VIDEO: Hyundai Genesis sends a message to space

A message written on Earth and seen in space, that’s the premise of this one – the novelty is that the message was crafted out by way of car. Eleven cars, to be exact, all Hyundai Genesis luxury sedans.

When the 13-year-old daughter of an astronaut on the International Space Station had a special hand-written letter to send to her father, Hyundai decided it was going to come out with a novel way to share her thoughts by writing a personal message in giant lettering big enough to be read from space.

The message was imprinted on the Delamar Dry Lake in Nevada, with 11 Hyundai Genesis cars utilised to draw it out. The scale of the message speaks for itself – size-wise, it’s one a half times the size of New York’s Central Park, and measuring 5.55 square kilometres, the creation has been officially recognised as a Guinness World Record as ‘the largest tire track image’ ever made.

Choreographing the moves for the final drawing of the message took weeks, with plotting being drawn with the aid of GPS so the layout could be mapped and the drivers would know exactly where to drive. A multitude of cameras were used to capture the whole event, which looked like it was a logistics nightmare. Yes, it’s an indirect plug for the Genesis, but neat – and touching – stuff nonetheless.

Hyundai Genesis 3.8 GDI V6

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Holofanboi on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Wow… This was touching ;_;

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Wow.just wow.good job hyundai

• Awesome !! Well Done Hyundai…

• Joe Hung on Apr 15, 2015 at 3:56 pm

HAHA.
    Hyundai = hyu buy hyu dai.
    send msg to space? sit in your car that 1 really send me to space

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 4:42 pm

I have actually gotten a chance to try and have an extended try on session with the Genesis (about 30 minutes) at a dealer in Malaysia. I must say, blindfolded, you can be forgiven if you think it is Japanese or German. Seriously, from the time you open the door and get in, to the startup an idling of the V6, it just felt superbly refined. The seats were absolutely lovely for a Hyundai, and I dare say miles better than the Inokom 5 series. Heck, it is softer than the leather used in the E Class too.

And the toys. Nuff said. Only issue, the price. Rumours are going around saying that it would start at about 380k, which is a bit steep for a first attempt from a company that was known with making some good and some turds. Not to mention the questionable aftersales, which might put me off. But from an engineering perspective, it is spot on brilliant.

• Joe Hung on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:18 pm

bro you are every where. almost 1st to comment on every post.
      no need to work?

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:22 pm

The benefits of being in a different time zone is highly convenient.

• muzakkir on Apr 16, 2015 at 12:15 pm

you are complementing this website. many people hear would love to hear your comment and opinion. tq

• bapak on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:26 pm

terbaik !!!

• Sammy on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:46 pm

I bet the stock pile of Proton cars can be viewed from space too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • taknakToyota on Apr 15, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Nowadays Toyota also has got unsold stock, if not thwy dun do roadshows

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 16, 2015 at 3:22 pm

This model will only be worth 20% of its ori price within 12 months

• Girma Gutta on Apr 16, 2015 at 5:14 pm

I need to share with you this business as agent how is possible