Toyota Fortuner gets EEV status, up to RM16k cheaper

With Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) status comes lower prices, which carmakers tend to pass on to customers, making the product more competitive. The latest model to reap the incentive provided under the National Automotive Policy is the Toyota Fortuner, which gets price reductions of up to RM16,100.

The diesel-powered Fortuner 2.4 VRZ 4×4 was launched by UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) in May 2016 with a price tag of RM186,900. With a new EEV price of RM175,400 OTR with insurance, it’s savings of RM11,500. The petrol-powered Fortuner 2.7 SRZ 4×4 goes from RM199,900 to RM183,800, a reduction of RM16,100. The new prices come into effect today.

“We are grateful to the Malaysian government for recognising the Toyota Fortuner as an EEV. Since the announcement of the current NAP in January 2014, UMWT has strived to support the policy and assembling EEVs demonstrates our commitment. We are working closely with Toyota Motor Corporation to identify future models which can be assembled locally and meet the EEV criteria,” said Akio Takeyama, deputy chairman of UMWT.

“Besides meeting criteria relating to the fuel efficiency of the model, qualifying for EEV incentives also encompasses the level of investment made, transfer of technology, localisation of components, and economic contribution to the nation,” added UMWT president Ravindran Kurusamy.

UMWT says that the Fortuner is now the most affordable 4×4 SUV in its class. It is the fourth Toyota model assembled in Malaysia to gain EEV status after the Camry, Vios and the recently-launched Innova.

For Malaysia, UMWT has specced the 150 PS/400 Nm diesel to be the entry-level model, next to the 166 PS/245 Nm petrol with all the bells and whistles. Kit that separates both include bi-LED headlamps, LED DRLs, 18-inch rims, leather, Optitron meters, powered driver’s seat and auto air con. Compare price and specs in detail at CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Fortuner 2.7 SRZ

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Fortuner 2.4 VRZ

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• applegreen on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:08 am

Actually there’s nothing to shout about. Previous top-spec fortuner price around rm186k and then nobody wanna buy new fortuner at rm199k. Then they decreased the price yesterday at rm184k. Basically the reduce price is around rm3k only not rm16k. UMW can’t fool car enthusiast :p

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 10
    • Thgrin on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:24 am

But honestly the specs and upgrades are really too impressive to be priced at the same level. Look like two complete different cars based on my experience with a family member who had both old and new. With EEV, it does make the spec to price ratio quite convincing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:52 am

Even in 2017 and even in a RM175k car, UMW cannot give VSC for our safety. This alone shows what a palat company it is who only cares about untung and not about our safety

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 9
        • Nobody wants ur toyota junks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
          • Nazee on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:49 am

what a blardy joke. eev haha. well the whole car is a joke, for that price what are we getting? truck platform without any benefit of modern safety. pls look at those knobs/dials, leftover from iswara/wira era?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
          • Gopinabalan Muthiah on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:37 pm

Better choise than any other competitors.This fortuner makes all other SUV and crossover similar to proton.Worth for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
          • viosfan on Jan 10, 2017 at 1:19 pm

Nobody wants Toyota sampan handling, how to even compare with proton?

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 09, 2017 at 3:29 pm

My bill of quantity excel model indicates that the Proton Ertiga is more value for money than the Fortuner. More local content, more jobs for our people and good for economic growth because no capital outflow. We must support our gov. Gov 1st, country 2nd and religion 3rd, as taught in PLKN and BTN camps – Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Kunta Kinte on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:35 am

Another conjob. Sales are near ZERO. Suddenly, like magic, they say got EEV status.

Realy liars. Should have given EEV status in the beginning. How come suddenly got EEV status?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 5
    • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:39 am

Toyota customers, don’t y’all feel cheated already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • Gopinabalan Muthiah on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:15 pm

Toyota is no 1 in the world.With the reduction of price it give more people a chance to buy Toyota and feel the different between budget and cheap brand with super brand like Toyota.2017 will be great for UMW to make Toyota be no 1 in Malaysia.Time to dump your proton now.Toyota is king,proton for losers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 54
      • Loser Salesman have too much free time! on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:37 pm

Everyone can see you are a Toyota salesman. Pfft! Comparing Toyota to Proton to make your Toyota looks good. Why don’t compare against Honda, which is killing your beloved Toyota in the sales chart?

• tokmoh. on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:09 am

>rm175k
    >Still no VSC

Kek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
    • GeneralHoho on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:22 am

Lots of safety features aren’t included in the 2.4L spec.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:38 am

OMG a RM175k car also got no VSC? Are you serious?

In an accident, hospital bills alone will be RM500k. So, I save RM16k but I pay RM500k to SJMC or Pantai Hospital.

Remember, Malaysian Gomen said with VSC, 45% of all accidents and deaths CAN be prevented.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • tokmoh. on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:03 am

Rm175k 2.4L diesel only got 3 airbags and ABS.

The ultimate waterfish car. U can only be stupid to buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • javfan on Jan 09, 2017 at 2:44 pm

why do malaysians need VSC and other safety features so much when signal indicator also they don’t know how to use? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
          • Maybe they need those precisely because they don’t signal and drive like they’ve bought the roads too. No amount of safety equipment is gonna save the dum-dums.

• Gopinabalan Muthiah on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:17 pm

You already dead no need to pay lah.You kena pay 500k afterlife kah?

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 09, 2017 at 4:20 pm

you nothing up there? Not all accidents people die lah. Most accidents, people live to pay fat hospital bills

• Loser Salesman have too much free time! on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:40 pm

So you better pray hard then that you will die swiftly when you got involved in an accident in one of the many VSC-less Toyota deathtraps.

• safety 1st on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:15 am

2.4diesel 150/400 only? kia/hyundai can give better power than that at 197/440….but hey its a toyota…good resale value haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • cendol (Member) on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:26 am

On paper, Kia/hyundai stats are very impressive.

On the road, it is a different story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • idealtech on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:53 am

Do your reading cendol. With that price, Santa Fe kills every nippon suv (yeah frame and ladder) with its 2.2 CRDi.

• Tanjung on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:27 am

Put VSC and Cruise control to 2.4 Diesel then we will buy…full stop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:32 am

syabas…but next month say myr drop so increase again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • thesedays it seems like if you throw a stone randomly, you will surely hit a car with EEV status..i use to perceive turbo (petrol/diesel) or electric (full or partial) cars je yg patut get EEV status

• camtakpro on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:16 am

Now when UMW Toyota can’t sell, their car will suddenly have EEV status.

Just wait for Altis, Vios & Sienta EEV status.

• Gopinabalan Muthiah on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:20 pm

All Toyota models sold out like hot cakes! 2017 will be greater for UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
  • Faiz Roslan on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:37 am

good initiative by the government to promote environmental conservation.

the reduce income by the government is a hit, nevertheless im happy the gov can take a more holistic approach into this. the benefits to the environment outweighs the $ that goes into the coffers. with an efficient government, no doubt the policy makers can make back the loss in revenues via other means!

syabas government!

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 50
  • VW Fan on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:38 am

How are big, heavy SUVs like that recognised as an “Energy Efficient Vehicle”?

Really beggars belief that it would be possible in my life time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
    • crash on Jan 09, 2017 at 7:32 pm

Agree. These large SUV especially the petrol powered variant drinks fuel like a thirsty elephant. Sooner or later, the Vellfire and Alphard will get the EEV as well even though the 2.5L petrol engine gets about 8km/L mileage on average.

• Simon on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:44 am

Something smells fishy.

How can a car like this get EEV status when it’s heavy, polluting and underpowered.

Something seems not right about the EEV qualifications. Maybe a loophole or something.

Honda no have? Nissan No have?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
    • camtakpro on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:19 am

Pay money and get your EEV batches. While stock last.

• kzm (Member) on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:10 pm

u can check here
      http://paultan.org/2014/01/20/nap-2014-energy-efficient-vehicles-eev-detailed/nap_2014_eev_definition/

• kzm (Member) on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:12 pm

http://paultan.org/2014/01/20/nap-2014-energy-efficient-vehicles-eev-detailed/nap_2014_eev_definition/

• Gopinabalan Muthiah on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Honda and Nissan not qualified for any status coz Toyota is king.Everywhere in the world both can’t compete with Toyota.They just copy and steal Toyota technology

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
      • camtakpro on Jan 09, 2017 at 4:51 pm

I know you are trolling.

Anyway everyone knows – price reduction (whatever the reason is) is all about bad sales.

Price increase (whatever the reason is) is all about sales being too good.

I can tell you Altis will suddenly get EEV status (right after an adhoc facelift II with free DVDAVN and reverse camera and TRD Sportivo bodykit, or ‘rebate’ all year round) when Civic approaching 10x of Altis sales or ioniq having 2x of Altis sales.

Oh wait, this is Fortuner. Just wait until they give VSC & 7 airbags across the entire range for no extra charge – heck they might be even cheaper due to having more CKD parts (yeah right).

• quattro on Jan 09, 2017 at 10:51 am

Pity the one who just bought before price reduction. Heartache to the max

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Early bird headbutted..

• Andrekua on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:14 am

If the bulk of 1.5L cars out there can’t get EEV, how did this get EEV… Magic~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • karam singh on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:55 pm

for 1.5 cars, the level to be certified EEV is different than a 3000cc car. or a SUV. go read.

one more time – read.

• cendol (Member) on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:25 am

My friend bought one few months back.

My condolences

• Gopinabalan Muthiah on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:25 pm

Praise to your friend.To show he don’t need discount to own a super brand like Toyota.Only poor people annoying ask for rebate and discount.You want a premium pay premium.or else settle for proton low quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
  • Elchino on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:25 am

I am still waiting for the 2.8 L diesel fortuner!

• Tanjung on Jan 09, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Me too….Please Toyota…How long you need the time to bring the 2.8 Diesel full spec to our shore???

• Zarith on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:45 am

UMW Toyota have to compensate earlier buyer that buying overpriced Fortuner in 2016 (Specification remain the same).
    Previous buyers please send enquires via official website

• Chong on Jan 09, 2017 at 11:50 am

Now that price has been reduced by a big chunk,UMW better equip the 2.4 diesel variant with better specs (or even better bring in 2.8 diesel).

• nabill (Member) on Jan 09, 2017 at 12:40 pm

Wd love to know y only now its granted eev status and not when it was first introduced…
    Discount or not, it looks horrible in the road, its soo tall, looks like its gonna tip over any minute…. I get the sorento anytime if im looking for this type of vehicle…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Ben Yap on Jan 09, 2017 at 12:52 pm

with that money, i will get a used BMW X5.

• Gopinabalan Muthiah on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:27 pm

Pay that much for second hand? Don’t be so stingy by using a used underwear.Own new one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • I would love to wear najib’s underwear. Probably its aura that gets him billions.

• @ Ben,

If one needs a real off-road 4×4, I would doubt they would choose a BMW X5. Again!!! not comparing apples with apples. These frame on ladder SUV are meant for from serious off-roading and can take a beating.

• Danny, i think omitting safety feature on last paragraph is intentional for the 2.4G ;)

• Price reduction like magic. Padan muka to early adopters/early buyers of the new Fortuner.

• Eev for a fuel guzzler? What is this eev thingy actually? Axia gets eev at 13km/l? Heck most b and c seg sedans can get that..

• Firdaus on Jan 09, 2017 at 6:33 pm

We need to know the criteria to qualify for eev.
    Every tom dick and harry are qualifying for one.

Maybe its the govs way of reducing car taxes indirectly.
    But me thinks the eev innova is still overpriced!

• http://paultan.org/2014/01/20/nap-2014-energy-efficient-vehicles-eev-detailed/nap_2014_eev_definition/

The savings u get depends on how greedy the brandholder is. Mazdas shud have gotten EEV status, and maybe secretly they are, with savings yet up price. So means more profits for them.

• Edwin on Jan 11, 2017 at 9:44 pm

Those bought earlier batch of fortune with hope that toyota is best no regards , but ended up been cheated, disgrace to toyota.