Volkswagen Malaysia opens new Shah Alam parts hub

vw parts hub

Volkswagen Group Malaysia has announced the next step towards enhancing its after-sales service in the country with the establishment of a new parts hub in Shah Alam. The installation serves as an extension of Volkswagen‘s Parts Centre in Singapore, which has been managing daily orders and deliveries of VW spare parts in the region since July 2014.

This should be good news to Volkswagen owners in the country, as it should mean a shorter waiting period for replacement parts. The 10,000 sq ft storage centre here will receive parts from the Singapore centre and also from the Volkswagen plant in Kassel, Germany.

For an efficient delivery turnaround time, the Shah Alam parts hub will work hand-in-hand with its counterpart in Singapore to process order submissions twice-a-day. Distribution of parts like market focus inventory, campaign and high demand parts will be dispatched twice-daily to dealerships nationwide from either Singapore or Shah Alam.

“With the establishment of this seamless integration between dealerships and the parts hub, we have significantly reduced the waiting period,” said Volkswagen Malaysia MD Armin Keller in a statement. The introduction of the parts hub follows on the opening of the first Volkswagen Technical Service Centre in Malaysia back in April.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• FIST (Member) on Jul 07, 2015 at 8:19 pm

This is good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • VW_rocks on Jul 07, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Looks like VW really committed to keep improving their service. Next year gotta be very interesting when Passat B8 enters the market.

• ABTguy (Member) on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:03 am

VAG, please try to increase your full warranty from existing 2 years to at least 4 years (that of your subsidiary -Audi), if 5 full years even better. And please extend the gearbox warranty to 10 years like that of China.

It’s essential to do that to restore the confidence and buying now than later.

• maXref (Member) on Jul 07, 2015 at 8:54 pm

About time. Current waiting period is just too long

• Albert on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:08 pm

After so much hoo haa ,VW FINALLY(like the Rock says) decided to stock up spare parts.
    RElief for those car owners.
    Phew!! Shambolic car distributor.

• tomok on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:05 pm

it will made easier for vw services and people not need to wait for long days for waiting their car been repaired and fixed

• Too little too late? Well hope this will work out well for current owners.

• tinmilo on Jul 07, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Why…why lah don’t do at the beginning..
    Nama sudah buruk baru nak buat.
    Cost more now to fight an uphill battle isn’t it?
    If you can’t stock so many parts, then don’t introduce so many models.
    VW has close to 20 models…. should learn a page from tan chong

• Peugeot – We know it got problem, expensive to maintain.
      Not our Dream Car.

Volkswagen – We also know.
      Not our Dream Car.

• Related on Jul 08, 2015 at 4:26 pm

At least they have improved, why still so harsh to vw? Vw is getting better nowadays, previously rarely see vw on the road but now I can see many vw on the road maybe is because of the raya promotion.

• This show Volkswagen are concern with their client they will improve once customer giving feedback.

• ronnie on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:35 pm

it’s good when vgm improved their services. better for car owners. so why need to keep bashed? it means vgm heard owner’s complain.
      vw produced various model cause other people will like other model. not all people same.

• Just bought scirocco.good news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • maXref (Member) on Jul 08, 2015 at 12:01 am

After much ire from the current loyal customers they decided to do this. Only after sales went down, they do this kinda patch up work. Well, all the people who sold off their cars with low RV must regret their decision now. With better after sales n parts available, surely the Rv will pick up now… Hopefully, haha

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 08, 2015 at 12:16 am

I quote from Starcraft 2: ‘Hell, its about time’.

• Golf MK7 Owner on Jul 08, 2015 at 1:23 am

Stocking up parts is just the partial solution. What VW needs to do is to make sure their products are as little problem free as possible. What’s the point of stocking enough parts for warranty and repairs but the car keeps on breaking down ? In order for VW to regain their status and reputation in Malaysia, it is not just as simple as stocking up enough parts for the consumers. I am not being negative here, it’s good that they took the advice of the car owners and after numerous complaints to improve in this particular category but they have to look deep down at the fundemental problem of VW in Malaysia. Honestly, how often do you check for the availability of spare parts of certain cars before buying the car OR checking on the reliability of the car you are going to buy in the first place? The answer might be 50/50 but to tell you the truth, reliability of a car brand is certainly more important for me. What about you ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Replying on Jul 08, 2015 at 12:23 pm

I can see that vw are improving step by step. First is resolved dsg issue, than goes to after sale service and follow by part availability. Properly next time they are going to improve the reliability.

• applegreen on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:51 am

well done VW. i think they learn a lot from their mistakes.

• ohyeah on Jul 08, 2015 at 10:44 am

why u need to keep so many spare parts? Are u cars problematic? Follow foorsteps of SDAC mah…selling good car like Ford, almost no need to stock any sparepart

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Corrective measures! Better late than never !

• Gallery on Jul 08, 2015 at 4:11 pm

It is not problematic but to improve the part availability and faster delivery.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 08, 2015 at 1:19 pm

For a small vehicle volume in Bolehland, they needs such a huge spare parts warehouse.

Goes to show that their product is just a bad as the Koreans

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Good.

Spare parts are only one part of a equation.

Brand perception would still take a beating if VW still muddles its warranty.

I wonder if they stock complete DSG gearboxes…..