G11/G12 BMW 7 Series officially unveiled – full details

g11-bmw-7-series-0068

Here it is, ladies and gentlemen: the new G11/G12 BMW 7 Series. Munich’s luxury limousine is back with less weight, an avalanche of new tech and a new 740e plug-in hybrid variant to renew the fight against the Mercedes-Benz S-Class, Audi A8 and Jaguar XJ.

It may not look worlds apart from its predecessor, but the more-evolutionary-than-revolutionary styling belies the substance beneath. For instance, a ‘Carbon Core’ structure sees major use of carbon-fibre reinforced plastic, magnesium, aluminium and steel to yield weight savings of up to 130 kg.

As before, standard- (G11) and long-wheelbase (G12) versions are available. The stretched one is 5,238 mm long (+140 mm), 1,902 mm wide (unchanged) and 1,479 mm tall, with a 3,210 mm wheelbase (unchanged), while the standard version is 140 mm shorter, 12 mm lower and sits on a 3,070 mm wheelbase. Boot capacity is 515 litres (420 litres on 740e), and of course, foot-activated boot operation and auto soft-close boot are available as options.

g11-bmw-7-series-0051

Regarding lighting, LED head and fog lamps are standard; Laserlight with Selective Beam optional (range doubled to 600 metres). You’ll also find L-shaped LED tail lamps and wheels ranging from 17- to 21-inches. There are Air Curtains and Air Breathers, and the Active Kidney Grille actually features additional retractable slats to complement the lower intake flaps.

A two-axle self-levelling air suspension with Dynamic Damper Control is standard; options include Integral Active Steering (four-wheel steering, for xDrive only) and Executive Drive Pro (reduces body roll through electromechanical anti-roll bars, while adjusting dampers for road irregularities). The Driving Experience Control packs a new Adaptive mode – this adapts the car according to the driving style and the road.

Step inside to a familiar, but different office, featuring wood, leather and quite a lot of metallic surfaces. You name it, it’s got it – a new touch-screen iDrive 5.0 with gesture control, Bowers & Wilkins Diamond surround sound, a Sky Lounge panoramic roof (for LWB only, with six light colours), Welcome Light Carpet (projects a light ‘carpet’ under the open doors) and ambient air (eight fragrances).

Despite the new car not being much bigger than its predecessor, BMW claims class-leading rear legroom at over 1,120 mm. The front passenger seat can be slid and folded forwards, and specify the Executive Lounge package (for LWB only) for real back-seat luxury – you get a pop-up footrest and optional 42.5-degree recline, auto quad-zone climate control and ventilated massage seats.

The package also gives you a rear console with a retractable table and a removable seven-inch Touch Command tablet. Other enhancements/additions include a head-up display that projects a 75% bigger image, wireless phone charging and a new Surround View with parallel Top View, 3D View and Panorama Side View (monitor the car’s front and rear sides).

There’s a really cool optional key fob with a digital display called Display Key, through which Remote Control Parking can be activated. That’s right, you can get out of the car and manoeuvre it into a tight spot.

Now for the nitty-gritty. 730d, 740i, 750i and 740e variants are available at launch – all can be had in L long-wheelbase format, with xDrive available on all but the 740i. M Sport, Design Pure Excellence and bespoke Individual Design Composition trims are offered at launch. M Sport gives you a big-intaked bodykit, accents, callipers and wood trim in black, 19-inch alloys and anthracite headlining.

The 730d gets a 3.0 litre turbo straight-six diesel with 265 PS and 620 Nm of torque; the 740i a 3.0 litre turbo straight-six petrol with 326 PS and 450 Nm of torque. The 750i is powered by a 4.4 litre turbo V8 that develops 450 PS and 650 Nm of torque, pushing it to 100 km/h in 4.4 seconds and onwards to a limited 250 km/h top speed. All engines are mated to an eight-speed auto.

Finally, the new 740e plug-in hybrid. This brings together a 2.0 litre turbo four-cylinder petrol, a 95 PS electric motor and a lithium-ion battery for a 326 PS total, a 5.5 second century sprint time and a top speed in excess of 240 km/h. The 740e claims to be capable of 2.1 litres per 100 km and a 40 km electric-only range. Electric-only driving is possible up to 120 km/h.

BMW 7 Series

BMW 7 Series M Sport

BMW 740e plug-in hybrid

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kereta_lembu on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:27 am

OMG…Toyota Camry butt. How sexy is that???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • Beng P1boy on Jun 11, 2015 at 12:21 pm

So true camry and this bmw7 are dust.

No challenge at all to our Proton Perdana we going to let BMW know who we are and kick them ass !!!

DrM and proton to global and kick BMW out of this industry !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Yea. For the Proton drivers, they are already driving F22 on the road. This is called “The Power of Day Dreaming”. You need that to survive Proton’s ride and quality.

While Proton still testing their Accordana on Mars, these Proton folks can only keep on Day Dreaming, while Proton senior management/spare part suppliers (aka cronies) booking their 7 series this Saturday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • Colleen Yee on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:59 pm

I recently joined this blog and I see you posted so many rubbish and fake comment. If I understand well, you are umw sales man. Have 3 Lexus at home, son is using saga. Accept trade in of KiaK5 2013 model at RM25K ??

Why UMW sales man so free? Showroom is still empty? Why post all these nonsense?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
          • Ninja on Jun 11, 2015 at 2:33 pm

If you don’t know, some of the posts are not from him but someone disguise as him

• Beng P1boy on Jun 11, 2015 at 2:59 pm

And so true he Jelly over Proton sales still top in Malaysia…

UMW shit management and lousy marketing and only car for greed !!!

• 2010 740iL - RM170k on Jun 11, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Don’t waste your money buying new la. I just bought a Auto Bavaria 2010 740iL for RM170k last week. Brand new, it was RM900k.

In 4 years plus, the car can depreciate from RM900k to RM170k.

This G11/G12 same story. Wait 4 years, you can buy this beauty for the price of a Camry

• 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Jun 11, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Sam Loo (ori1) and Same Lorrr now got ZERO sales. They spend their time masturbating at home.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 11, 2015 at 5:40 pm

I am getting my 3rd Lexus and my son still using Saga. Does it sounds logical?

By the way, Toyota is a established brand. People comes to see if the car space and price fit them, they have no question about reliability, comfort, fuel saving, RV. Our serving time to sell a car is much faster than those Proton, kimchi or VW.

Yet Proton salesman still like to talkok under my name. No one even want to see their car, what to do?

• Cibai Yee on Jun 11, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Stupid same lorrr talk cock, you also talk cock. Why so interested he has Lexus orsaga? You very free read all his nonsense.for me, you him just same.

• You are same cb sam on Jun 11, 2015 at 7:36 pm

Another sales man from empty showroom made comments! Umw sales men talk big, pretend to be ao rich. Mislead RV. Arrogant. But in actual fact, many are struggling hard to survive.

• The Truth About BMW Malaysia on Jun 11, 2015 at 2:01 pm

This will be a failure in Malaysia like the last 7 series. The last 7 series sales were so bad. Cannot challenge S class.

The 7 series you see on the road now are all Sime Darby director cars. These are not real sales because Sime Darby owns BMW Malaysia and Sime Darby buys the BMWs as company cars for their VP1 and above staff. In a year, Sime Darby group alone buys about 1000 cars as fleet company cars for their VP1 and above staff.

That is the bulk of 7 series you see on the road. The remaining you see on the road are what the Government tells BMW Malaysia to sponsor. You see, Sime Darby GLC and Government will just tell BMw Malaysia to sponsor 20 units of 7 series for this G7 la, This Summit la, Langkawi aviation la, this conference la, that conference la and so on.

BMW CEO got no choice but to abide by it or else, habis la BMW Malaysia. Sime Darby will drop BMw as company cars and BMW will be very negligable sales.

Sorry to say, S class will always be the winner in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • Alan Harris CEO on Jun 11, 2015 at 2:29 pm

You are right. BMW 7 series at most 2 or 3 units per month. Cannot sell.

Very hard Malaysia. I made noise about B10 Biodiesel also, Datuk Lawrence from Motors called me in and scolded me.

Then Datuk Bakhe also called me and scolded me. Told me I will be sent back to Germany like this. I also better keep quiet.

• OMG…nothing impressive, boring and dull….puihhh

• applegreen on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:45 pm

There’s one thing that impressed me. Its the Gesture Control where you can customize functions. That means if you get a call and dont want to answer, you can customize it by giving up your middle finger infront of the screen.

• Abu Sayur on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:36 am

similar looking interior as the lower models…

• thedarkside on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:43 am

the rear design looks a bit like a camry…but still cannot beat the 7 series chris bangle designed for overall visual impact.

• spongewai on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:44 am

this car is fully evolution and gain more tech

hmm, Merc S-Class still new and Audi A8 have to wait another year or 2-year unveiled

• shawal on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:45 am

BMW be like ..
    ” here are the host of concept cars we know you all love and look forward to “….

” and here are the series production cars that looks like nothing we aspire to produce “…..

still waiting for a CS production model…

• Abdul on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:48 am

its tail lamp looks like a bit of latest Camry

• the new 7-series look stunning, but the backside seems familiar, much more like the new malaysian Camry. hurm…

• Same L0rr on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:52 am

Please sit inside Lexus ES and you will know that this 7 series is nothing. Lexus reliability just can’t be matched

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • Obviously (Member) on Jun 11, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Bring out the LS. Then talk.

• Erwin on Jun 11, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Please sit inside Mercedes S Class, Maybach, Rolls Royce, Mulsanne & Panamera, and you will know that 7 series & Lexus ES are nothing. like comparing a chocolate to sh*t. But still cannot beat Lexus in terms of reliability (sushi cars).

• 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Jun 11, 2015 at 3:47 pm

I went to UMW showroom, saw all the UMW salesman all playing whatsapp on their phones. No sales at all.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 11, 2015 at 7:40 pm

You must be thw kimchi driver who trade in your k5 to me at 25k. Serve you right. I will buy my 4th Lexus this month.

• First on Jun 11, 2015 at 12:02 pm

FIRST!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • CY Ng on Jun 11, 2015 at 12:02 pm

belakang looks like camry

• hmmm the interior is quite interesting but i guess i prefer the ongoing exterior rather than this latest one. Anyone agree?

• First on Jun 11, 2015 at 12:03 pm

first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • ada certain angle macam camry sket

• and to be honest…. i prefer s-class rather than this even though im a big enthusiast of BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • sammy on Jun 11, 2015 at 12:25 pm

I believe your honesty.
      If you say you like this, I would say you are lying.
      Not much surprise for the interior too.

The back, at first glance, reminds me of the current Camry with the vertical chrome cutting across.

• designersleep on Jun 11, 2015 at 12:12 pm

A Camry tail lights? Blurghh.. The design is too simple.. No wow factors as compared to S-Class..

• Mary Minah on Jun 11, 2015 at 12:20 pm

I just can’t imagine the not so rich buy this car and drive themselve without the chauffeur.NO class ma, though expensive car.

• Jimmy on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:41 pm

My friends and I love to drive.

RM2888 per month for an additional assistant is nothing.

I was about to say ‘never seen big snake ….. ‘.

• tinmilo on Jun 11, 2015 at 12:27 pm

I will be a proud owner of the new Camry… people could mistaken my car for a 7 series now..

• Nathan Ferdinand on Jun 11, 2015 at 12:40 pm

The tail lights somehow reminds me as an uncanny resemblance to a Toyota Camry.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 11, 2015 at 12:49 pm

M Sport does look a bit Camry like from the rear- probably should not be done in white but rather in silver or Space Grey.

But for me, this has a bit of an appeal to it. The first picture, it just looks so evil. Very German.

I would actually take the 7 over the S class for one thing, the 7 is understated while the S class is more flamboyant. I prefer the simplicity in the design to be honest, this would be a good sleeper car. Plus because I do drive my own cars, I would rather have a good driving car over the fancy looks….

This is kinda like the E38, simple looking compare to the W220 S class. It’s the similar thing all over again. Not to mention the addition of the 740e, if BMW Malaysia brings that in (which they should cause they would be mad if they don’t), we can finally have a nice road tax on the 7, making this very appealing especially in terms of price.

Perhaps a sub 480k 740e? It would make a perfect upgrade for those leaving the 520/28i territory and not want an X5….

Still, the darker colour gives an evil, dictatorial aura to this… I like….

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Its got road presence alright. But design wise, I still prefer the S Class, which just exudes class and sophistication. The S Class is in your face luxury, and you can’t miss it. The 7 Series is, as per other BMWs, restrained. But is that the right direction for a luxury barge? That is entirely up to the buyer.

• Julian on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Fuuny part from Malaysian ppl who comments are always butthurt and haters. When a new luxury car just launched, there must be somebody try to compare a top luxury with Proton la, Toyota la, What else? Most of you all cant afford so we just keep quiet and let the cronies enjoy the ride while we just enjoy the pic. Shall we? Dont be so negative guys.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 11, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Nice one, cabin looks nice and they took some queues from their RR brand so make it look exclusive.

I don’t think we will see many M-Sport models otr save for the loyalists who decide to drive it themselves.

The Welcome Light Carpet is also a nice touch! Can’t wait to see this launched here.

• Crasher7 on Jun 11, 2015 at 4:14 pm

To me, this looks a lot better than the previous generation 7-Series. Still wouldn’t pick this over an S-Class though…

• Crasher7 on Jun 11, 2015 at 4:21 pm

To me, it looks a lot better than the previous gen 7-Series, still wouldn’t get this over an S-Class if I got the money though…

• Buaya Darat Sam Loor on Jun 11, 2015 at 5:22 pm

WTF, can only fit two person at rear seat? My Lancer AKA inspira can do better than this lousy BM seat capacity.Pui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • albag on Jun 11, 2015 at 8:42 pm

guys, u dont have the money to even afford this, dont keep talking cock la…

• does anyone think it now looks like KIA???

• iiAMGPackage on Jun 11, 2015 at 10:11 pm

This is a really nice car to own, but you know what BMW stands for right? BMW = Banyak Masuk Workshop*.

*Unless you’ve invested the money for the maintenance. With the car itself. And insurance. And also options**
    **If BMW Malaysia brings out the option list.

• Jimmy on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:33 pm

LWB.
    Executive Lounge package.
    12 airbags, maximum protection for boss seats.
    No cost optimisation when it reaches Malaysia.

Good move, the 5-year warranty. Thank you.

• Class A contractor on Sep 06, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Nice car but cant compare to my audi r8 & lambo aventador..