2016 Renault Koleos – Australian specifications, pricing revealed; four variants offered, from RM91k

2016 Renault Koleos Australia gallery 1

The all-new 2016 Renault Koleos is set to go on sale Down Under very soon, with official prices for the five-seat SUV now revealed. As we’ve previously reported, Australia will be the first to sell the Koleos globally, with a Malaysian debut set for September this year.

The entry-level Koleos variant for the Australian market will be the Life 4×2, which is priced at AUD$29,990 (RM91,489). Among the standard equipment fitted here include cloth upholstery, automatic dual-zone climate control, automatic headlamps, R-Link 2 infotainment system with a 7.0-inch touchscreen, rearview camera, rear parking sensors and Hill Start Assist

Moving forward is the Zen variant, which comes in both 4×2 and 4×4 powertrains. The former retails at AUD$33,990 (RM103,799), while the latter can be had for AUD$36,49 (RM111,435). The mid-spec variant adds on features such as an electronic parking brake, power driver’s seat, navigation capabilities to the R-Link 2 system and leather upholstery and replaces the Life’s 17-inch wheels with 18-inch ones.

The range-topping Intens variant is available only as a 4×4, and has a sticker price of AUD$43,490 (RM132,812). As you’d expect, the Intens gets all the goodies – Pure Vision LED headlamps, larger 8.7-inch touchscreen for the R-Link 2 system, Bose 12-speaker sound system, electric panoramic sunroof, hands-free power tailgate and a host of safety kit (Forward Collision Warning, Advanced Emergency Braking System, Lane Departure Warning and Blind Spot Warning.

2016 Renault Koleos Australia gallery 9

The entire Australian-market Koleos range is powered by a 2.5 litre four-cylinder petrol engine – essentially the QR25DE-k2 seen in the T32 X-Trail. The mill provides 169 hp and 226 Nm on the Koleos, and is mated to an X-tronic CVT automatic transmission. This will be the powertrain Malaysians get, although it remains to be seen if the 4×2 or 4×4 option (or both) will be offered.

The second-generation Koleos rides on the same platform as the X-Trail – the Renault-Nissan Alliance’s Common Module Platform (CMF-CD), which also underpins the new Espace, Talisman, Kadjar, Scenic. For right-hand drive markets, the Koleos is built in Busan, South Korea, whereas left-hand drive models originate from China.

Closer to home, order books for the new Koleos will open in August, although no prices have been indicated to us yet. Nonetheless, will you be looking forward to the arrival of the Koleos, and what equipment would you expect to be available on it? More importantly, how much are you willing to pay for one?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Leafable on Jul 29, 2016 at 3:59 pm

LOL! RM91k only in Advance countries, where’s they purchase power are 5 times larger than Malaysian. It’s probably going for RM180k when it reach Malaysia. How ironic. What a f-uped country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Latuk BN supporters on Jul 29, 2016 at 6:39 pm

If don’t like BN taxes system, you can go live in Australia !!! BN best government in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
    • Actually better dun bring it in. Otherwise pipu will say renault better koleos shop. So Gov actually plotek renault gud name. Bravo Gov!

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 29, 2016 at 8:10 pm

That is for the entry level car though, that lacks a lot of stuff.

Whenever you see these super low car prices, you forget the equipment levels.

Yes, you can have a Golf for roughly RM 85k. No, it won’t come with alloy rims, but with teeny tiny steel rims. Be glad that they provide those plastic hub caps. It also won’t come with, well, anything, it doesn’t even have FM radio. It will be missing 2 doors, have a manual 5 speed gearbox and 85 hp. If you want to make it decent, you’ll have to add in options, which very quickly double the price.

Trim levels in Malaysia are typically somewhere in the middle. They didn’t went all out, at which point you’ll easily triple the price of that Golf. But they weren’t too skimpy either.

Of course taxes do make a difference, and they add a lot to the car price. No doubt about that. But the difference isn’t as big as you’d think, once you go for similar trim levels (and don’t be fooled by trim levels on the manufacturers sites for the European market… those are merely a starting point).

My Golf, ordered and delivered in Germany, was more expensive than VW charges in Malaysia. It is a bit better equipped, yes, but it has the same engine and misses the expensive DSG gearbox (manual it is).

The big question is: Why aren’t entry level spec cars offered in Malaysia? I think part of that is the consumer… imagine steel rims on a non-Malaysian car! (Even though it’d be cheaper to order the car with steel rims and then buy after market alloy rims) And part of it may be the government. I think the government just says, a car of this segment needs to cost a certain amount. Regardless of equipment levels. They just won’t let it enter the market if it is too cheap. So manufacturers will try to select a few options to make it more attractive.

• Topkek on Jul 30, 2016 at 4:36 am

Believe me when pipu see there is lacking here and there pipu bash pulak. There goes to square one again.

Topkek

• When MY pipu compare Golf TSI and CKD Golf they say Najib tipu org, but actually CKD Golf is about the upper base spec in EU.

MY pipu only know how to complain. Thats all.

• Live within your means on Jul 30, 2016 at 10:48 am

I had a BMW 320i back in the UK, base price was somewhere around £25k, after all the heated seat, bluetooth radio, sports rims etc the essential stuff threw in, the price went up to £38k, that’s around RM230k with the exchange rate at that time. And you haven’t looked at the labour cost in the UK when you need to change your winter tyres or your engine oil, the first service with oil change cost me more than £200 inclusive of labour and tax, and at the end I have learnt to do it myself (like everyone else did). So at the end of the day the cars in Malaysia actually don’t cost much more, I just bought a BMW 328i pre-reg for about the same price I paid for a BMW 320i back in the UK.

• Thanks to that Proton creator who started all these mess, once this beauty arrived at Msia, price suddenly increased by additional RM150k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Comparo on Jul 31, 2016 at 4:37 pm

Compare with USA better coz we bolehland is developed country

• Sanjib on Jul 29, 2016 at 7:19 pm

disgrace – for example
    Australia engineer starting salary RM 180k – this car half the wage
    Malaysia engineer starting salary lucky to be RM 40k and this car will be 160k – 4 times wage

thanks proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Yeah the problem is wage. Compare with Aussie USA Japan Korea EU coz we are as rich as them