Mazda 3 Sport Black edition for the UK – 800 examples

Mazda 3 Sport Black Edition UK 2

Mazda UK has launched the Mazda 3 Sport Black special edition, which is priced at 20,995 pound sterling (RM119,184). Essentially a kitted-up version of the standard 3 hatchback, the Sport Black gains several visual enhancements to make the C-segment car even more appealing. Owners looking to modify their own cars, take note.

The Brilliant Black Sports Styling Kit fitted to the 3 includes a front splitter, side skirts, rear bumper and roof spoiler. When paired with the 3’s Soul Red Metallic or Snowflake White Pearl body colours, the new black-painted components lend a bit of sporty contrast to proceedings. Completing the look are black side mirror covers and 18-inch Dark Gunmetal alloy wheels.

Inside, the Sport Black gets black leather-suede combo seats as well as new floor mats. Standard equipment here include a Bose surround-sound system, reverse camera, keyless entry, cruise control, MZD Connect (with seven-inch touchscreen display, navigation and Commander Control) and dual-zone climate control.

Power continues to be provided by a 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G direct-injection four-cylinder petrol engine. The mill provides 120 hp at 6,000 rpm and 210 Nm at 4,000 rpm, with i-Stop idling stop technology present. To meet the car’s sporty persona, a SkyActiv-MT six-speed manual transmission is mated to the engine.

The Mazda 3 Sport Black will be limited to just 800 examples in the UK, and will arrive in dealerships there from April 1, 2016. In Malaysia, the Mazda 3 is offered in two sedan variants and a sole hatchback option.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I believe there’s a typo in terms of horsepower ratings. Only 120 hp from a 2.0 mill?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 30, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Yes, the Mazda 3 2.0 petrol is rated at 120 hp in the UK. In other markets, like in Malaysia, a higher tuned version is offered, which makes 162 hp.

• WTH! British pipu shud demo/Bersih against Mazda for giving them underpowered cars!

• HP is little but the torque at 210nm is good. Malaysians confirm will condemn the HP figures because it is similar to the Malaysian Honda City HP figures.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 30, 2016 at 4:29 pm

i am so impressed with Mazda. 4 years ago, they were virtually dead in Malaysia. 20 years ago they were famous with Mazda 323 and Ford (Mazda) Laser. Then, it completely died in Malaysia

Suddenly, they woke up. they worked hard and came out with Skyactive technology and became an overnight success. All their cars became hot demand the past 4 years now in Malaysia now

I hope the idiots at Proton wake up too instead of being in deep slumber and malas. Wake up Proton, be like Mazda. Don’t always ask for Tongkat lah Proton, do something. Invent something like SkyActive. Your engineers cannt do anything is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 23
    • Mañana na on Mar 30, 2016 at 4:36 pm

I think Proton 1.5 TGDi 180 hp 250NM > mazda skyactive 2.5L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • donkey j on Mar 30, 2016 at 5:20 pm

skyactive comprise platform, transmission to engine. Is delight integrate driving system instead of figure on the paper.

• Power on paper is not a way to judge an engine. Real life fuel consumption, realibility, the way it rev and deliver power is the key. Example, On paper, Tsi is good! But do you dare to buy? I doubt it

• U must have missed the history that 30 years ago, mazda was on the brink of bankruptcy with lacklustre models. Back then, they burned thru their resources to develop rotary engines which din get anywhere except for RX series (a niche market model). They needed Gov ‘donations’ to keep alive and later Ford ‘donations’ before they have stable footing.

With the cashflow from US, they used it as last chance to develop skyactiv, while their cars used Ford engines. That took them 10 years. If Japan had pipu like u then, b4 skyactiv becum real, Mazda wud have tapau by then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • Too bad proton operates nothing like mazda too.

• Never been to me on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:51 am

Mazda had in its history global success and globally recognized models. Proton never had any of that. Ever. The comparison is silly.

• I didnt make the comparison, someone else did. I just put some historical context into his/her comparison. Cheers.

• I think you got something wrong regarding the engine. If you research properly, you’ll find that Ford using the previous generation Mazda engine till now. They even develop their Ecoboost series based on Mazda engine.

• But it is not all good about skyactiv, in malaysia, the engine has 14:1 compression ratio, when you use Ron95 with lower quality engine oil, driving in the noontime it simply overheat…

• superdriver on Mar 30, 2016 at 4:36 pm

2.0 = 120hp, somethings not rite.Thats not sporty at all.

• There are co2 emission tax and other taxes in uk, and their fuel price is much much more expensive than malaysia(over Rm5 per litter), lower the car horsepower can lower the car annual road tax and also fuel save which is more cheaper to run.

• Operation Manager on Mar 30, 2016 at 4:47 pm

The driver seat just like a bucket, insufficient room for comfort sit & drive, even doubt if pregnant women could fit inside.

• Preve King on Mar 30, 2016 at 7:37 pm

120hp n they call it sporty. Balik la

• Battu on Mar 31, 2016 at 9:06 am

So they do have dual zone climate control. so stingy not putting that in ours.