SPYSHOTS: Next-gen Kia Picanto spotted undisguised

It was just only a few days ago when Kia officially teased the third-generation Picanto, which will be unveiled early next year, with several sketches. Thanks to The Korean Car Blog, we now get to see the new car in the metal ahead of its planned debut.

Appearing very much like a carbon copy of the car seen in the sketches, the Picanto’s details such as the U-shaped LED DRLs, wide lower intake, slim “tiger nose” upper grille, circular fog lamps and faux side intakes are all here.

Other notable cues include the eight-spoke alloy wheels, as well as coloured accents on the faux side intakes that proceed down the sills of the car. Although there are no shots of the car’s rear or interior, one can safely assume that both will be identical to what we were shown earlier.

The former will feature reshaped taillights that are smaller than on the second-generation model (TA), a more aggressive-looking bumper with a “diffuser” element, more angular rear reflector/fog lamps and twin exhaust pipes.

As for the interior, expect the Picanto to be a little more upmarket than before, where there is a dual-tier dashboard with the floating head unit curiously-shaped corner air-con vents and a three spoke steering wheel.

Under the hood, the Picanto should retain the current 1.0 litre three-cylinder and 1.2 litre four-cylinder naturally-aspirated Kappa II engines, as well as a 1.0 litre three-pot Kappa TCI turbo. The existing four-speed automatic, five-speed manual and CVT transmissions should also be carried over.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I prefer the current model.
    this new model lose its cuteness appeal in my opinion.

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 28, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Even old Picanto had more than 5 airbags and VSC. Proton should learn from Kia how to keep the rakyat safe.

Until today, Proton launches cars like the Ertiga with no VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • Hyundai-kia r king of copy. Now they even copy iriz yo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
      • Until today? Hahahaha you’re funny. What about Preve, Suprima, Iriz, Exora, new Persona? Obviously Ertiga is a rebadged Suzuki. VSC can’t be retrofitted into a car that originally doesn’t have that. You should blame suzuki. BTW where do you find a cave with an Internet connection?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rr on Dec 28, 2016 at 2:26 pm

RV is good?

• pengayuhbasikal on Dec 28, 2016 at 11:14 am

kenapa …rupa dia macam Proton Iriz jer ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • penguyahgulagulagetah on Dec 28, 2016 at 11:34 am

Iriz tiru picanto baru nie la..proton hantar Gangnam spy Kia kat Korea.

• Betui tu!. Klau P1 semacam org lain, basher akan hentam P1 tiru org.
        Klau org lain semacam P1, basher akan kata P1 tiru konsep org lain.

• Jeffrey Chew on Dec 28, 2016 at 11:38 am

like an Angry Bird

• Proton Iriz!!!

• Feather Angel on Dec 28, 2016 at 11:48 am

Copy paste from [[Proton Iriz]] eh?

• nimee on Dec 28, 2016 at 12:07 pm

IRIZ + AXIA fusion become NEW PICANTO…better close shop also lor

• tenine99 on Dec 28, 2016 at 12:11 pm

Proton Iriz DNA..hehehe!

• totoya on Dec 28, 2016 at 12:12 pm

Hi~ myvi sibling

http://www.perodua.com.my/media/ourcars/myvi/images/exterior/grille_l.jpg

• Meng meng on Dec 28, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Look like AXIA…

• question on Dec 28, 2016 at 2:16 pm

why look so angry

• Ben Yap on Dec 28, 2016 at 3:18 pm

darn! using this car for uber surely will end with 1 star rating from riders. too small and not good for luggage for any airport trips.

• Why would Uber drivers think of this car to start their business anyway?

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 29, 2016 at 8:07 am

I’ve used my 2014 Picanto as an Uber car before. Did several airport trips as well. The worst rating I ever got was a 3 star, and only because I had gone to the wrong place – nothing to do with the car.

• Donno on Dec 28, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Told ya… Lots of Iriz design cues found its way to the new Picanto. As long as Proton and now Perodua farm out their technical design to the koreans, this is bound to happen.

• Isham on Dec 28, 2016 at 10:19 pm

Why my car free?

• Bernard on Dec 29, 2016 at 3:18 pm

If it’s sold below RM30k, its value for money.