Renault Clio GT Line previewed in M’sia – est RM118k

renault-clio-previewed-gt-line

As confirmed earlier on, TC Euro Cars has previewed the new Renault Clio GT Line at Pavilion, KL. The new hatch slots below the high-performance Renault Clio RS 200 EDC and, according to Renault, is directed at “drivers who want a sporty look but are not in the market for the high performance of an RS model.”

And a sporty-looking hatch they will get as the Renault Clio GT Line retains the general design theme first seen by Malaysian buyers on its hi-po sibling. In front, the bold Renault logo dominates the whole fascia while the badge itself sits within a gloss black assembly that bridges the headlights (halogen reflector units). Down below, LED daytime running lights (DRLs) are to be found within their respective housings.

Moving on to the side, the Clio GT Line is equipped with 17-inch alloy wheels (wrapped in 205/45 Michelin Primacy 3 tyres) while body-coloured side protective mouldings with dark metal inserts help add a certain amount of aesthetic flair. Elsewhere, the car also gets darkened side mirror housings, tinted rear windows and integrated rear door handles.

At the rear, the tailgate receives GT Line badging while the same spoiler from the Clio RS 200 EDC is to be found. “The new Renault Clio GT Line builds on the Clio model’s hallmark strengths and everyday versatility as well as a long tradition of innovation in its segment,” said TC Euro Cars CEO, Kuan Kim Luen.

renault-clio-gt-line-previewed 13

Under the bonnet, the Renault Clio GT Line is powered by a turbocharged 1.2 litre TCe 120 four-cylinder petrol engine with 118 hp at 4,900 rpm and 190 Nm of torque from 2,000 rpm. The mill is mated to a six-speed dual-clutch transmission with power going to the front wheels. Zero to 100 km/h takes 9.4 seconds while fuel consumption has been rated at 5.2 l/100 km.

Additionally, the Clio is also said to boast “reduced noise and vibration levels” while handling is said to be exemplary thanks to the adoption of a Macpherson-type front suspension setup that is linked to a “right-angled triangular lower wishbone with twin bushes.” The rear suspension setup is comprised of a torsion beam setup with coil springs and an anti-roll bar.

Inside, the seats of the Renault Clio GT Line are trimmed in fabric while a leather-wrapped steering wheel greets the driver. Elsewhere, grey trim dominates the dash and centre console while Renault Sport-badged sill guards are offered as standard. A quick look around shows an ‘Eco’ button located by the side of the parking brake – said mode is touted to improve fuel efficiency by up to 10%.

renault-clio-gt-line-previewed 44

Other standard goodies include automatic headlights and windscreen wipers, keyless entry with push-start button, cruise control with speed limiter, rear parking sensors, tilt and telescopic adjustable steering wheel, “motorway mode indicators” and a seven-inch MediaNav touchscreen navigation and infotainment system.

Also include as standard is the Renault Bass Reflex sound system. Said system is touted to “deliver the volume and listening enjoyment of a 30-litre home speaker enclosure.” As for standard safety kit, the Renault Clio GT Line is equipped with front, lateral head and thorax airbags, seat belts with pre-tensioners, Isofix mounts on the front passenger and two rear seats, ESC, hill start assist and ABS with brake assist.

The made-in-Turkey Renault Clio GT Line is expected to launched at the end of the year. A total of four colours will be available with the list set to include Diamond Black, Glacier White, Malta Blue and Flame Red – the latter will cost an additional RM5,000. The hatch will be priced at an estimated RM118,000 with a five-year unlimited mileage manufacturer’s warranty.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Ticks all the boxes in the looks department – inside and out. Love the camouflaged rear door handles. All tight and nice. Now to wonder about everyday drivability and running cost. Good news for those too I hope.

• Europe Low Class Car on Sep 18, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Joke of a car. In Europe you use Clio, people laugh at you. It is so low class in Europe. And Europeans know, French make the worst cars.

but here in Malaysia, it becomes luxury. Aiyoo, pay Rm115k for a small junk? Better buy a Myvi. Or even better, go buy a Honda Accord, Toyota Camry or a nissan Teana. After discounts, its only a few thousand more.

Nobody can really fit into a Clio, its so tiny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
      • Gomen Cheat Us lah on Sep 18, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Go and download the episode on Top Gear on Peugeot. Clarkson and team said, Peugeot officially makes the worst cars ever. But Malaysians think we buy continental and so proud of it.

Season 22 Episode 09

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • theanswer on Sep 18, 2015 at 4:57 pm

not really..most malaysian know that pug is not the best car around. used market price is the proof. just dont exaggerate as if we malaysian is stupid. got 2 pug at my hse..and i know it’s not the best car for long term usage(if can last 2-3yrs without prob, a big bonus!). but driveability still better than jap model.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 19, 2015 at 7:32 am

Top Gear is an entertainment show. They even made fun of being called a factual show. They don’t say the truth, they say what is funny. Though I agree that for a while Peugeot made dreadful cars.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 19, 2015 at 7:31 am

I’m European. No, people won’t look down on you if you drive a Clio. In fact it is a popular car.

And the French make the worst cars? In your dreams. I’d rather drive a French car than a German car, and I am German.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • If this is CKD and its 80-90k id gladly choose this over the 208 & Fiesta Ecoboost. Being a Renault I’m sure it’ll handle better than the two

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • GT3 (Member) on Sep 19, 2015 at 10:45 am

Yes it handles well because Renault usually has good chassis. But the 208 GTi and Fiesta ST are equipped with 6MT. A 6MT is one of the aspects that defines a good hot hatch.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 18, 2015 at 11:34 am

Looks good, have driven abroad it feels more substantial compared to the Polo 1.2 TSI.

Thing is, it’s too expensive. If it was below 100k, then it would RIP for the Polo.

• Gracke on Sep 18, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Finally, it’s here and have been waiting so long! Quite a nice price :-)

• tokmoh. on Sep 18, 2015 at 12:36 pm

inb4 MYR depreciate, actual price will be RM130k… or more.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 18, 2015 at 12:56 pm

1.2T makes so much sence in these type of cars compare to NA alternatives…bt im worried about rear knee room…sooo tight….not for big sized ppl thats for sure…but its a renault , so its gonna drive a million times better than any japanese alternatives…very well specced too

• theanswer on Sep 18, 2015 at 4:58 pm

except for peugeot. most contis have a very tight interior.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 18, 2015 at 12:58 pm

Hmmm I thought it would have been at least 10k cheaper but thanks to someone our RM is shyt now…

• frenchsai on Sep 18, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Renault brand is the worst resale value among all the marque. People who take 5 years loan be prepared to finish your loan before selling coz you will get heart attack when you want to sell within 5 years.

Reliability is also shite and always sui kwan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • kington on Sep 18, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Newer cars won’t sui kwan so easily one….

• Hisap on Sep 19, 2015 at 8:14 am

Many ppl buy this as a second or third car for light running around so no big deal.

• Needs to dip below the 100k mark to be competitive..but they wont as it would kill the sales of the Korean in French disguise by the name of Fluence…. they should just give that car up and refocus on core models the way Nasim is doing with Peugeot and work towards making them price competitive..the market these days has a hunger for new and different brands….

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 19, 2015 at 7:35 am

The Fluence as sold in Malaysia is built in Korea, but apart from that it is French. It is a Megane with a sedan boot added to the rear. It has the same interior, mechanics, … The only thing that was Korean was the front end… and that was only for the pre-FL car.

• intermilan on Sep 18, 2015 at 3:53 pm

nice looking B-segment car.

by being CBU, similar in class euro rivals are way way cheaper as most of them are CKD.

would like for this small renault to be a success, but by looking at 208, fiesta and polo lukewarm sale (dare i say declining?) and it’s supposedly asking price, it isn’t that hard to predict the future of this clio.

still, i hope, all factors considered, enough will be sold for them to be consider a sale success.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 18, 2015 at 5:01 pm

I think the majority of Malaysians here prefer sedans, pickups and SUVs over hatches bar the Axia and Myvi…and yes if its rivals with cheaper prices aren’t selling well I will not expect this to fly off the shelves and any new vehicle launch in Bolehland during the weak MYR means the price has been intentionally inflated. I’ll hold off any new vehicle purchase until our economy is stable for at least a year.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 19, 2015 at 12:16 am

makes more sense than disappointing RS….but still the price…hard sell

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 19, 2015 at 7:37 am

Renault/TCEAS must be high. The Fluence is from a bigger segment, much larger. It has more power. A more established drive train. And it costs less… whereas in Europe the Fluence would be more expensive.

• gdntsk (Member) on Sep 19, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Ouch! This is expensive. With that money, I can buy a Fluence which is around the same price as the Clio GT Line.

• Hooooooooo on Sep 24, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Malaysian always say TOYOTA is the god car

• Twinturbovsix on Dec 09, 2015 at 1:21 am

Rear drum brake.. Tsk tsk

• I m serious consider wan to buy it. But i so worry about future maintainance problem such as sparepart stock available on the time we need it. Coz is fact that too small qty renault in the road that u can c . Some body friend here can help to coment. Tqvm