Mazda 3 gets 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel engine in UK

Mazda3Diesel-03

The Mazda 3 will receive the carmaker’s 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel engine in the UK, it was announced recently. The diesel mill initially made its debut in the Mazda 2, which we took on a 1,000km+ journey from Bangkok, and on the Mazda CX-3 shortly after.

Power output for the 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel engine is rated at 105 PS at 4,000 rpm and 270 Nm from 1,600-2,500 rpm. The engine features a compression ratio of 14.8:1, exhaust gas recirculation and Mazda’s i-stop idle-stop system. Performance-wise, the car sprints from 0-100 km/h in 11 seconds.

The engine is available for both the hatchback and Fastback (Sedan for us here in Malaysia) body styles. When mated to a six-speed SkyActiv-MT gearbox, the engine emits just 99 g/km, and is capable of returning a combined fuel economy of 31.58 km/l. Only the hatchback version of the 3 gets the option of a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic gearbox.

Mazda3Diesel-04

Prices for the Mazda 3 fitted with the 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel engine will start from 18,895 pounds (RM120,347). The new variant will join the current line-up that includes models (hatch and Fastback) fitted with a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G petrol (100 PS), 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol (120 PS and 165 PS) and a 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D diesel engine (150 PS).

With the availability of Euro 5 diesel in Malaysia, albeit in select locations, would you fancy purchasing a diesel-powered Mazda here in Malaysia?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:00 am

Why we also don’t get this 1.5 TDi? It will save buyers a lot of money. If you pay Rm1000 per month on petrol, using this car, you will only use RM500 per month.

But our Government don’t care for the rakyat. They are more interested in Songlapping. Big man can songlap RM2.6 billion also, his own party still keep him. This alone shows, our leaders are not interested in ensuring we get proper and economical cars.

• Your reasoning is not so simple. Why was the TDi not brought in? Its cuz it needs EURO 4/5 diesel. Why would Berjaya bring in a model you cannot use.

Why only now got EURO 5 diesel? Its cuz Pengerang only now is fully capable to refine the diesel to that standards.

Why only now refinery started? Its cuz back then, it cost a lotttt of money to setup a refinery and the process to refine the oil. Since the fuels were subsidised and vehicles here dun need such high grade oil, there was no urgent need to do so.

I would say the Gov is only guilty for being short-sighted and not predict that eventually the fuels need to be upgraded, and to upgrade incrementally (EURO 2->4->5) is less big burden when going 2M->5.

Another big jump is actually from 5->6. This requires vehicles to have AD-Blue. So another big headache, but not so soon.

• Rennie A Ghani on Nov 27, 2015 at 7:15 am

Because it takes more to produce diesel and our goverment do not want more jumping into the diesel bandwagon! I agree with you that diesel efficency thrumps petrol engine anytime but since more is required to refine diesel, most petroleum companies do not want to do so with the current diesel prices

• samsul on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:29 am

Would have been better if this 1.5 engine was plonked
    into the Mazda2 due to its weight + size.

• karam singh on Nov 26, 2015 at 11:06 am

250Nm diesel engine got no problem pulling this Mazda 3.
      This car with diesel engine, a fun city car.
      Combination of Less FC & High torque is a formula for a good city car

• The diesel is available only in selected locations? That puts it on par with full-electric options – without the advantage of home-charging.

• StillWaiting on Nov 26, 2015 at 10:51 am

Bro Mazda….I’m still waiting for our 1.5 SkyActiv-D man..