IIMS 2015: Toyota Vellfire appears – 2.5G, RM290k

Toyota Vellfire 1

Also appearing on the Toyota stand at the 2015 Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS) is what will soon be a grey market favourite in our part of the world – the new Toyota Vellfire. Available in sole 2.5G trim, the extroverted luxury MPV joins its more sober Alphard sibling in PT Toyota Astra Motor’s lineup; the latter is also offered in a range-topping 3.5Q variant as well as a base 2.5X

With the advent of a second generation, the Vellfire becomes even more in-your-face compared to its already-imposing predecessor. The trademark dual-tier headlights are slimmer than before and now feature twin LED projectors, while the chrome-laden grille of the current car gets even larger.

Toyota Vellfire 48

Along the side, there’s more barrel-like surfacing, and the windows on the front doors are now visually connected to the other side windows. Out the back, there’s a wraparound rear windscreen and reshaped tail lights, and 18-inch multi-spoke dual-tone alloy wheels complete the look.

Inside, the more luxurious seven-seat (2-2-3) interior – in black as opposed to the Alphard’s beige colour scheme – gains LED roof illumination (four brightness, 16 colour settings) and a seven-inch touchscreen with navigation, to go with the familiar triple-zone climate control, roof-mounted LCD monitor, twin sunroofs, powered sliding doors and keyless entry and start. The plush second-row captain chairs with “Mickey Mouse” headrest wings are also power-adjustable.

Beneath all this lies a new platform – the interior height stays at 1,400 mm despite the overall height dropping 10 mm, and new double wishbone rear suspension replaces the old torsion beam. This, paired with increased body rigidity, a more aerodynamic body shape, as well as enhanced soundproofing contribute to a luxurious, quiet and comfortable ride with stable handling that Toyota claims to be befitting of a luxury vehicle.

As mentioned, there’s only one variant for the Vellfire, which means only one engine choice – a 2.5 litre 2AR-FE engine with 180 hp, matched to a Sports Sequential Shiftmatic Super CVT-i transmission with seven virtual ratios. The Toyota Vellfire 2.5G retails in Indonesia at 980 million rupiah (RM290,450).

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Toyota again? Come on PT… out of the whole IIMS you keep posting articles on TOYOTA? pfffffffttt!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • Jimmy on Aug 20, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Brandnew 7-seater 300k – 600k
      1. V-class
      2. X5
      3. Q7
      4. CX9
      5. Vellfire
      6. Elgrand
      7. Pajero.
      8. Discovery Sport

Changing lane without giving signals x 3 = robbing road. You are a robber.
      Same, if you rob at traffic light, by cutting que.

• All DAP members will curse and swear on this & its lil brother Alphard for killing their dear co-leader.

If they see Sam Loo, they will beat him into pulp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 24
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:36 am

john the latest loser cybertrooper from umno. Can’t believe our tax payers money used to pay this idiot RM10k per month to spread pro umno messages

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • Sorry but I RBA paid in Sing Dollar. If I see you I will heret you to his grave and make you kow tow to him repeatedly until your head bleeds. Then you know how suffering pipu using moving coffin

• kapchai on Aug 19, 2015 at 5:40 pm

RM290K in Indonesia? How much would it be selling in M’sia?

• The Vellfire 2.5 starts the range at 3.399 million baht (RM376k), followed by the Alphard 2.5 Hybrid at 3.549 million baht (RM399k) and finally, the Alphard 3.5 V6 at 4.649 million baht (RM523k).

• taxta on Aug 19, 2015 at 8:34 pm

So where those dumbass who compares prices in langkawi? Can get much cheaper?

• kington on Aug 19, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Well, the Alphard already went above RM300K, so this would be ….. i don’t wanna know…

But I’m keen to see how the packaged the car with space-robbing rear double wishbone suspension.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 19, 2015 at 7:50 pm

Double Wishbone suspension is one of the most expensive type of suspension setup, and the best setup for having the wheels at 90 deg to the road (assuming zero camber default) at varying payloads and road conditions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Locomotion on Aug 19, 2015 at 7:05 pm

This van best for making baby on the road, very stable suspension.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Those units we get here are certified baby-making machines. Dun believe me, just go get the latest JAVs.

• isuzuki on Aug 19, 2015 at 7:22 pm

wow…Expensive van

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Aug 19, 2015 at 8:12 pm

UMW your marketing team either sleeping or day dreaming, why???? Simple…….. Majority Alphard every Malaysian see on the road is Vellfire range. Why or What the hell marketing team doing/thinking by suggesting offer Non-Vellfire version!!!!
    Take another example previous Toyota Wish, UMW offer halogen non-skirting and low spec. Price range you all donkey if NOT greedy, is able to adjust “profit margin”.
    So I damn hope u all at UMW offer Vellfire & price competitively. STOP your GREEDYnneessss & offer more value for money to Malaysian.

• albag on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:51 pm

hopefully the older gen Vellfire price can be reduced once this is introduced here… dont mind to get the old one since the design is still pretty nice..

• Maellard on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:25 pm

A WILD VELLFIRE APPEARS!

• Samang on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:48 pm

A favorite for robbers and kidnappers. Lock your house if see one parked nearby and quickly call the police.

• ahbeng on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:25 am

Many bosses like this car because they can save money for hotel room when they want to make out with their secretary.
    They can configure the seats to have a flat floor.

• The King Of Mafia and Yakuza Vehicles. Symbol of Evil MPV.LOL

• it is still a “van” though

• DeathBringer on Aug 20, 2015 at 12:38 pm

The amount of chrome on the front grill is just too damn high.

• Allroadquattro on Aug 20, 2015 at 2:00 pm

someone should kill MPV trends