2016 Mitsubishi Lancer facelift unveiled in the US

2016-mitsubishi-lancer-facelift-27

First reported earlier this year, the 2016 Mitsubishi Lancer facelift has finally been unveiled in the US. Changes are relatively small both outside and in on the rejuvenated C-segment sedan – probably a move made by the Japanese car manufacturer to keep the Lancer relevant prior to the arrival of the next-gen model. Development of the new car was delayed after plans to use a Renault model as a base stalled.

As mentioned, the 2016 Mitsubishi Lancer facelift remains a familiar sight with a restyled front end. The fascia features a redesigned front grille with that is now segmented into two courtesy of a horizontal bar that runs across the assembly. Elsewhere, C-shaped LED daytime running lights are to be found framing the fog lights.

2016-mitsubishi-lancer-facelift-05

Additionally, two new colour schemes are added to the palette with Alloy Silver and Diamond White Pearl. The costlier GT variant adds on 18-inch two-tone alloy wheels, larger disc brakes, sport-tuned suspension, a sunroof and a rear spoiler. On the inside, the base architecture remains more or less unchanged.

Upgrades over the pre-facelift model include new upholstery and a redesigned centre console that features a built-in USB port. The entry-level ES trim is now equipped as standard with automatic climate control, a colour multi-info display screen and a FUSE Bluetooth hands-free system.

2016-mitsubishi-lancer-facelift-34

The SE trim model, on the other hand, adds on more standard equipment such as “all-wheel control”, heated front seats, a reverse camera and an upgraded audio system with HD radio. Moving up to the SEL model nets owners leather seats, automatic headlights and windscreen wipers as well as auto dimming mirrors.

No mechanical changes have been touted, though. The 2016 Mitsubishi Lancer facelift will soldier on with the same four-cylinder MIVEC petrol engine. With that said, the refreshed Lancer is equipped with a “new-generation” CVT8 transmission that is said to improve performance and fuel efficiency.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Old Outdated Engines in Proton on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:03 am

Mitsubishi cannot be forgiven. For 25 years, they conspired with the Malaysian Government to give Malaysians outdated, old, high fuel consumption engines.

And to the world they gave the latest engines. Thank you Mitsubishi for cheating Malaysians. And a bigger thank you to Proton for cheating its own people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 59
    • Oh, I see you finally came out of your cave after 15 years.
      Just so not to shock you, the Wira have automagically transmogrified into the Inspira, and with the latest B11 & B10 engines somehow managed to be squeezed into the engine bay which use to house the 1.3 carb.
      Of course somethings never change since you went in to hibernate. You can still ‘convert’ it into an EVO lookalike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • P2 macai on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:16 am

Are you bodoh or what? Toyota also give outdated engines to P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • theanswer on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:12 pm

what to do..vios also use 13yrs old engine.

• ‘outdated’ engine in Perodua, still more fuel saving than Proton.

Perodua Axia 1.0L 1KR-DE2 EEV engine is a improved new 1KR-DE engine used in Indonesia Daihatsy Ayla and Toyota Agya.

20km/L, uses 0W-20 engine oil.
        if use 0W-20 engine oil in Proton engine, sure it kaput.. Proton engine comes with huge gap, need thicker engine oil to seal it.

• karam singh on Oct 01, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Lancer is a good car, but they stick far too long for this design.People got bored. The Civic already done 2 generation yet Lancer only done facelifts.

Engine & drivetrain, The Civic got my respect as the new generation keep introducing new engine, 9th gen 2.0 SOHC , 10th gen 1.5l turbo .
        Unlike lancer, still use the same engine for almost 10years.

Please keep it up Mitsubishi, we need C-segment performance rival againts the Civic.

• kereta_lembu on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:59 pm

Proton signed up to partner with Mitsubishi and get their old cars and technology. Instead of keep blaming people for ‘cheating’, why not reflect on yourself to see if you have what it takes to make your own success? If you’re stupid enough to be so called cheated, then maybe you deserve to be cheated in the first place. Don’t always blame others for your own failures. The first step to success is to recognize your own inability and stop the blaming. If you can’t do a good job, maybe the job is not right for you. So, let the QUALIFIED people do it.

• Alson P on Oct 01, 2015 at 4:40 pm

VW cheating the entire world include Malaysian.. LMAO

• xxXxx on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:06 am

Hi Americans we called them Inspira, and they are crap, discontinued soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 28
  • Areyousure on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:24 am

Wow… A smiley bumper, LOL

• Kubota on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:58 am

This boxy design can last longer compared to fluidic design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • What r u doing Mitsubishi? Age of dinasour car still can facelift? You want to become another Proton? Even Inspira also stop production already, please give next generation Lancer lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • What a cheap looking old car.

• xxXxx on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:55 am

Bring back the EVO la, why facelift this sampah.

• tan an han on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:26 pm

American love classic cara as we malaysian not , soo don’t blame mitsubishi.

• policeman on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:58 pm

The redesigned centre console, I’m going to fit that in my car.

Too bad they never fixed the A pillar trim gaps.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:00 pm

I’ll be honest, I think this facelift looks great, and Mitsubishi pulled it off quite well. I’ve always liked this generation of the Lancer, and despite its age, it still looks fresh today. But not on the inside, for it’s quite dated. And safety wise, it’s not very competitive either.

But the best thing is that Mitsubishi knows they are pushing old tech, and they dare not push prices up, all while modernising the car to keep up with the times. This is very different from our UMW Toyota, which sells the unsafe, 4-speed Vios at the highest market prices (Vios is more expensive than the City and Almera), while its main competitor (City) is more modern and safe.

• INspire by inspira on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Seriously… no one comment on this…?

its just looks like INSPIRA!

• DPCraft on Oct 01, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Honda should have continue their Civic FD like Mitsubishi Lancer :(

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:47 pm

i still like mitsubishi kamikaze zeros

• Aiman hakim on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Why have to get new engines?we should wait for next gen lancer for new engines