SPYSHOTS: G11 BMW 7 Series spotted in Malaysia

2016_BMW_7_Series_Malaysia_1

Well, well, what have we here? Reader Lim Erh Pin spotted a pair of G11 BMW 7 Series models on the NKVE recently, ahead of its local introduction here in Malaysia. Thanks again, buddy!

At the moment, not much can be said of the exact specifications of the Malaysian-market 740Li (technically the G12, in long-wheelbase form). That said, seeing that it’s going against the W222 Mercedes-Benz S 400h, we’re hoping that it’s good.

If these cars on the trailers are the Malaysian spec cars (as opposed to units brought in as training cars), the 740Li will get 19-inch wheels and the Design Pure Excellence package, seeing that it sports a chrome trim surrounding the exhaust pipes. Powering the car here would be a 3.0 litre turbocharged straight-six petrol engine with 326 PS and 450 Nm of torque, paired to an eight-speed Sport Automatic transmission.

2016_BMW_7_Series_Malaysia_8

Just to recap, the latest 7 Series has a Carbon Core construction, with a mix of carbon-fibre reinforced plastic (CFRP), magnesium, aluminium and steel to make it lighter by as much as 130 kg compared to its predecessor. Inside, it’s a major leap forward too, with the new touch-screen iDrive 5.0 with gesture control interface. And check out how its new lounge seats compares to the one in the S-Class.

We’ll have to wait a while longer to get more details on BMW’s flagship sedan. Here’s hoping it’ll come with the Display Key, among other fancy optional items that are available in other market.

So guys, are you as excited as we are?

GALLERY: G11 BMW 7-Series

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:06 pm

Definitely an interesting time indeed!

Pricing would be key for the success of this model though, especially after how the S class has now flooded the market thanks to the attractive pricing. What intrigues me is if these cars are going to be built locally from the start (as they have to start preparing to build these CFRP based cars soon since the G30 5 series which most definitely would be CKD and would also feature this kind of chassis) or otherwise. Also, I would be a bit surprised if they don’t offer an M Sport package as an option at least, cause honestly, the new G11/12 looks best with the M Sport kit compared to the overly bling bling Design Pure Excellence.

• Wow I thought my friend was BS-ing me when he said he saw it earlier today

• Nissan on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:22 pm

Why all same design like Camry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Ah Jeep on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:27 pm

My ministers new ride. Our rakyat work so hard every second just to get you all new luxury vehicles.

• Dun worry. soon all oppo MPs will upcar to S keras. Tokong will re-upcar to Maybach

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Dr Nirmal Singh on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:30 pm

So that’s what it is. I saw two loaded trailers parked on road side just after the toll plaza at the Penchala Link tunnel towards Mont Kiara about 10am today. I knew there were BMs on the vehicle carriers but wasn’t close enough to identify; looked quite sleek. They were the new 7 series with chrome strip and exhaust tips.

• Ready for this jelly on Nov 04, 2015 at 9:46 pm

I’m sweeping my garage getting it ready for this baby

• tinmilo on Nov 05, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Ya, and I also just bought extra charger and screen protector for the Key.

• Karipap on Nov 05, 2015 at 3:27 pm

So excited now. Shall i get dark tints? I just bought the tissue holder from ace hardware

• TOYota on Nov 09, 2015 at 11:44 am

Same here folks, i bought new pillows, to sleep more comfortably ,dunwan to get interrupted while dreaming driving this.

• lampu belakang macam camry hybrid je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Too boring to look at.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 05, 2015 at 2:56 am

This one I have to go have a look in the showroom, the interior looks good in the pics but I’m more interested to see the next gen 5 Series G30.

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Nov 05, 2015 at 8:56 am

You shall get a second hand f10 and trade in your second hand f10 to me at RM25k

• The ugliest 7-series ever made. Period.

• charles on Jan 28, 2016 at 11:37 pm

going to conference tomorrow to see this car and order