Second-gen Audi A5 gets teased wearing full camo

Audi A5 Coupe camo teaser lead

Audi is only hours away from revealing the second-generation Audi A5 Coupe, but that hasn’t stopped the German carmaker from uploading more teasers of the car ahead of its global premiere.

Here, we get a view of the new A5 Coupe’s profile in its entirety, albeit wearing a swirly wrap, and positioned in front of a similarly coloured background. Squinting our eyes the best we can, we can roughly make out that the new car has larger intakes at the front, slimmer headlamps, and redesigned side windows.

Audi has also included a GIF teaser that highlights the new A5 Coupe’s line from front to back. The downside is, even though the car isn’t disguised in said teaser, a large majority of the frame is blacked out. From what is visible on the #NowThatsTheRightLine teaser, it appears that the coupe will have a more muscular and defined look.

Another teaser gives us out first look at the car’s revised cabin. Thankfully, nothing is blacked out, and we get to see the A5 Coupe’s new seats and part of the centre console. The latter hosts a new gear selector that follows the design seen on the Q7 SUV as well as the A4.

Just ahead of it, you can see part a control dial, which should be used to navigate the latest MMI infotainment system. Earlier teasers also reveal that Audi’s virtual cockpit will be offered as well.

The new A5 Coupe is likely to adopt the MLB Evo platform, which should see a significant reduction in weight compared to the first-gen model. The marque’s 3.0 litre V6 TDI will be part of the engine line-up too.

GALLERY: Second-gen Audi A5 Coupe teasers

GALLERY: Spyshots of second-gen Audi A5 Coupe

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 02, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Audi Malaysia bread and butter is A3 A4 and A6. The coupes you see in Malaysia are recons. But pity the owners of these coupes cause these recons have clocked over 200,000KM but when they enter Malaysia, it magically becomes 8000KM.

• Amanah on Jun 02, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Tease tease. mcm kete nasional

• As what those holier-than-thou bashers says:
    why need to camo here, camo there?
    Just release it lah, no need wait for Matt Damon come back from Mars!
    Same design as its siblings?
    No creativity at all.
    Sack the designer!
    Kompeni useless. Now kena dieselgate virus.
    Cannot trust one!
    Better kolos shop!

And somebody thought this was P1! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • john otak batu on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:57 pm

Ya, ya…. But the camo here never cost RM991.9 million like in the case of P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 03, 2016 at 8:39 am

it is not RM991.9, it is over RM15 billion the past 10 years and its millions per day losses.

Imagine, everyday losing million!

• But if u divide 999 million by 3 models, is only 333 million each. So still very worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • camo mahal on Jun 03, 2016 at 10:15 am

What? You think P1’s camo is made of gold ah? For 333 million, 111 units of buildings can be build assuming each is 3 millions each. It is bodo to give it to P1 to test camo

• Antivirus on Jun 03, 2016 at 11:21 am

Go back to your Proton article to defend your dear Proton lah. Stop trolling in other artciles

• Still a better tease than the close-to-non-existant Perdana.

• Optmr on Jun 02, 2016 at 10:35 pm

Check your eyes perdana being tested here and there!

• Apollo on Jun 03, 2016 at 9:45 am

Test here, test there but still not launch

• stupid on Jun 03, 2016 at 4:15 pm

what for launch? not like u gonna buy it anyway. Isnt that what u guys want? for proton to close shop asap?

• You stupid or what? If don’t want to launch, test for what? For Mamakthir own collection ah? RM1.5B loan just to stick some stickers on their cars? P1 supporters are really bodoh & bangang especially their leader, john