UMW Toyota issues recall for Toyota RAV4 in Malaysia

2006 toyota rav4

UMW Toyota (UMWT) has announced a recall for a number of Toyota RAV4 models in the country over an issue with the seatbelt of the second row seats. This follows on the recall issued by Toyota Motor Corporation for Toyota and Lexus models affected by the same issue, namely RAV4, RAV4 EV and Vanguard models that were manufactured between July 2005 and January 2016.

Approximately 2,873,000 vehicles are involved in the global exercise, though the number in Malaysia is small – UMWT states that only 5% of the 500 units of the third-gen RAV4 sold by it are affected. These vehicles were manufactured between October 2005 and September 2008.

The affected vehicles are equipped with lap-shoulder seatbelts in both second-row outboard seats. The company says that is a possibility that, in the event of a very severe frontal crash, the lap belt webbing could come in contact with a portion of the metal seat cushion frame, become cut, and separate. If this occurs, the seatbelt may not properly restrain the occupant, which could increase the risk of injury.

Owners of these affected units will be contacted to inform them of the “special service campaign” for this issue, and will be requested to bring their RAV4 to an authorised service centre. All costs involved in the remedy will be borne by UMW Toyota Motor.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Recall means responsible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • karam singh on Feb 20, 2016 at 12:06 am

yeah, its coz of safety concern.
      this is big coz it can harm the drivers & passengers lives.
      better got power window issues than safety related issues.
      its been a decade then got recalled, not sure how much lives been robbed coz of this. informations are private & confidental. ‘Toyota eyes only’ .
      Toyota … Moving coffins
      cc sam loo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • karam = sink on Feb 20, 2016 at 11:11 am

Srsly, any lives have been robbed coz of this? Pls let us know if you know the stats. The issue was only discovered recently and they have taken the steps to rectify the issue. Don’t bash just becoz it’s a Toyota. For Proton, Exora burning issue has been happening many times but Proton never recall, now they admit it’s their oil cooler hose failure that result in engine overheating and ultimately car on fire? Is Proton hiding the truth before?
        So, Proton is… Cremation machines?

http://www.bhplus.com.my/node/77021

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • FYI, new cremation machine is vios thanks to jepunis quality fire causing power windows

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • john otak batu on Feb 20, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Can you show 1 pic of Vios power windows causing fire like the Exora on fire? Pls. If not, you only talkok and Proton still holds the title of… Cremation machine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Because the power window MAY cause fire, Toyota issue recall. While so many already died in Proton’s fire, yet Proton did nothing.

I understand Proton consideration:”people already died in the car, still recall for what?”

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 20, 2016 at 11:34 am

Recall may show some responsibility but don’t forget Toyota of the US for years lied lied lied and denied denied denied the pedal accelerator issue. Until and only when the US gomen threaten them, they had to admit.

In Toyota, it is the culture to lie. Even in UMW Toyota Malaysia. Toyota Japan knows that our cars are sold with no VSC and low airbags but they keep quiet. They don’t mind making big money from us Malaysians eventhough they sell low safety cars.

Toyota Japan dare not do this globally. They only do this to countries like Malaysia, Zimbabe, Uganda, Congo, Somalia etc where the Government is irresponsible or like in Malaysia, the Government got stake in Toyota.

Malaysians have no where to complain. In overseas, you can complain to the Government that a car company is cheating you with low spec safety.

But in Malaysia, you complain about Toyota to out Government, they tell you podah. Cause UMW is fully owned by the Government. Any court case you bring on UMW also automatically thrown out of the courts

In Malaysia, because of the fact that UMW is GLC and Government owned, UMW can do anything. In Malaysia, UMW is known as Al Capone or Mafia. They strip the Toyota to basic level and sell you the Toyota, which, in global standards are highly dangerous.

In Malaysia for example, even top of the range Camry costing now RM160k has only 2 airbags and no VSC. The global Camry, which only cost US$22k, comes with 10 bags, VSC and about 20 other safety features taken out from UMW’s version of Toyota.
        Why does UMW do this? Simple. They want to reap more profits at the expense of your life. How can we stop this? We can’t. UMW is the Government.
        So, as you know, in Malaysia, you cannot complain against the Government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
        • Bout hohh umw toyota is official car supplier to Party Hard. So means umw is crony of Party Hard.
          So u shud get ur Dear Leader to force umw toyota to gip safety at leeeassst on par with P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • john doe on Feb 20, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Only Najib will turn hard when he hears you supporting him and praising P1

• When toyota do recall is called responsible. When P1 do recall is call lousy quality, better kolos shop.
    Typical, hypercritical, double standards, foreign worshipping, anything malaysia do is shit mentality, malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 34
    • Rakyat on Feb 20, 2016 at 12:28 am

Proton the same lah, sell cheaper in export market and more expensive in local market. Why should Malaysian have single standard while Proton is having double standards?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Hahaha, good one. Can UMNO john answer his question?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Easy, RBA john @ Albert Yong.

Why is it that when pipu whack ur dear leaders, is called slander & persecution. But when the same leaders tells lies, its called fair comment & justice?

Try answer that one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • john bro on Feb 20, 2016 at 2:26 am

Typical 3rd world mentality

• Send to coffin not need recall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • only 500 units were sold in M’sia for 3 gens?…haaaa….lol

• Tricky on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:18 pm

Recall also means trying very hard to avoid being sue by consumers in future once investigation going through details then show that defect vehicle caused by manufacturers

• Sam Loo on Feb 20, 2016 at 5:15 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Toy hotak on Feb 20, 2016 at 8:02 pm

Toyota dunno how to design seatbelts? No FMEA (failure made and effect analysis) done to ensure good safety for consumers? And now only detect and recall? What a joke!!

• Plotong on Feb 20, 2016 at 10:32 pm

Proton fail to detect faulty oil cooler hoses lagi failure lah

• Toyota detected power window cause fire lagi failure laa…

• Suprimau on Feb 21, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Too bad the power window did not cause fire but Axxx who likes to play with fire got his @SS burn is a failure lol

• u can play ur Toyota power window switches see any fire or not bcos Toyota recall certain models said that Toyota car power window may cause fire… LOL

• Observe on Mar 03, 2016 at 7:59 am

Nobody wears seatbelt onthe second row