VIDEO: 2016 Toyota Innova spied on test in India

With the next-generation Toyota Hilux pick-up and Fortuner SUV already unveiled, the final piece of the puzzle for Toyota’s next-generation IMV ladder-frame platform line-up is the new Toyota Innova MPV. We’re expecting it to be unveiled sometime in the final quarter of this year.

The spy video above of a camo-ed Innova being tested on an Indian highway reveals design details that seem to match the leaked photo of the 2016 Innova we featured in February this year.

toyota-innova-leaked

Looking worlds apart from the MPV we’re familiar with, the new Innova has taken on a rather angular appearance, with discernible body creases, a strong shoulder line and an interesting kick-back D-pillar.

The huge front grille contains two chrome bars that intrude into slim headlamps like the new Hilux.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jamban UMW Toyota Berak on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:35 pm

In overseas, Toyota is highly respected. Even in Third World India. But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features. Now somemore, Picanto, comes with 6 airbags and can be safer than a Camry!

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k. Come to Malaysia no tax. But sold for RM175k despite being CKD and stripped down heavily in safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 30
    • Nirwana Memorial on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:57 pm

We already order 100 units. Perfect car for our business. No need to modify. Just take out the chairs and seats and already can put a coffin inside.

Thank you UMW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
      • Areyousure on Jul 20, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Innova gotta go India to “find” market, hahaha… No choice, because is too ugly

• Keranda Bergerak on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:37 pm

People laugh about Toyota being a Moving coffin. This Toyotaik really looks like a Hearse car. I think Nirwana Memorial will order 10 units to carry coffins

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • karam singh on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Toyota, please safety first yeah…
    This innova look like its gonna have high bodyroll,
    VSC is important

• donkey J on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Good job toyota, u create another eyesore design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrrr on Jul 20, 2015 at 5:42 pm

As I always say, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • Yup! Can never go wrong choosing overpriced cars that are an utter eyesore with no safety features.

I will happily drive a crappy Toyota, because when the car skids out of control the high resale value will save me.

• Ugly… hope they will put in 2.5L diesel

• JB_KIA on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:43 pm

U.G.L.Y.

• Idealtech on Jul 20, 2015 at 6:32 pm

China car wannabe, the new Easter is a better doppelganger than this Innova.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 20, 2015 at 6:50 pm

I suggest toyota should introduce this model with the camouflage on… Its hideous!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 20, 2015 at 7:31 pm

As long as its not a kimchi it will have RV.

Unfortunately, the closest to the Innova for kimchi is the Starex and Stavic, both of which cannot be traded in anymore

• Megane on Jul 20, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Tested on Mysore highway , soon it will cause Your-sore to Malaysia buyers (pun intended)

• Teksi Drebar on Jul 20, 2015 at 10:55 pm

I don’t understand why people still insist on 6 airbags, vsc and such safety control for this car. Since this is going to be used as hearse, people on board this car has already died, so Toyota is smart to just equip the airbag for the driver.

• rocky balboa on Jul 21, 2015 at 12:13 am

Another overrated piece of sh*t from toyota!!

• In India, “they” will equip this thing with new generation GD engine + 6-speeder. Safety wise also so-so same goes to Malaysia. Differ only in powertrain. For 2.0L, the fc turn out to be unbearable. The cc is not the culprit but the weak power-to-weight ratio is. That’s why Exora top this thing. Torque is the king. Didn’t expect Toyota to bring the “fuel-saver” engine here in Malaysia. Not applicable for Hilux and Fortuner. Hate the saying, “If its not broken, why need to replace”. Refer to Stone-Age-4-Speeder. Comfort wise. Yes it is real comfortable even for long travelling. Less bouncy not like everyone claimed. No horse-riding. I’m not BStting. No lie just the TRUE experience. The only turn off is the bad bad fuel consumption. Finally, its your choice and your money. If you live for people acceptance, you’ll die from their rejection.