New Volkswagen Tiguan teased on Malaysian website

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has begun teasing the arrival of the new Tiguan on its official website. The Tiguan will later be joined by the facelifted Beetle as well as other limited edition models this year.

Based on the information gathered from the site, the Tiguan will be powered by a TSI engine paired with a six-speed wet dual-clutch Direct Shift Gearbox (DSG). That should point towards 1.4 litre unit with 150 PS and 250 Nm of torque that drives the front wheels.

In other markets, the Tiguan is offered in three trim levels – Trendline, Comfortline and Highline – though it remains to be seen what Malaysians will receive. However, the site states that LED headlamps (with DRLs) are a definite item, and previous spyshots also show front fog lamps and up to 18-inch wheels are available too.

As for the interior, the equipment list includes triple-zone climate control (driver, front passenger and back seat passengers) and Active Info Display (like on the B8 Passat) will be made available. An eight-inch touchscreen infotainment display could also find its way into upper trim levels.

VPCM only listed Park Assist as one of the driver assistance system found in the Tiguan on its site. The system actively helps drivers to 90-degree park, reverse park and get in and out of a parallel park. If the Passat was any indication, the Tiguan’s safety kit will likely include a respectable airbag count as well.

Sitting on VW Group’s modular MQB platform, which also underpins the Golf Mk7, the new Tiguan will be a locally-assembled (CKD) model like its brethren – Polo, Vento, Jetta and Passat

It is also much larger than its predecessor, being 60 mm longer, 30 mm wider and having a 77 mm longer wheelbase, but the increase in dimensions hasn’t brought about a weight penalty – the new car is actually more than 50 kg lighter than before.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• passion on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:49 am

thank God its 6 speed wet. they should never have tortured us Malaysians with the 7 speeders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Passionately VW on Feb 23, 2017 at 4:51 pm

Do you actually own a VW? I own a 7 speed, please exclude me when you mention Malaysians because I am very happy with my 7 speeder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • Cut Cost on Feb 23, 2017 at 6:21 pm

The current Tiguan’s gearbox DQ500 is better

• Operation Manager on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:05 pm

No matter wet or dry, turbo or super; all already kena bite by greedy VW dealers, remember the case past on facebook/blog where repair Quotation cost RM52k to fix some wiring faulty…

• Peggy Cham on Feb 24, 2017 at 12:07 am

Owning a 7 speed MK7, I will only replacing my car with the future 9 speed MK8. Works brilliantly

• Aeroheads on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:17 am

Bring in the 2.0 TDI engine version. 1.4 TSI engine too small and have problems with the turbo..engine not reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Dunno Safe Anot on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:53 am

That one dirty leh

• BeemerFreak on Feb 23, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Haha how you know not reliable? Their gearboxes always spoil before the engine has a chance to breakdown

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Proud owner on Feb 23, 2017 at 4:55 pm

1.4tsi having problem? You heard that from the rumour mill? My tsi has BOTH a turbocharger and supercharger. I never had any problem but only thrill and excitement smoking most of the cars on the road. Can you dig that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Peggy Cham on Feb 24, 2017 at 12:10 am

I bet you’re an uncle. Comparing engine cc with turbo punch capability is an old school tech knowledge

• Yup, i heard that too from a member of VCM. And damn it, only 1.4tsi, not enough ohm.

• applegreen on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:20 am

Better launch as soon as possible. If late VW must face stiff competition with the all new peugeot 3008, cx-5, cr-v

• Hot dog on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:53 am

how much ?

• thepolygonal on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:58 am

Well the selling point 1.4 TSI and Active Info Display :D

• VW_Owner on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:02 am

Nice Car. Love It!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • JasonT on Feb 23, 2017 at 1:39 pm

If they can give us the full suit of safety gadgets, may consider buying it. Like the Ioniq.

• sackthedesigner on Feb 23, 2017 at 1:59 pm

Same boxy design. Sack the designer!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • am saving money now. for me, this one is more desirable than forester, x-trail, cx-5, etc.

• passion on Feb 23, 2017 at 2:37 pm

once bitten twice shy syndrome has hit Malaysians for this manufacturer. it will take a miracle to regain our trust!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • German car on Feb 23, 2017 at 4:58 pm

Maybe only your trust. I am very confident with VW . Their CKD cars are totally reliable. Speak to real owners rather than fictious characters

• RM125,000?………

• In your dream. Current tiguan already 175000

• Peggy Cham on Feb 24, 2017 at 12:14 am

Even hard to get a Japanese with that price, this is Germans dude. BTW, you’re not thinking this as a same par as HRV right? Seriously?

• no, man. never want to think that tiguan is same par as CRV or Rav4 (same class though). because tiguan is definitely a level higher than those jap.

i think they will price it around 150,000. 125,000 is a wet dream haha!

• 1.4 TSi with DSG wet clutch.
    I want it.

• 6 speed wet ..i thought this gearbox usually paired with 2.0 tsi? 7 speeder dry with 1.4 tsi..no?

• VWPassatCC on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:35 pm

Please!!!! bring in the 2.0TSI with 6speeds wet ?