SPIED: 2017 Honda CR-V – first pics of next-gen SUV!

2017_Honda_CR-V_2

This is quite exciting, guys. Here we present the very first photos of the 2017 Honda CR-V. That’s right, this is the next-generation SUV that will replace the current fourth-gen “Comfortable Run-about Vehicle” that has been a sales success in Malaysia and various markets around the world.

Luckily enough, the prototype here appears to wear the production body and light units, giving us a very clear look at what’s in store for us next year. As expected, the front will wear Honda’s latest corporate look, with a big open grille flanked by full LED headlamps, making up the “Solid Wing Face.”

Round the side, you’ll see a contoured body with an upswept window line past the C-pillar. It’s at the rear where the CR-V looks to adopt a more adventurous design approach. The wrap-around taillights protrude out of the bodywork rather prominently, while the trademark vertical elements are still present.

Two (small) exhaust pipes can be seen, similar the 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo-powered 2016 Honda Civic. Could the next CR-V get a turbocharged engine too? That’s very likely the case, as earlier reports have suggested that the 2017 CR-V will be built on the latest Civic’s base, with a downsized forced-induction motor under the hood.

It’s also a given that the new model will be larger than before, which is apparent here. Meanwhile, Honda Australia has recently indicated that the next CR-V may get a seven-seat option. If that is so, it’s likely to mirror the similarly-sized Nissan X-Trail’s 5+2 seating layout rather than having seven proper seats.

So folks, what do you think of this – do you like what you see?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Asian truly suck vol 2 on Apr 21, 2016 at 1:04 am

While Honda is progress very well in suv segment,Toyota or UMW to be specific is still crawling at drawing point under toilet bowl! No ammo to this unstoppable Honda.. Looks like 2017 still gonna be Honda year in bolehland!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 11
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 21, 2016 at 8:21 am

Time to change my son saga to this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Is why I never interested in Toyota or Lexus so-called concept car news. Could be just BS for years without materialize anything. Take Supra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Have you been living under a rock? The RAV4 (petrol + hybrid) has been nailing it in terms of sales in North America; the RX dominates sales chart, the NX helps push Lexus to achieve record sales in the Continent, and the new C-HR is hitting salesroom soon and is expected to succeed.

Toyota has always been the company with the most complete SUV line up. It’s just that UMW never bothers to join the battle even though they have the RAV4.

• UMW Toyota only sell non-VSC, 2airbag car.

All Toyota SUV standard specs got VSC & 5airbag at least.

• Sammy Loo on May 17, 2016 at 11:10 pm

standard? There is no standard spec.

Indonesia, Thailand not all Toyota SUV got VSC & 5 airbags, including India Toyota SUV as well

• Sammy Loo on Apr 21, 2016 at 1:22 am

although Honda’s Real Time 4WD is a joke, same for Mazda, Toyota, Ford, Nissan and Kimchis…but the brand and CR-V is too well established here.

5+2 seats will definitely getting more sales for the CR-V especially the potential X-Trail buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • FIST (Member) on Apr 21, 2016 at 7:32 am

The taped up front made it looks like the Tucson

• DPCraft on Apr 21, 2016 at 10:05 am

The front looks very kimchi. Hate it !! Current one better looking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Gogo Hadid on Apr 21, 2016 at 7:42 am

Mom’s taxi!

• Morning on Apr 21, 2016 at 8:28 am

Laju giler diaorg buat kerja!

• thomas on Apr 21, 2016 at 8:36 am

like honda BR-V were blown so big

• Looking good.

• Some say testing till the cows come home, but mana itu kereta….

• CR-V for the win on Apr 21, 2016 at 9:07 am

No matter what exterior and interior design of this Honda CR-V, it will sell like pisang goreng panas. You know why? Because Malaysians love Honda too much for the past 2 decades. No other car company can beat their resale value. You know why? It’s because they brand itself has been established to engage with people’s trust. It means reliability, low maintenance cost, fulfilling driving experience and the best after-sales service IN Malaysia. People want value from each ringgit they spent. I’m not a Honda salesperson though, but i’m just a plain average mid-income rakyat who enjoy driving a reliable car everyday to work or play.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 6
    • Thanx to DRB for taking care of Honda Malaysia so well.

• DRB is screwing Honda Malaysia. Since they joint-venture more and more customer complains on Honda Malaysia’s Facebook.

• Honda Fan on Apr 21, 2016 at 4:14 pm

What you have mentioned sound so good, but is that the reality? I like Honda cars and is still driving one, from experience the reliability of the car is worse than my previous proton. Just the last 3 months I have spent more than RM5K repairing my car, car spent many days in workshop, problem one after another. Honda spare parts are never cheap especially the Honda SC, eg. for power steering pump they quote RM3.5K when normal workshop can get RM1.1K. However, the original parts are still more expensive than other brands even getting from normal workshop. Honda service center at my place don’t answer phone call at all, want to make appointment or check for info, got to walk in. 6 months after I got the letter for replacement of the airbag inflator, I still couldn’t get a slot. Overall experience of owning a Honda is bad for me as compared to Nissan and even Proton.

• Elchino on Apr 21, 2016 at 5:00 pm

D airbag indicator light on d dashboard of my CRV lighted up recently & does not switch off. Went to Honda & tey say dat d SRC control unit is faulty & needs replacing. D part alone is $3,349! Wow! Tis is really expensive & I also hv to wait for d parts to b ordered as there r no ready stock

• True bro. My old Jazz Gd1 until now still damn solid and reliable. Never broke down at all.
      Drove all d way from melaka to singapore many times.
      It just kept moving on.
      Better than than their competitors.

• tokmoh. on Apr 21, 2016 at 9:23 am

Rear lights macam upcoming Volvo V90 wagon.

• applegreen on Apr 21, 2016 at 9:33 am

for our market there could be 2.0 NA or 1.5 turbo option

• DPCraft on Apr 21, 2016 at 10:02 am

Makes me appreciate my current CR-V more.

• looks like a complete new design

the current model is just too bulky

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 21, 2016 at 10:28 am

That looks more rugged than the current CRV due to the higher ratio of metal to glass, and a more upright stance(unlike the sexy curvy CX-5). I like this new CRV look better than the current CRV.

But just noticed the huge rear boot opening, from roof to almost the exhaust. That is one huge door! Very practical of course for loading large items. Problem is if you have to open it in a carpark with low ceiling, cos it might hit the ceiling. Unless, its hinged to the side – like the CRV from a few generations ago did or both sides like the Mini Countryman. Or its a double door ala the BMW X5: 70% open up like normal, 30% open down.

• Black Dog on Apr 21, 2016 at 10:41 am

When done in 7-seater, there’s always compromise on the 2nd row leg space

• ops..just booked CX5 2 weeks ago….

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:29 am

Time flies, the current gen still looks fresh

• lavenderguy on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:55 am

Can’t wait for this car to arrive our shores..expect 2nd half of 2017…
    I hope Honda Malaysia can put 6 SRS airbags on all variants…and yes, I would love to see a turbo charged SUV
    Hope the top range won’t go above 170k…

• Waiting for Proton to rebadge this CRV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Dual Exhaust CR-V?? Could it be another new vtec turbo engine under the hood? Just take my money already. If i have any!

• Tanjung on May 18, 2016 at 10:42 am

Went to Toyota showroom yesterday looking for fortuner to replace my odyssey 7 seated. Very dissapointed when the car was no VSC, no cruise control and the service interval will be 5000km only. Good move Honda…will loyal to you. Can’t wait this baby come to Malaysia