VIDEO: 2016 FC Honda Civic test drive in Thailand

Two weeks ago, we were in Chiang Mai to sample the 2016 Honda Civic ahead of the tenth-generation’s local launch, which is just around the corner. You would have by now read our first impressions of the radically-styled new Civic, and here’s the official event video to complement the text and pics.

The new Civic looks like nothing else in the market, never mind the C-segment, and you can see the sedan’s fastback-shape and longer/wider/lower body in motion here. Plenty of character lines and sculptured surfaces too, in addition to jewellery such as the scaled LED headlamps on the Thai top-spec Turbo RS and the horn-like LED rear signatures.

The RS also features a gloss black winged grille and a full-lenghth raised spoiler, two local special items that we’re not getting. We will however get a range of Modulo accessories including a bodykit and a (more subtle) spoiler.

Like Thailand, Honda Malaysia will introduce a 1.8L naturally aspirated variant alongside the 1.5L VTEC Turbo version. Despite the latter grabbing all the attention and headlines, it’s the 1.8L NA that’s expected to take the lion’s share of sales. Both cars come with a CVT gearbox, which replaces the old five-speed torque converter auto. Fuel consumption and emissions have been improved as a result.

In terms of spec, Honda Malaysia has announced that all local cars will come with six airbags and an eight-way powered driver’s seat. We understand that VSA, electronic parking brake with brake hold function, Remote Engine Start and Walk Away Auto Lock will also be across the board. LED headlamps and 17-inch wheels will be reserved for the top Turbo.

The signature colour for the FC Civic in Malaysia is a new dark silver hue that’s lighter than Honda’s usual grey, as seen in our spyshots of the local-spec 1.5 Turbo undergoing a video shoot in Putrajaya. Also, read our full review of the Civic 1.8 and Civic 1.5 Turbo to find out how it compares against the ninth-gen FB Civic, Toyota Corolla Altis and Mazda 3; and check out our New vs Old FC/FB gallery.

GALLERY: Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo RS, Thai-spec

GALLERY: Honda Civic 1.8 E, Thai-spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Want to see how Civic perform 110km/h below 2,000rpm

• Want to see how it performs under heavy traffic jam, for hours

• Turbo sips fuel like lembu minum air

• john is otak batu on May 19, 2016 at 3:06 pm

ya, ya, whatever u say, u syiok, ok alreadu

• Operation Manager on May 19, 2016 at 4:00 pm

I cant see any good selling point on new 2016 Civic. (1)Honda engine famour with HIGH WEAR & TEAR; as its mechanically design need to ramp higher RPM in order to near competitor TORQUE (eg. Mazda3 Skyactive 2.0 210Nm) . The higher RPM the faster Wear & Tear and create MORE VIBRATION affected engine mounting & overall vibration. Thats the reason you can hear bunyi lembu on honda engine and many engine overhall at workshop. (2)The EARTH DREAM still the same as old VTEC, open the bonnet you could see a MESSY UNMANAGED of Honda Engine, tons of wires/cable link here & there everywhere (you cant find these level of messy engine design at TOYOTA MAZDA even P2). (3)Performance nothing to surprise, can’t even beat FORD, MAZDA, VW, etc… 1.5T even make buyer as WHITE RAT to validate the initial design for future imorovement. (4)1.5Turbo 220Nm the least powerfull emgine performance in market; 1.5 ECOBOOST=240Nm, 1.4TSI= 240Nm, even heavy the Civic but can perform better. (5)1.5T Civic petrol comsumption like drinking water (pair to KOREA fuel comsumption, but Korea turbo much much more higher TORQUE than Honda turbo) (6)The exterior design, FRONT & REAR like loose chemistry, cant match. Interior similar CITY design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
          • loler on May 19, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Hey, at least this turbo can beat proton’s CFE 205Nm

(only because of Punch CVT gearbox limitation, if not…lol)

• Another idiot who only know to look on the paper

• karam singh on May 19, 2016 at 10:31 pm

1)Higher torque, more tyre wear , even more slippery on wet road, more wear on mountings & bushes.
            2)Messy ? put on some fake engine cover.
            all car are messy, not messy = hard to work with, even the foreman curse so much doing your car.wires & stuff being hidden.
            3)Earth Dream – direct injection
            4)I put on my bet 1.5T can beat VW 1.4T ;)
            5)I bet more this car has better FC on highway than your Altis /Mazda 3
            110kmh.
            6)high rev ? Like common car 6.5k-6.7k RPM. less than that ? Diesel engine.
            7)roadtax – cheaper than your Toyota/Mazda ;)
            8)Reliability – more reliable than your VW
            9)Parts – easier to find than your Mazda/VW
            10)Safety – better than all your car mentioned.
            11)So far, this is the best yet turbo engine for normal car made by Japanese. I can say, this car more reliable than the VW 1.4T/1.2T/2.0T & Ford 1.5T/2.0T/1.0T

Dear Paultan, please compare this car with other turbo car like Golf,Focus,308 ;)

• Make sense on May 20, 2016 at 12:47 am

Lol..must be jealous non Honda SA. Keyboard warrior. Honda famous for wear and tear? Why care about how nice the engine looks? I have seen tons of Hondas around and I am pretty amazed how quiet the engine sounds, seen a few 3 – 5 years old vios starting to make cicak sound. Go to the new civic forum and check the fuelly webpage, it’s not a rare sight people are hitting 40mpg above. How’s that drinking water?

• Honda engine is really reliable..my fd civic(8years old) already clocked 180k km with engine sound still smooth like brand new car n fc comparable to my fren’s 1.5 myvi.

• joseph on May 19, 2016 at 2:24 pm

honda insigh hybrid already can get 110km/h at 2000 rpm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Ben Yap on May 19, 2016 at 12:26 pm

what’s the price of the new civic?

• Paultan also using a drone!! Nice 1

• industry insider on May 19, 2016 at 12:38 pm

danny you not bored of civic? everyday write same thing. pity you in office.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Make sense on May 20, 2016 at 9:04 am

Clearly the new civic is very popular and hence the high coverage. Anyway Do you pay to read paultan? It’s free dude. Why so much complain? Just skip the news if feeling eyesore.

• LimPek on May 19, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Honda designers are so boring these day.
    after the very ugly HRV’s tail lamp,
    this car tail lamp also look likes Ulra-Man too !!!
    |– –|

I love the old 80s to 90s Honda’s innovation designs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • john is otak batu on May 19, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Eh, Ah Pek.. still walking around telling everybody your bell bottom pants & big collar shirt “stylo-milo” fashion! BTW … don’t keep watching Ultraman too much… :P

• pininfarina on May 19, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Why they dun hire world class designer like Schreyer?
        Jepunis car gets worse and hideous, even p1 is improving

• firewalls on May 19, 2016 at 1:11 pm

eh how come toyota sales man in honda event or jump ship already?

• policeman on May 19, 2016 at 1:17 pm

There’ll be at least 10 units a month that’ll be reported stolen. Current Civic does not have many cases.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • john is otak batu on May 19, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Only retard steal Civic… waste of time & strength.
      Go for Jag & Ferraris ler!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Why use Vimeo not youtube? This Vimeo takes forever to load.

• PAPaya on May 19, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Enuff!! just take my money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Haha….. who’s that chick in 02:02?

• Shaun on May 19, 2016 at 10:57 pm

What a stupid video. Not even one clear view of the car. Got headache watching it, huh!