Honda City facelift debuts in India, now with 6 airbags

After Thailand, India is next to receive the facelifted Honda City, bringing with it a revamped exterior design and a smattering of added kit. The appearance of the revised B-segment sedan in the South Asian nation means that it shouldn’t be long now before it goes on sale here, with the order books having already been opened.

As we’ve seen before, the front gets redesigned headlights with standard LED daytime running lights, joined together by a new chrome bar inspired by the new Civic; the grille also gains a new honeycomb mesh and a chrome strip. The front and rear bumpers have also been reprofiled, while the wheels get new two-tone designs.

The VX and new range-topping ZX models gain LED headlights, LED fog lights, and 16-inch alloys, while the ZX receives a new bootlid spoiler with an integrated LED brake light and LED tail lights.

Inside, there’s new LED cabin and map lighting, plus a new engine start button from the new Civic. The V, VX and ZX variants are also fitted with a new seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system called Digipad, which adds navigation, voice recognition, Bluetooth and MirrorLink connectivity, 1.5 GB worth of internal memory, a HDMI port and WiFi support.

Standard equipment on the entry-level S includes steel wheels, fabric seats, a tilt-adjustable steering wheel and four speakers. The SV model brings mirror-mounted LED indicators, a multifunction steering wheel with telescopic adjustment, touch-operated automatic climate control, central locking, cruise control, power-folding door mirrors, a height-adjustable driver’s seat and front and rear armrests.

Stepping up to the V nets you alloy wheels, keyless entry, push button start, a reverse camera and eight speakers, while the VX adds an electric sunroof, leather upholstery and an auto-dimming rear-view mirror. The VX throws in adjustable rear headrests.

All models are available with a 1.5 litre i-VTEC petrol engine that delivers 119 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm – this mill is available with either a five-speed manual gearbox or a CVT with seven virtual ratios and paddle shifters. Fuel consumption is rated at 17.4 km per litre with the former and 18 km per litre with the stepless transmission.

Offered as an option on all but the base S variant is a 1.5 litre i-DTEC diesel engine, producing 100 PS at 3,600 rpm and 200 Nm at 1,750 rpm. It’s mated only to a six-speed manual, producing a fuel consumption figure of 25.6 km per litre. A number of new sound and vibration absorption technologies have been applied on the oil-burning models to reduce noise, vibration and harshness.

In terms of safety, all models get dual airbags, ABS with EBD and ISOFIX rear child seat anchors, with six airbags now added on the ZX. There’s still no stability control, however.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Rebadge as new Proton Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Safety worse than Persona2. Pui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 28
      • Mikey on Feb 15, 2017 at 10:56 am

When it involve Toyota, U use Honda to bash Toyota. Now when there is no T to bash, U bash H by saying City worse than P1. john memang boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • Jimmy on Feb 15, 2017 at 2:28 pm

Did u get into accident in both cars b4? I believe the time u accident in persona, u get a brain damage.. poor kid..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • With ESC, I can get away from eksidens that u get urself into the 1st place. Cheers

• Mikey on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:33 am

Podah. ESC is designed to help the driver maintain vehicle control & it is NOT a substitute for safe driving practices. U will meet an accident if U are reckless.

• Kelab Penyokong Kunta on Feb 15, 2017 at 10:15 am

Why have 6 airbags and all that but no VSC? Makes no sense. It is like a soldier carrying a gun with no bullets when he goes for war

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • amirad on Feb 15, 2017 at 11:56 am

Betullah tu. With 6 airbags no need VSC. The 6 airbags can absorp the impact energy should the car crash because got no VSC. If install VSC then no need 6 airbags because car will not crash and most unlikely the 6 airbags will be deployed. Honda dah siap calculate semua tu.

• Same L0rr on Feb 15, 2017 at 10:56 am

Buy toyota better.. Have VSC!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • Desiree on Feb 15, 2017 at 11:24 am

Toyota Hilux fail moose test even with VSC.
        Go youtube and check ;)

• nosushi on Feb 15, 2017 at 11:35 am

But those catfish design makes me puke

• For basic spec only, then okay. But for the price, can get Persona2 better spec premium and still got cash in pocket…

• Everything sounded sooo gud until the last sentence. W/o ESC, this is just another jepunis deathtrap.

Inikariland shud say NO to unsafe jepunis junks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rr on Feb 15, 2017 at 10:58 am

No VSC, but have sunroof. Oh my! Malaysia version no sun roof, no paddle shift, no auto cruise!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Sunroof, paddleshift & autocruise cant save ur life when in need. Anyways ur vios keli has NONE of these either.

• More and more silent in car, more and more you will be disconnected to the road condition = silent death trap

• Hope_HondaMalaysiaImproveAfterSalesQuality-theUnlucky Owner n x-HondaOwner to be on Feb 15, 2017 at 10:05 am

Nice facelift, hope Honda Malaysia will maintain the car build quality, and improve the after sales performance. As recently Honda Malaysia has been concentrated too much on the pre-sales & sales, with the build quality dropped. Imagine u need to send ur car to service center from the 2nd week when you received ur car, and the personal in the service center keep telling you there is no problem, yet problem not solve and more quaking sounds occur.. (the unlucky owner).

• Mohd Affandi on Feb 15, 2017 at 10:14 am

Come on lah, complain about no ESC.. what, is it that we have oil spills on the road everyday?

Is it that we need to drive like a maniac until we lose control?

Are we getting bad at driving until we need all these electronic nannies? Cars didnt have esc back in the day, and it was still safe to drive then. Stop complaining about no ESC, I dont want to buy.

Dont want to buy, then just shut up.

Toyota come out with a car with no ESC as standard, complain macam nak kiamat esok

Honda come out with a car without ESC, complain like isteri minta cerai.

on a sidenote:

Thank goodness for the volume knob!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 23
    • I bet ur the kinda person that dun buy life insurance and will never buy it. Pity the famili.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • Mohd Affandi on Feb 15, 2017 at 4:32 pm

Why do I need to buy life insurance? If I die, I die. I leave behind a legacy, a family. A name. Which to me, is more important. I educate my kids properly.

Do not corrupt the community with your logic.

Bash all you want. Yabber all you want. Go to the dealerships and place banners.

Want to be a safety advocate? then go out there and promote safety.

It starts with attitude.

Ada seatbelt, tak pakai. salah manufacturer ke for not putting in ESC? I don’t think so mr john.

Ada orang kemalangan,anak tercampak keluar kereta masa dia potong double line, elak oncoming car, langgar pokok, dia mati (tak ada insurance nyawa lagi). Salah kereta dia tak ada ESC ke?

Come on.

Car with no ESC not safe? Don’t drive then. You can have a car with all the belss and all the airbags in the world, but one fine day, you kena hentam with a car that does not have ESC, you mati, anak bini dapat insurance, apa you dapat?

It’s attitude bro.

STFU

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • So u buy insurance so that u have some protection when u need it rite?

But do u PLAN to use it? Of course not rite? Cuz it only works when u early afterlife.

So ESC is just like that. U dun PLAN to use it, but u will be very glad u have it when u need it. See the logic now?

So do u still think having a car w/o ESC is a gud idea in 2017? Esp when u have famili?

• Proton wira dah jual 1 juta unit. Masih lagi beratus ribu on the road. Rahsianya. Its not what u drive, its how u drive.

• DPCraft on Feb 15, 2017 at 10:55 am

But most people in India do drive aggressively, so ESC is good to have.

• Mikey on Feb 15, 2017 at 11:04 am

Excellent argument bro. Bashers do not argue with logic. When no ABS/airbags, they complaint. When No ESC/VSC, also complaint. I guess these people must be PERFECTIONIST.

• Unlike yous P1 basher, we safety advocates cherish our lives more than others. If its a deathtrap, we say its a deathtrap.

But I agrees with u, most bashers here only have basher logic. Not real logic.

• Mikey on Feb 15, 2017 at 4:04 pm

Are U saying most if not all Toyota is a deathtrap !!?? U just confirm my earlier statement about U as a Numero Uno basher of anything U dislike.

• Mohd Affandi on Feb 15, 2017 at 4:36 pm

He is.

Advocate of bashing

• Yes. I consistently bash all deathtraps, esp those purposely thrown to us by foreign overlords.

U got a problem with safer cars?

• Mikey on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:43 am

Don’t try 2 run away from the fact that U have just bash City here. FYI, accident is due 2 carelessness & speeding.

An ABS does help when U need 2 stop in case of emergency & steer clear from the object but ESC only works when U overstep your boundary.

ESC/VSC is designed to help the driver maintain vehicle control & it is NOT a substitute for safe driving practices.

U are the deathtraps if U are careless

• Same L0rr on Feb 15, 2017 at 11:40 am

Proton wira, satria,waja, saga lmts, orion, perodua kancil no VSC but still on the road man..

• Amriji on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:24 am

So they should stop being on the road. Don’t buy them. We should exercise consumer rights.

• Too much hype bro… hold on.. this is about launch at INDIA and not MALAYSIA.. Calm your *** down

• SoftbankSucks on Feb 15, 2017 at 10:31 am

At least VSA is equipmented in Grade E & V in Malaysia currently, so unlikely to be omitted in incoming FL (pray for standard across all grades like Accord and Civic), else these complains are getting more intense!

• Else, pipu will go back to vios keli facelift 1000X. At least that has ESC as standard.

• Faiz Roslan on Feb 15, 2017 at 11:12 am

Paultan how come you didn’t put the pricing? Be transparent to the public la. The price for this city starts from RM56k etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Tomyamland must be feeling very cheated now.

• Bash Basher on Feb 15, 2017 at 4:59 pm

WTH? PT is not obligated to put the price of the cars, nor it is crucial to us Malaysian readers. We can always Google for the price.

Before you ask PT to be transparent, GO ASK YOUR CLOWN GOMENS to be TRANSPARENT FIRST!

• If you guys had bothered to read the post right here on PaulTan.Org on 1st Feb 2017, you would know that all Malaysian Facelift City model will come standard across the range with VSA/VSC. Case Closed !

• Jong Tze Hiong on Feb 15, 2017 at 12:52 pm

The above car spec. (withour safty control) is for India lah, why bash .
    Om sure Malaysia spec. will include.
    Only pity is we don’t have City with iDTEC here.

• Kalyan on Feb 15, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Waiting for the lunch in Malaysia, any news when it is gone be?
    very disappointing and not sure why Malaysia didn’t have Touch Panel Auto AC in S+, E variant, only available in Top V variant. (S is base variant).
    Whereas in INDIA Touch Panel Auto AC available in from S+ onward, along with SUNROOF in Top variant.
    INDIA got 11 Models of CITY (Diesel and Petrol) Malaysia just 4 only petrol, way to go.

• wth!
    no vsc? they prefer the driver to involved in accident instead of avoiding so that they can earn more after from the 6 deployed airbag?! good strategy, this is how we should do biz guy!

• horrayooi on Feb 15, 2017 at 5:06 pm

Indian version have CVT with seven virtual ratios and paddle shifters. When arrive in Malaysia the paddle shifters missing. Low specification for Malaysians. Cost cutting.

• hmm looks like malaysia high spec is following india’s high spec with the led rear light.
    import from india? not thailand anymore? ^^

that rear light from side view reminds me of old vios