VIDEO: Third-gen Hyundai Tucson detailed inside out

The latest third-generation Hyundai Tucson has been given an elaborate walk-around tour by Dave Fitzpatrick, PR Director of Hyundai Motor Europe to showcase the SUV’s brand new design. With 1.2 million units sold, Hyundai is dubbing itself the “pioneers” of SUVs. Right.

Anyway, it looks much better than the outgoing model, with a sleeker body and a character line on the side that now flows consistently from the front to the rear. This big fella’ is also longer and wider than the current-generation Tucson. It measures in at 4,475 mm long, 1,850 mm wide and 1,645 mm in height, making it 65 mm longer and 30 mm longer than its predecessor.

In Europe, where the Tucson is built, it will no longer carry the ix35 name but instead, it will just be called the Tucson. On the inside, Hyundai claims that the SUV is the widest car in its class. The rear gets an automatic power tailgate while the boot space, Hyundai claims, is the largest in its class.

A slew of driving assist systems come with the Tucson, which include both active and passive systems such as Blind Spot Detection, Rear Cross-traffic Alert, Lane Change Assist and Backup Warning Sensors, and Smart Parking Assist System (SPAS).

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Al haffi on Jul 24, 2015 at 6:43 pm

this is just fabulous, spectacular, perfection in and out, but i’m poor folk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
    • Poor? than you should get this car, rich people drive Audi Q5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
      • OMG…very nice car. This can sell well here with cheaper pricing. Just like the Subaru XV, sell cheap, then u can see a lot on the road nowadays…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
        • Dream on. HSDM is anything but generous. Expect a significantly pricier n under specced tucson

• samelordupe on Jul 24, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Got RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 24, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Great, go get one immediately after launch in Bolehland.

Will time it to dip the trade in price of the current cabbage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 16
    • paulnut on Jul 24, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Your papa Sam bought you proton saga anyway. We know you are proud of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
      • Cb Hilux on Jul 25, 2015 at 9:36 pm

Sam and his 25yrs old son now both work as umw sales man. Now 2 corn man in one showroom and both reporting to branch sales manager by the name of Daniel. I hope his son Hilux can do better than his father Sam .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • looks like China Great Wall Haval H6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
  • Rangers on Jul 24, 2015 at 8:17 pm

wow! potential can rival many at the price range of below RM130K

Accord is probably killing lots of choice when touching RM130K range

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 25, 2015 at 11:15 am

Accord has already killed the kimchis K5 and Sonata long long ago.

12 month old 2.0 Accord traded in for RM120k.

12 month old K5 would fetch RM25k and Sonata RM29k now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Jul 25, 2015 at 10:58 pm

You talk bodoh are you my son? Work hard. Now your sales is almost zero for 2 months. I will soon chase you out from my Cheras flat. You go rent a room outside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • Low Budget on Jul 26, 2015 at 11:55 am

If you B.Shit too much about the RV figures on any make of cars, then nobody will believe you, they will instead laughing at your stupidity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 26, 2015 at 5:10 pm

No avatar=imposter

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 25, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Please do not buy new sushis.

Head down to the nearest Hyundai showroom and get yourself a new Tucson/Sonata.

Need to prime the used kimchi market 12 months laters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Jul 26, 2015 at 11:51 am

Proton Accordana when launch will ‘kill off’ all cars within that range.

• apamau on Jul 24, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Perfect car, looks great. will get one when is here, but hopefully with good specs, if potong specs, then will forgo.

• XC60 owner on Jul 24, 2015 at 8:44 pm

I wonder where did he get his specs? This Tucson is in the same class as the XC60 right? I’ve not seen another car with as a big a bout space as the XC60. The exterior dimensions of the Tucson are all smaller than the XC60, so how can it be the widest in its class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 26, 2015 at 10:17 am

Kimchi and China cars are in the same category.

Volvo=Geely

• XC60 owner on Jul 24, 2015 at 8:52 pm

I wonder if he got his specs correct. Is the XC60 in the same category as this Tucson? The XC60 exterior dimensions are all bigger than this new Tuscon, so how can the Tuscon be the widest in its class? Also, I’ve yet to see another 5-seater SUV with a bigger boot than XC60. Maybe Q5 has a bigger boot… but definitely not this Tuscon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Josh Ling on Jul 25, 2015 at 1:25 am

Hyundai, please hire some professionals to do the walk-around video next time, like how BMW and Merc always do. The moment the name and title popped up in the video, I have already lost half of my interest, and then the not-so-smooth presentation and sometimes a bit awkward pronunciation diminished my interest further. all in all, it’s not doing any good the overall feeling and reputation of this car.

come on, hyundai, you can do better than that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Since CX3 still no news of coming, i may consider this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • proton need not worry to move forward wat hyundai did over these years..cuz proton design bmw qualities car

• gobackreadagain on Jul 26, 2015 at 10:05 am

Another stupid comment, generalization of quality is misleading.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 26, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Proton Cars have better RV than kimchis

• Hyundai is improving leaps and bounds. You got to give them the due credit.

It looks awesome and hopefully it drives as good as it looks.

All the best Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 26, 2015 at 10:19 am

In that case, quickly head to the nearest Hyundai showroom and book yourself a Tucson.

Can’t wait to show you the Hilux within 12 months

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
      • Low Budget on Jul 26, 2015 at 11:59 am

You may need to wait 12 years to demo your Toyota to Hyundai owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • I may or may not buy a Hyundai, but nvr a Hilux by personal choice.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 27, 2015 at 3:29 pm

The RV of Hyundais have nosedived by leaps and bounds as well.

This is where trading kimchis makes sense

• zamer on Jul 25, 2015 at 5:33 pm

looks nice and simple car to own..
    price it right here, i’m sure this car gonna sell good.

CRV – too big with underpower
    HR-V – a jacked up city, too plain
    CX-3 – too cramp
    Xtrail – subjective look
    CX-5 – its aging look

New Tucson will have a way to steal the market if rightly priced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 25, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Consider a used Tucson. Very dai mai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • dissatisfied toyota on Jul 26, 2015 at 9:18 pm

weh.. u keep talking about rv, u always sell your car ka? if a person likes a car why would he/she sells the car? and oh ya check the current market.. korean car are as par or even better in terms of rv compared to their japs counterparts. and furthermore toyota cant even beat the tucson in terms of looks la..

• iiAMGPackage on Jul 26, 2015 at 5:10 am

How about the ASX? It’s always left behind the pack thoo.

• Nasi Padang on Jul 26, 2015 at 9:39 am

Poor man Q30. LOL
    looks nice indeed.

• Therealmaserati on Jul 26, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Lousy car with lousy refinement and lousy chassis. Selling looks only.

Keep this junk in Korea la

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 26, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Might as well get the China Land Wind (Range Rover lookalike).

At least its better value for money

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 27, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Really don’t care what kimchis sell.

All I care is the great trading business that comes about because kimchi are sold to sorhai tai lan ngongs

• I’ve not test drive a Korean before but i did test drive the JAZZ and CITY. Both car are really crap in terms driving feels, Cabin feel like and empty can…I was thinking of buying this 2 car end up i didn’t buy. Oh yeah test drove the HRV too but still not my liking.

• Is something we can do to stop Toyota salesperson from defaming other carmakers? Ban them from flooding the comment section in favour of their sales. (And I know my comment would cause a lot of phantom dislikes votes from Sam)

As I scrolled down from top to bottom of this comment section, I can see frequent comments from Sam, and his friends (or just him alone). In addition, the the likes and dislikes are just fishy.

• I owned an elantra for 3 years…its not a bad car…nothing goes wrong yet..better than my mother civic…brake problem… gearbox problem…not all is bad… those who complain only afford saga…like sam loo