Two weeks ago, we were in Chiang Mai to sample the 2016 Honda Civic ahead of the tenth-generation’s local launch, which is just around the corner. You would have by now read our first impressions of the radically-styled new Civic, and here’s the official event video to complement the text and pics.

The new Civic looks like nothing else in the market, never mind the C-segment, and you can see the sedan’s fastback-shape and longer/wider/lower body in motion here. Plenty of character lines and sculptured surfaces too, in addition to jewellery such as the scaled LED headlamps on the Thai top-spec Turbo RS and the horn-like LED rear signatures.

The RS also features a gloss black winged grille and a full-lenghth raised spoiler, two local special items that we’re not getting. We will however get a range of Modulo accessories including a bodykit and a (more subtle) spoiler.

Like Thailand, Honda Malaysia will introduce a 1.8L naturally aspirated variant alongside the 1.5L VTEC Turbo version. Despite the latter grabbing all the attention and headlines, it’s the 1.8L NA that’s expected to take the lion’s share of sales. Both cars come with a CVT gearbox, which replaces the old five-speed torque converter auto. Fuel consumption and emissions have been improved as a result.

In terms of spec, Honda Malaysia has announced that all local cars will come with six airbags and an eight-way powered driver’s seat. We understand that VSA, electronic parking brake with brake hold function, Remote Engine Start and Walk Away Auto Lock will also be across the board. LED headlamps and 17-inch wheels will be reserved for the top Turbo.

The signature colour for the FC Civic in Malaysia is a new dark silver hue that’s lighter than Honda’s usual grey, as seen in our spyshots of the local-spec 1.5 Turbo undergoing a video shoot in Putrajaya. Also, read our full review of the Civic 1.8 and Civic 1.5 Turbo to find out how it compares against the ninth-gen FB Civic, Toyota Corolla Altis and Mazda 3; and check out our New vs Old FC/FB gallery.

GALLERY: Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo RS, Thai-spec

GALLERY: Honda Civic 1.8 E, Thai-spec

Tags: