Caterham Superlight Twenty unveiled, limited edition

-r Max Earey  (184)

Caterham Cars has opened the order books for a special edition Seven, dubbed the Caterham Superlight Twenty, priced at £29,995 (RM199,791). The Malaysian-owned British lightweight sports car purveyor has revived the spirit of one of its most iconic Sevens, the rowdy 1.6 litre Seven Superlight, with the launch of this model. Only 20 of this limited-run car will be built.

The Superlight Twenty has a 135 hp 1.6 litre Ford Sigma engine, with a six-speed close ratio manual gearbox, ‘Sport’ suspension pack, lightweight flywheel and limited slip differential. It will hit 100 km/h in 4.9 seconds and achieve a terminal velocity of 196 km/h.

Its body is finished in bare aluminium, just like the original Superlight, and this saves six kilogrammes. The bodywork also has carbon fibre components like cycle wings, rear wings, nose and minimalist aero screen.

A numbered dash plaque, unique gauges, key and a gear knob with the ‘Superlight Twenty’ motif complements the titanium coloured chassis, carbon interior panels and specially embroidered carbon sports seats found only on its flagship, the Seven 620 R.

-r Max Earey  (67)

This special edition is only available as a Series 3 chassis with only choices of paint, weather equipment and heater available; thus staying true to its minimalist theme. It stays true to the original Lotus Seven launched by Colin Chapman more than five decades ago.

Caterham Cars CEO, Graham Macdonald, said: “When Caterham created the original Superlight, it was a big hit. We sold every one we built and it inspired the development of future models.

“As well all the five-star reviews and animated feedback from customers for its driver appeal and roisterous character, it always represented excellent value by being a genuinely accessible performance car bargain – which is why we’ve tried to recreate that magic by celebrating the 20th anniversary of its launch,” he added.

Macdonald went on to say, “those unable to buy one first time around now have the opportunity to snap up one of a limited run of vehicles – it’s not an exact replica of the original but it’s most definitely cut from the same cloth and we know customers will love it for all the same reasons.”

It was recently launched at the Goodwood Revival ahead of the 20th anniversary of the original Superlight back in 1996. While the original production run of the Superlight had stopped in 2004, a new era of racetrack ready Sevens soon came along, offering more performance and lower overall weight.

Some of these track-day weapons included the Caterham Superlight R400, Seven RST-V8, Supersports, Team Lotus Special Edition, Superlight R600, Supersport R and the AeroSeven Concept.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Sam L0rrr on Sep 14, 2015 at 5:18 pm

No VSC? Not enough airbags? Moving coffin I hear you say…
    This car doesn’t even have proper bumpers and is charging 200k before tax.
    So if you can’t afford a Toyota, go buy a Kimchi for all you will…
    Toyota being the biggest and most reliable car Manufacturer in the world, do not need your validation.
    The market at large speaks for itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
    • 4G63T DSM on Sep 14, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Someone is getting really sore of losing market share.

One is a poorly equipped family sedan. The other is a rich man’s weekend track toy. Can’t see the difference? Maybe that’s why you are losing market share.

On another point. Yes, I agree that Toyota is one of the best manufacturers, making some of the the worlds best and reliable cars. BUT NOT UMW. Unfortunately.

• piiiiraaahhh….mabuk. kau apahal duk cerita pasal toyota kat ruangan ni?? tak tau baca ke??