2017 Honda CR-V 7-seater to form “an important pillar” in Australia, with no RHD Pilot and Ridgeline in plans

2016 Honda Pilot

Chances are slim that Australia will ever get to see the Honda Pilot large SUV or the Ridgeline pick-up truck. The closest that future buyers can get – if they’re looking for a large SUV – is the next-generation, three-row, seven-seater Honda CR-V, that’s expected in 2017, CarAdvice reports.

“One of our big projects now that we’re working on is the next-generation CR-V,” said Stephen Collins, director of Honda Australia, while the seven-seat CR-V is “under consideration.” The director also explained that keeping customers loyal and having models that they “can grow in to or downsize to” is essential.

In regards to the seven-seat CR-V, Collins is confident that the option would help in terms of providing a solution for customers looking to downsize. This however, leaves the brand with the issue of “upsizing.” He disclosed that both the Pilot and Ridgeline are vehicles that he was hoping would make its way to Australia, but unfortunately, that would not be the case.

2017 Honda Ridgeline

“In terms of what’s available, probably the two gaps for us in the market as we see it, are a large SUV,” he noted, adding, “at this stage there’s nothing on that horizon. But I think we will continue to scour the world for an option in terms of a large SUV.” He explained that not having a large SUV in the product line-up is difficult, especially when it comes to retaining customers.

According to Collins, the need to have a large SUV was already made known. “Our Asian office, and the global product planning office, is certainly aware,” he said. “The question comes, you know, for right-hand drive markets, whether we can build a business case. At this point that’s not able to be done,” he revealed.

He also quashed hope that the Ridgeline would be introduced Down Under, “the prospect of a pick-up becoming available in the short term is not an option for us,” Collins revealed. On that note however, he stated, “the numbers show it. The large SUV segment is growing, it’s not going to go anywhere south anytime soon. And nor are commercials,” further implying that a large SUV and a pick-up would add value.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 15, 2016 at 8:51 pm

Honda Malaysia needs the 7 seater version too to compete with the Koreans.

• abcde on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:45 pm

to compete with korean? since when korean 7 seaters is the best selling in m’sia?

• 7 seaters on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:47 pm

i don’t think u r businessman…when u have invested millions in new model, would u just sell the car in 1 countries or worldwide?

• bring the pilot here..make it rhd

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 16, 2016 at 10:38 am

Quite odd Honda isn’t interested in bringing the Ridgeline to Ozzy land. I wouldn’t have thought they love these sort of things.

The Ridgeline isn’t a big seller anyway, so it’s quite odd they aren’t trying to get more sales.

• Ong Chee Boon on Mar 16, 2016 at 10:41 am

I kinda like Honda Pilot’s no-fuss, minimalist design (I am not a big fan of MPV and SUV, but it really appealed to me)

If i have my own family in future, i will get this one instead of korean makes. Sure they have fancy tech and accessories, but their design does not attract me.

• thailand real estate on Apr 13, 2016 at 2:28 am

It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this fantastic blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and
    adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and
    will talk about this website with my Facebook group. Chat soon!