GALLERY: Toyota C-HR at the Singapore Motor Show

The buzz about the much-anticipated Toyota C-HR continues, this time down south. The compact crossover – which made its official debut last March – is one of the highlights at the ongoing Singapore Motor Show, and our man at the show, Gerard Lye, managed to snap some photos of the display vehicle.

Singapore will sell both the 1.2 litre turbo and 1.8 litre hybrid versions of the car, which went on sale in Japan last month. The 1.2 litre four-pot is the 8NR-FTS , which has 115 PS from 5,200 to 5,600 rpm and 185 Nm, available from 1.500 to 4,000 rpm. It’s paired with a Super CVT-i transmission with a seven-speed “sequential shiftmatic” mode, and a 4WD system.

The hybrid system consists of a 2ZR-FXE 1.8 litre VVT-i Atkinson cycle four-cylinder engine, a pair of electric motors and a CVT gearbox, the same combo seen on the Prius. Output numbers in this application are 98 PS at 5,200 rpm and 142 Nm at 3,600 rpm. The hybrid is available only in two-wheel drive form only.

Six variants of the C-HR – which will all feature Safety Sense P active safety kit as standard – will go on sale in the republic, the range starting with the 1.8L Hybrid Grade S, which will be priced at SGD63,800 (RM199,400) without a Certificate of Entitlement (COE).

The 1.8L Hybrid Grade G goes for SGD66,800 (RM208,700), while the Grade G with LED headlamps adds on 3k more, to SGD69,800 (RM218,100).

Identical variants for the 1.2L Turbo range, with the Grade S going for SGD84,800 (RM264,962), while the Grade G is priced at SGD90,800 (RM283,710) and the range-topping Grade G with LED goes for SGD94,800 (RM296,200). Pricing for the cars with COE can be seen in the image above.

The Singaporean market C-HR will be CBU units from Japan, but for other markets in the region a local assembly route – and a 2.0 litre Dual VVT-i four-cylinder engine from the Corolla Altis – is the likely path. Last month, it was reported that Indonesia is looking into local production of the stylish crossover.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hot dog on Jan 13, 2017 at 1:40 pm

Many peoples make booking on the spot !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • john is oatk batu on Jan 13, 2017 at 4:32 pm

But the COE price is more scarier than the car!

• Hot dog on Jan 13, 2017 at 5:46 pm

COE can brought over next car…or you hold it..lower don sell, year later price up you sell..some make SGD 30~ 40 k !!

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 13, 2017 at 6:33 pm

The car is cheap considering Singaporeans earn 10x what Malaysians earn.

Even with COE, for a Singaporean, it is far cheaper than what we pay in Malaysia.

normal ranking gomen servant in Singapore earns SGD$8000.

normal ranking gomen servant in Putrajaya earns RM1200

This alone speaks volumes. The Singaporean can pay off his loan faster than the Malaysian can even with COE included.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 12
          • Well said Kunta Kinte, alot of “ignorant” Malaysians don’t know about this, and some even use this to imply that cars are more “affordable” here, oh bersyukur la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
          • Singapore CEO on Jan 14, 2017 at 9:30 am

normal ranking SG gomen officers majority use public transport.. convenient and fast…save money no loan..

• Otak Udang CEng on Jan 14, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Singapore get hybrid but UMW don’t give hybrid to Malaysia.

With hybrid, sure can get cheaper tax with exemptions from Kastam

• Sam Prabanathan Loo on Jan 14, 2017 at 8:00 pm

Even if tax exempt plus EEV also it’s blardy useless, only in Malaysia as the ‘sucker’ UMW Toyota already pocket everything as their extra profit (eg tax exempt Camry Hybrid fair price should be RM110k – 120k, but selling to us at RM175k). Sucker will always be sucker.

• Hidup Najib on Jan 14, 2017 at 10:09 pm

Kunta Kinte, if you loves to compare Malaysia and Singapore please move to Singapore. Our nasi ayam is RM 5 but in singapore u need to pay RM 15. It is x3 more expensive, that why we can still survive. Singaporean everyday complaint they suffer so much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
          • Korean Fan on Jan 15, 2017 at 5:37 am

Kunta Kinta must be those ignorant Malaysian who always being fed with the green grass stories of Singapore.

Try to go to Singapore and bring back that 8k SGD and the go and buy your CHR. Then come and tell us your story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • Kunta Kinte on Jan 15, 2017 at 10:57 am

It is silly to calculate back. nasi Ayam is RM15?

Like that, let us calculate what the normal ranking Government servant in Singapore earns. SGD8000 is RMRm25,000

So can you see the difference? Putrajaya gomen servant still earns RM1200 purata.

So, you earn RM25,000, paying RM15 for nasi ayam is no big deal lah abang.

Think before you talk

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 15, 2017 at 11:04 am

Don’t forget COE follows you. Many people sell the COE with even SGD30k profit as it goes up and down.

So paying COE is an investment. Thus I am quite shocked that this car without COE is only about SGD60k

One a one to one basis, far far cheaper than Singapore

• kzm (Member) on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:44 am

U should blame boleh n foreign company pay boleh pipu small money. Do you think they want to pay let say RM5k for clerk?

• Only got look and shape, engine figure is really disappointed, 1.2 Turbo? oh my god. Toyota, can you give more in HP and Torque?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • thomasNOTMYNAME on Jan 13, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Wow 1.2L Turbo more expensive then 1.8L Hybrid… I’m f@#$k! or people mind set f@#$K…

• Matchy on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:12 pm

The word “turbo” only already worth more than hybrid!

• This “turbo” is to replace power and another “turbo” is to boost power. Know the difference.

• thomasISMYNAME on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:08 pm

good luck Toyota! hybrid are cheaper than turbo lol….

• thepolygonal on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:18 pm

Looks like Jepunis overlord sudah mari… hope Malaysia at least get the Hybrid version. This mini turbo version seems not that exciting.

• Eternalgl0ry on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:31 pm

Where are you paultan? i was here today. Lets take photo together

Toyota CHR rocks… I viewed it myself for like 30 minutes on the spot and omg if it really comes to malaysia.. price around 150k for top spec .. i sure buy… very futuristic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
  • Kesian org Sing, only rich can afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Hot dog on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:51 pm

SGD 90 K , for thems sap sap shui !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • kzm (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 4:00 pm

u are not Singaporean how u know they feel this car affordable? Do u ask them? Why not start by browsing Singapore car forum n read their comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • Hot dog on Jan 13, 2017 at 5:55 pm

My customers 30 % Singaporean car ..50 % malaysian PR drove SG register car.. 20 % are locals !! Macam mana saya tak tau.?
          Yesterday SG motorshow start , I was there oso…! You hv time boleh pergi tengok ! 200 biji more latest model car…!! Nice !

• kzm (Member) on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:39 am

I don’t need go they i have family that actually Singaporean. I just need to ask them. They don’t say that affordable.

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:04 pm

What do u expect,axia already RM250k.. CHR at RM450k consider very cheap.

• limpeh on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:34 pm

they are earning SGD and spending SGD.

Not earning MYR and spending SGD.

get your head out of your butt.

• They got retrenched and all jobs go to FT. Apa earning dapat? Spend in SGD got lah!

• Hot dog on Jan 13, 2017 at 6:17 pm

Some happy got retrenceh.. my fren work citibank kena retrench , got 12 months full paid… and citibank HR purpose him other job too! Another frens wife , service in HP. Paid 18 months …both are malaysian .
          My ex worker young husband and wife just got SG job as technician there ,husband paid SGD 1800, wife SGD 1200, with free hostel..
          Convert is RM 12000 …. ji la kat ! Kerja denga saya dua orang gaji RM 5000 lebih !
          Tat is why many malaysian morning drive motobike , malam sini drive vellfire !! Many are thems my customers . Tak masalah dia orang !!

• Hot dog on Jan 13, 2017 at 6:23 pm

Sorry young husband paid 2800 hehe !

• Tan Beng Ong on Jan 13, 2017 at 7:21 pm

Yes Hot Dog.We Singaporean give a life support to many Malaysian working here.Remeber if we fired them all,they Malaysian not even afford to buy motorcycles! Remeber that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • Really? Cuz we got so many job applicants that came from MY pipu who work in SG, some even from Sgporean too. All of them says no job for the salary they need to live there and those that have is given to FT, esp from Tongsan.

So u sure ur fren still got job kah? or maybe just wanna save face cuz kiasu?

• Tan Beng Ong on Jan 13, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Oh really? If SG recession 400k jb folks kena fired lah.If SG recession why our currency still strong? Who’s going to buy your exports? Poverty in Malaysia worsen in a blink of an eye.We earned the highest,buying properties and companies around the world.Best educational institutions in Asia,biggest and efficient airport and port.How many airports and ports in Malaysia?Still lagging behind us.If SG going down Malaysia and Malaysian going down deeper,mark my word.Funny when/if SG is down but still our foot slapping Malaysian head.Thanks for your corrupted leaders,citizens,system and law.Which part in Malaysia is not corrupted? All is corrupted to the core.Eat corrupted harammm money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Reason is cuz MY pipu still willing to take jobs in SG for peanuts, same with ur FTs. Meanwhile u still live in ivory tower hoping P*P will gip u jobs, but in reality all goes to FTs. Those that have brains alredi migrate out.

Alredi in recession still wanna high horse, i can only say congrats to u. SG pipu deserves it.

• Ur glorious leader is preparing to send womenfolk here as maids.

• Carlton C on Jan 13, 2017 at 4:05 pm

Ew…liddat ah? Singaporean people’s attitude so bad one meh? I thought we all friendly nationhood. As a Johorian, I always saw lots of Singaporean comes to Malaysia to pump petrol. What’s the point for having biggest oil rig but can’t provide ‘cheap enough’ petrol for citizens to pump it? Eh fun fact, I heard that in future several years Singapore is going to be flooded. Tan Beng Ong don’t you lemme see your come to M’sia eh. (Just kidding) We’re not doom, your attitude is doomed.

• azhar on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:09 pm

good design & engine but practicality still lag behind HRV..smaller cabin & boot space

• theanswer on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:22 pm

more to style instead of practical and usability. a bit disappointed actually.

• sabahan on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:59 pm

Oh My! the rear leg room so packed!
    outlook is good, but not as good as their advertisement.
    Interior is sooo Toyota, lame

• Damn that price with COE.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 4:07 pm

lol syukur harga malaysia masih murah

• Grandson toyota rush

• Aragon on Jan 13, 2017 at 5:15 pm

Is it just me or the back seat look kind of crampy? Are they on a fight with Mazda on who make the crampiest car most?

• danny on Jan 13, 2017 at 11:41 pm

car looks nice but the interior quality looks cheap. Have to see it in real life to compare.

• 12yrsold on Jan 15, 2017 at 12:59 pm

I believe the main reason COE is printed here is to show how much EXTRA SG is paying for owning a car in their efficient transportation System.

In other words, it is a COST for S’porean to OWN a car. Nothing more nothing less. It is Entertaining to read how a topic on Car/CHR/COE(CCC) can turn into a Cat & Dog comparison & argument among commentators.

• Mr.BottomLine on Apr 23, 2017 at 11:07 pm

Kinda shitty how ppl compare Singapore to Malaysia. Compare them with other 1st world country la donkey.

Still price wouldn’t justify value of the vehicle with its limited land to drive on. Easily above RM300k for a small engine Toyota? Haha… Sad case.