Ferrari F12 Speciale planned – up 30 hp, down 200 kg

F12berlinetta_22

If there were ever a Ferrari everyone would want to own, it would be the F12berlinetta. Now this is a prancing horse with a 6.3 litre direct-injection V12 that sets the benchmark for naturally-aspirated 12-cylinder engines, both in terms of power and revs. F12 fans should rejoice, as Ferrari is believed to be finalising a lightweight Speciale version of its flagship (under the sold-out LaFerrari, of course), which could be revealed at the next Geneva Motor Show in March 2016.

According to Autocar UK, it would be a full-scale production car (not a limited-production model like the 599 GTO), and the standard F12 Berlinetta will continue to be produced along with it. It is believed that the F12 Speciale will weigh up to 200 kg less than the standard car, which will be about 1430 kg. Additionally, the power output of its 6.2 litre V12 engine will also see a 30 hp increase to 760 hp.

If proved accurate, its power-to-weight ratio will increase from 447 hp per tonne to 531 hp per tonne. To put this in perspective, the Lamborghini Aventador LP750-4 Superveloce has a power-to-weight ratio of 485 hp per tonne, while the Porsche 918 Spyder offers 535 hp per tonne. The Ferrari F12 Speciale is essentially trespassing into hypercar territory, which is staggering, really.

F12berlinetta_19

With such numbers, 0-100 km/h should take 3.0 seconds or less, but the F12’s 340 km/h top speed could be significantly reduced as the increased drag from the advanced aerodynamics could play a factor too. Just how has Ferrari managed to shave 200 kg off the F12 will always be seen as a remarkable feat, but you expect the use of lightweight body panels, ultra-lightweight wheels, thinner windows and the removal of carpets, sound-deadening materials and creature comforts (a la the 458 Speciale) to all play a part in the diet exercise.

This F12 Speciale really is going to be pretty special, as it may be the last normally-aspirated, non-hybrid production Ferrari to ever grace our roads. It truly will be the end of an era, with newer Ferrari models such as the California T and 488 GTB going down the turbocharged route.

A brave new world beckons for all Ferrari enthusiasts too, as future V12 models are set to be mated with electric motors, just like the LaFerrari. The Ferrari F12 Speciale is expected to carry a price tag of close to £300,000 (RM1.7 million), which is still a bargain for a car that offers almost the same power-to-weight ratio as a £781,000 (RM4.6 million) Porsche 918 Spyder.

Hardcore Ferrari F12 spied during testing

GALLERY: Ferrari F12 Berlinetta launched in Malaysia

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 27, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Guys, wanna see this models on Malaysian road (most properly owned by the cronies)? Buy more Iriz please.

They can’t get the F12 before you get yourself an Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • viosjunk on Jul 27, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Keep your hatred to yourself
      Dun blame others for your failure in life

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 28, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Yes, I was Proton’s victim many many years ago, that is my worst failure in my life. I am so lucky now i finally get rid of it.

If I have any Proton at home, I would give it out for free. Who wanna keep junk at home anyway?

• kington on Jul 27, 2015 at 6:20 pm

I was lucky enough to have a go at a 599, and that was blinding fast. The F12 as we can see and read is faster than the 599. So this F12 “Type R” would definitely smoke most hypercars.