2016 Hyundai Elantra – more renderings revealed

Hyundai-Elantra-6

Following teasers that showed the sleeker-looking next-gen Hyundai Elantra sedan, the South Korean automaker has decided to give the public another teaser of its upcoming C-segment sedan from various angles and in sketches, ahead of its anticipated debut at the 2015 Los Angeles Auto Show in November.

The fluid design for the new Elantra has a coupe-like resemblance, even in its four-door form. Rumours point to a possibility of a coupe version making a comeback – it was discontinued in the US just two years after its introduction due to low sales.

As can be seen in the sketches, the Elantra will be kept in line with Hyundai’s current Fluidic Sculpture 2.0 design language – the hexagonal grille along with those headlights is set to ensure that the Elantra, like all of Hyundai’s current vehicle line-up, will possess that aggressive stance.

Headlining the engine lineup of the Elantra will reportedly be a new 1.6 litre T-GDI turbocharged engine – which all-in-all should make 175 hp – paired to Hyundai’s seven-speed dual-clutch transmission. Fuel-efficiency for the sixth-generation Elantra is rumoured to hit 5.4 litres per 100 km.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 21, 2015 at 11:40 am

Unfortunately the spy shots show that the car in reality is a far cry from those renders.. the sad fact of design vs engineering for production

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 21, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Don’t waste your hard earned money on new car depreciation. I can give you good deal. Everyone knew kimchi cars have no RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • Hyundai’s debuts recently haven’t been pleasant to the eyes; I hope they don’t ruin this one either.

• Daydream on Aug 21, 2015 at 11:57 am

Wish that Proton Preve, Suprima can have that design. Sigh.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 21, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Good.. if this comes out in 2016, in 2017 people will come to beg me to accept this thrash for 25k just to trade in an ALtis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • ah cai on Aug 21, 2015 at 12:22 pm

nowadays, all car design look like aston martin.. all car.. idea finish already among the designer. but if proton start to use this kind of design, haters will start saying.. oo proton tiru maa… proton tak da idea maaa… proton suka ciplak maaa…

• nabill (Member) on Aug 21, 2015 at 1:06 pm

RIP rear headroom!

• Veneno on Aug 21, 2015 at 2:44 pm

looks like a mixture of Audi, Tesla and Aston Martin..

• VINOD on Aug 21, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Altis and your other Sushi’s have been losing significant market share to the kimchis.

Korean cars are surely better value for the buck, doesn’t get targeted by carjackers, and provides decent RV. Why don’t you just check oto or other sites for that matter. There is as much as 9-10k depreciaton/year, which isn’t a far-cry from a toyota altis, whose interior is absolute rubbish, offers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • ben yap on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:31 am

carjackers didn’t want to target korean cars because it has low resale value.

even if u leave the car with the keys inside, people won’t bother to drive it away.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 21, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Great news. I can lower trade to RM22k now for a 12 month old unit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Penta on Aug 22, 2015 at 11:18 am

Sam Loo – How do i Contact you ? i would like to buy a one year old Korean car.

At the price you offer any 1 year old car is a great bargain.

I am a serious buyer and i look forward for a reply. Contact me at [email protected]

Thanks

• Jobless on Aug 22, 2015 at 8:51 pm

Only ah beng will buy korean cars..they penny wise pound foolish…tink fully loaded but ciper vs japs but when time service and spare parts they will beg Sam Loo for mercy to trade in their junks

• When you already establish the brand/ design, no one says you copy other people’s design.
    Is this an audi?