Tokyo 2015: Toyota Auto Body Alphard Hercule debuts

Toyota Alphard Hercule Concept TMS-19

The thing you see before you is Toyota Auto Body’s Alphard Hercule Concept, which made its debut at the Tokyo Motor Show. It’s not just the exterior of the open-top reinterpretation of that familiar MPV that’s vivid, the accompanying press info on the vehicle is too.

‘Imagine that you are sipping champagne with your friends while enjoying the pleasant sea breeze as you drive towards a yacht harbour in southern Europe. This open cruiser is equipped with a sophisticated interior space that is filled with a sense of openness and freedom that is perfectly suited to a holiday such as this.’

Quite the opening descriptor for the five-seater, which measures 5,265 mm long, 1,850 mm wide and 1,960 mm tall. Plenty of striking bits to be had – there’s that nose, which isn’t exactly subtle to say the least, but the standout surely has to be the large retractable soft top, the aperture starting from behind the front row seats right up to the tail.

Toyota Auto Body says the large front grille and retractable roof give the Alphard Hercule the feel of a marine cruiser, and there’s also an explanation for the azure body graphics running across the entire side of the car – yes, it’s all winds and waves with this one.

The marine theme continues on inside, the design of the primarily white interior aiming to give occupants the feeling of being in a yacht cabin – there’s a lounge sofa in place of the rear-most seats, complete with a fold-away low table and champagne bottle storage space as well as floor panelling that mimics hardwood flooring.

As for the Hercule moniker, TAB says that the study is named after Port Hercule, a yacht harbour in Monaco as well as Hercules. Yes, with this one, you’ll be sailing on in strong and striking style.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Oct 29, 2015 at 2:33 pm

KABOOM…!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • power betul, nampak macam Tranformers. Bezz betul naik Alphard. Syiok. Terutamanya Malam jumaat, bawak awek dalam, boleh projek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • Dah salah. Ini untuk tauke malam sabtu, bawak amoi dari bukit bintang untuk sessi tukang urut “xtra” sementara parking kat tempat letak kreta orang cacat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Yours Faithfully (Member) on Oct 29, 2015 at 2:41 pm

one glance with that blue and grey paint work, I thought it was Optimus Prime!

• Peter on Oct 29, 2015 at 2:59 pm

Is this a boat?
    Or they hire the designer from wrong industry?

• The front looks like an antique train shovel.

• Thought it looks like those Ah Peks with big grinning teeth (donkey mouth).

• tinmilo on Oct 29, 2015 at 4:21 pm

This car will scare the shit out of Hannibal lectur lah.

• azrai on Oct 29, 2015 at 5:02 pm

The colour remind me to Sultan of Johor’s theme. Any take on this your majesty?

• #whatanuglydesign on Oct 29, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Such an ugly design. Toyota designers over the years are inept at designing cars. Though Lexus is just slightly better looking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • chiam on Oct 29, 2015 at 5:35 pm

well at least this thing is better than ur car :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • #whatanuglydesign on Oct 29, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Says the person who’s driving an average Toyota =P. It’s ok, I feel for you.