating every sec, The market change every min. The only thing cannot change is old uncle mind set like u! Hahaha… imagine u buy a Nokia 10 ago everybody “Wow”, now u bring a Nokia everybody “Huh”? (O.o) Lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
          • toyotamyfoot on Apr 04, 2015 at 10:47 am

Yeah, kimchi owners will cry for those who are silly enough to spend more and get less in buying a toyota.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 29, 2015 at 10:00 pm

After 1 day, remorse will set in. No need 18 months

• shutup on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Popcorn ready for comments “looks like BMW, looks like…… Whatever”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • beedees on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Look like Same Lorrrr has to continue to sell undergarments in Jusco

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
  • nighttrain on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Looks more like a facelift rather than ‘all new’ if you compare previous model to current model.. But then that’s just me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Pororo on Mar 27, 2015 at 8:09 pm

I’m agree with with you… But still, this car still have the best look in D Segment category, along with Mazda6, then Accord and lastly uncle-ish look Camry…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • KIA = Junk on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:24 pm

OMG Toyota Camry Front + Old MB E Class Back, Korean Junk now become cut & paste car, typical Junk to the core.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
  • Ini Baru global design ma. Protob once local forever local. Problem is wan pull rakyat jadi local. U wan die die alone lo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • BeFaire on Mar 27, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Nice butt!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Looo on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:04 pm

WOW design better that Toyota camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Looo on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Wow the design is better than Toyota Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
  • Joseph Germani on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:09 pm

That’s my dream car, gonna get it what it launch in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • shawal on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:22 pm

More evolution than revolution…
    But then again why fix it if it is not broken..
    Kia probably spent more money in the interior department

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Kimuchi on Mar 27, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Guess what i selling my 320i and buying this brand new K5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • Hor Shen Hau on Mar 27, 2015 at 9:16 pm

You know what guys,I’m proud to be Malaysian.Are you guys proud too?I think no.If people is proud to be a Malaysian,they will support their local brand like Proton.How Proton want to be like Volvo and Audi if not with our support?Proton already do a very big improvement.Like sending the Suprima S,Iriz,Preve to get Euro Certification and they already get it.And the latest one car that is still on test to get Euro certified.Do you guys give support?No.Ya,you guys give shit.Say membazir duit lah,nilah,tulah.You guys are just stupid people that only know to critics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
    • insider news on Mar 28, 2015 at 8:22 pm

to be a proud malaysian, first started with Proton.
      please tell them to lower the prices to ease the burden of the rakyat.
      Selling high prices to Rakyat whilst cheaper outside Malaysia…
      Proton proud to be Malaysian? If they do, go ahead and tell gov their ready to compete fairly and lower the tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Hor Shen Hau on Mar 29, 2015 at 12:52 am

Oh ya,same topic that Malaysian will say about,Proton not fair!Let me tell you something.You say that Proton sell with higher price in Malaysia while in other country lower.It is because of the tax.And you also asking Proton to compete fairly and ask to reduce tax?Let me tell you something.In other country like the Australia also the tax even higher.Same like Malaysia right now.Foreign car manufacturers tax will be higher than the local car manufacturers.Same like Proton in UK and Australia,Proton car will get high tax.Isn’t it same,Mr?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • resident on Mar 29, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Clearly he doesn’t count tax on the price.
          When asked to go to UAE or USA, tau pulak marah.

• cramer on Mar 29, 2015 at 8:35 am

It’s the tax, not p1 price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • looks like inspira butt with aftermarket rearlights

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • Better than Hyundai Sonata !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 29, 2015 at 9:25 am

Agreed, as least Sonata can be traded in.

KIA and Ssangyong, no used car dealer will take them even if you sell your backside

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 29, 2015 at 11:44 am

Optima K5 and Sonata share the same DNA : rotten cabbage all the way.

The key difference is that Hyundais can still fetch some trade in value, whereas KIA can no longer be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
      • samunclekok on Mar 29, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Got so many used kia cars outt here, you just talk kok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24