Hyundai i10 – second-gen facelift to debut in Paris

hyundai i10 fl 01a

Hyundai will be debuting its second-gen i10 facelift at the upcoming Paris Motor Show. The mid-life cycle rework sees the A-segment hatch, which premiered in Frankfurt three years ago, being enhanced with a nip-and-tuck job and having new active safety and connectivity features being slapped on.

External changes are led by a new Cascading front grille, which is set to become the new family identity for Hyundai models in the future. Also on, a new bumper design and round LED daytime running lights, while the rear features a reworked bumper, more refined elements to the rear lights, a new black inlay as well as round rear fog lamps. Redesigned side mouldings and a new 14-inch wheel design complete the exterior changes.

Not much in the way of physical change where the cabin is concerned, but there are now more colour trim options – buyers will be able to take their pick from red, blue, orange, beige and black interior trim colours. There’s a new seven-inch touchscreen navigation system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support as standard, the i10 being the only car in its class to offer such connectivity, the company says.

Two new safety items have been added, both based on a new multi-functional camera, and they are a Front Collision Warning System (FCWS) and a Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS). Elsewhere, mechanical revisions include a larger front bump stopper and a modified steering gear ratio to improve ride and handling aspects.

Otherwise, the i10 continues on with its three dual-CVVT Kappa engine choices that are currently available in Europe (a 66 PS/94 Nm 1.0 litre three-cylinder, an 87 PS/120 Nm 1.25 litre four-cylinder and a 67 PS/90 Nm 1.0 litre LPG three-cylinder). The BlueDrive model, based on the 1.0 litre petrol variant, includes a number of features to reduce fuel consumption.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hyundai oh hyundai, what has gone wrong? You guys are losing your design edge one car at a time

• ajibsheme2 on Sep 01, 2016 at 3:17 pm

comelnya

• Same L00 on Sep 01, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Sexier than the Iriz. The Iriz however is meant to be talked, not driven. That’s why you see so much praise on line but still so few people willing to pay for it. This is called typical Proton Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok style.

• tiadaid (Member) on Sep 01, 2016 at 3:39 pm

The rims & front fog lamp look like they were taken off the facelifted Kia Picanto.

And yes, I know that the Picanto/i10 is riding on the same platform, only different body styles…

• ATT: Proton & Perodua !
    Please take note of this Hyundai i10. This is how you produce a sleek, sporty compact car, with nice interior and tasteful colours. And this is only a Facelift !! Pay attention to the small but effective styling clues, especially the C-pillar. Thank you for your attention.

• driver on Sep 02, 2016 at 8:14 am

“sleek, sporty compact car, with nice interior and tasteful colours”?
      really? WTF DUDE LOL

• Side blades design taken from iriz kah? With hundai/kia, im not surprised

• farhanatan on Sep 01, 2016 at 8:00 pm

1st time stumbled upon someone saying other badge copy malaysian.
      that is an improvement!

• boooooo on Sep 02, 2016 at 11:22 pm

Nowadays they copy each other, including p1
        If you read it for first time, that means you dun use your brain good enough

• Nvr came to Msia.