GALLERY: Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid on show in Malaysia

Hyundai_Ioniq-2

Well, here it is. The Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid, which is currently on display at My Auto Fest 2016 at the Mines International Exhibition and Convention Centre (MIECC). To recap, there are three Ioniq models – the Hybrid, Plug-in Hybrid and Electric. First to the market will be the Ioniq Hybrid, followed by the Ioniq Electric and finally, the Plug-in Hybrid model.

Noticeable exterior features include C-shaped LED positioning lamps for the bi-xenon headlights. Hyundai’s signature hexagonal grille is also a key design element on the Ioniq Hybrid. The model on show is sitting on a set of 17-inch wheels wrapped in 225/45R17 Kumho tyres.

The Ioniq Hybrid sports a 1.6 litre Kappa GDI four-cylinder petrol engine with 105 PS and 147 Nm of torque, and the mill is mated to a six-speed dual clutch gearbox. The petrol engine is complemented by a 32 kW (43 PS) electric motor with 170 Nm of torque.

Said electric motor is powered by a 1.56 kWh lithium-ion polymer battery that can be found under the rear seats. Overall, the Ioniq Hybrid is capable of producing a combined output of 141 PS and up to 265 Nm of torque, and has a top speed of 185 km/h.

At the show, Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors is displaying its entire range – with promotional deals. The Elantra is offered with a RM14,000 discount, while the Veloster and Sonata get a RM12,000 discount. The Santa Fe is offered for RM7,000 less and the i10 for RM4,500 less.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Audi grille, Prius shape, City rear lights. Huzzah for korean designers! Such “originality”, not like lowkia P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
    • Philips Muthu on May 22, 2016 at 9:41 am

It is amazing. Hyundai just started about 10 years earlier than Proton. Today, Hyundai sells 10 million cars worldwide. It is now No 1 in Australia and in the US, it beat Toyota also.

Our Proton, yearly, cannot even sell 100,000 cars. That also, bulk of it is bought by the Proton friendly kerajaan. 10 million vs 100,000. What a big difference.

So, where is our Proton hybrid and Proton EV? Proton goreng to us that 8 years ago, Proton had spent billions to come out with the Hybrid. Until today, nothing also

2 years ago, Proton goreng to us about the Iriz EV. Until today, nothing also.

Pandai mintak duit rakyat, happy happy spend and have good luxurious lifestyle, but nothing to show until today.

• Dtctr on May 22, 2016 at 7:05 pm

Peria dupe tried to say p1 got huge market and hyundai kia established not long before p1

• Same L00 on May 23, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Why? Because Hyundai focus on selling more cars and Proton focus on begging more money from government.

• Huh? You said those look alike parts are original?

Go and meet psychiatrist

• Looks like an Audi..probably something to do with the European designer they have.. looks 100x better than the Prius, can’t see much similarity

• Operation Manager on May 20, 2016 at 6:45 pm

In Msia, u wanna go Green then u have to pay more… CAMRY HYBRID in US $27k(rm108k), MSIA(rm175k) = 162%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • DonkeyKong on May 20, 2016 at 7:03 pm

In the US, services costs are higher. Vehicle insurance is much higher. Income tax is also higher, having state-level income tax and federal-level income tax.

So, don’t just talk cock and pluck figures that suit you. Are you prepared to pay for expensive everything-else to have a few things cheaper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
      • Pakulupapito on May 20, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Gaji pon lagi mahal maaaa….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • Gaji mahal becoz they dun need to pay compensation when fire pipu 24hr notice. But OTOH u wud need to gip notice 2~4 mths when resign. See what they did there.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 21, 2016 at 12:15 am

12 months later, this car cannot even fetch RM10k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • Andrekua on May 21, 2016 at 1:35 pm

I offer you double, RM20k if you had one for sale 10 months later. Remember to call me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Sam neighbor on May 22, 2016 at 12:45 am

What is so proud of your son saga as compared to this high tech car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9