Hyundai Ioniq to make Malaysian appearance this Fri

Hyundai IONIQ (2)

The Hyundai Ioniq is set to make its first Malaysian appearance this Friday at the My Auto Fest 2016 event, which will run over the weekend at the Mines International Exhibition and Convention Centre (MIECC).

The production Ioniq, which made its debut at the Geneva show in March, is the world’s first model to offer three electrified powertrains on one dedicated vehicle platform – the Ioniq Hybrid, Ioniq Electric and Ioniq Plug-in. We understand that the Ioniq Hybrid will be the one visiting Malaysia.

“Hyundai’s Prius” is powered by a 1.6 litre Kappa GDI petrol engine with 105 PS and 147 Nm, coupled to a 32 kW (44 PS) electric motor with 170 Nm. The latter gets juice from a 1.56 kWh lithium-ion-polymer battery located under the rear seats. Combined output is 141 PS and up to 265 Nm of torque, with a top speed of 185 km/h. Pure electric mode can be used up to 120 km/h. The gearbox is a six-speed dual-clutch unit.

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors will also have its full local range at the show, with promo deals. The Elantra gets a RM14,000 discount, and one can save RM12,000 on the Veloster and Sonata. Discounts for the Santa Fe SUV and i10 are RM7,000 and RM4,500 respectively.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• H.City rear lights. H.Inspire front. Bravo for Hyundai designers compared to lowkia P1 designers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 45
    • korean cars design used to be attractive and innovative…why copy the boring Honda design? do u know honda copied the dated ford edge old model front design, now u copied honda pulak….alamak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • Same L00 on May 19, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Buy from me better, don’t waste your money on car depreciation.

• Fugly, p1 much better

• Still waiting for Proton hybrid

• Hyundai has been making good looking cars over the last few years. I love the new Elantra and Sonata, but this, sorry to say not so impressive.