G30 BMW 5 Series in Thailand – 520d, 530i M Sport

The G30 BMW 5 Series will be launching soon in Thailand and Headlightmag has managed to get local pricing and specs for luxury saloon. The seventh-generation 5er, unveiled in October 2016, will be available there initially in two CBU imported variants – the 520d Luxury and 530i M Sport.

The 520d is powered by a 2.0 litre turbodiesel with 190 hp at 4,000 rpm and 400 Nm of torque at 1,750 to 2,500 rpm. The oil burner is paired to an eight-speed automatic transmission. Status quo here. The 530i comes with a 2.0 litre turbocharged petrol engine pumping out 252 hp and 350 Nm from 1,450 to 4,800 rpm, the same motor found in our 330i LCI. An eight-speed ZF automatic transmission sends drive to the rear axle.

The base CBU variant, priced at 3,899,000 baht (RM496,638) comes standard with 18 inch wheels, adaptive LED headlamps, auto high beam, Dakota leather upholstery, Comfort Access, a 10.25 inch touch screen (iDrive now with gesture control), the cool new digital meter panel and the fancy Display Key that was first seen with the current 7 Series.

The 4,399,000 baht (RM560,352) 530i is the sportier option, as it’s in M Sport trim. The usual M Sport exterior and interior (sportier steering wheel and seats) goodies apply, along with sportier suspension and brakes, plus 19-inch double-spoke alloys in a staggered setup (245/40 front, 275/35 rear).

Also included are the panorama glass roof, Parking Assistant, 360 degree camera view, paddle shifters, Harman Kardon surround sound system and a wireless phone charger.

Like in Malaysia, this is an initial imported batch for early adopters willing to pay higher prices. Thai-assembled G30s will follow. The latest 5 Series should be reaching our shores this year as well. Here’s what’s new compared to the sixth-gen F10, in video form. Full gallery after the jump.

GALLERY: G30 BMW 5 Series

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kelab Kunta on Feb 27, 2017 at 4:06 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 220
    • Matjava on Feb 27, 2017 at 5:19 pm

Betul lah “Banyak Makan Wang” =BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
      • basherlogic on Feb 27, 2017 at 6:27 pm

Typical jealousy statement. Work hard bro so one day able to own one of these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 48
        • Matjava on Feb 27, 2017 at 10:52 pm

Already own MiG car but BMW depreciate faster as kelab kunta explained.

• Boring samy on Feb 27, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Same old story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
      • basherlogic on Feb 27, 2017 at 6:28 pm

Yap! Same old story written by merc salesman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
        • merc salesman like to write nonsense and then do the “Refresh & Dislike”…

• Ur Kunta & Albert dupe dah kena permaban kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
      • Kelab Kunta on Feb 27, 2017 at 7:29 pm

john, basherlogic and boring samy are the same person. Why are you posting so many times with 3 dupes??

• Hehe. Based on the “Refresh & Dislike”, seems like I hit a nail on the head

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Dont be dumb la, nobody regret buying the petrol or diesel version of X5. Most of them bought by companies. X5e is for hipsters and cheapskates only.

• Dr strange on Feb 28, 2017 at 8:25 am

That x5 is 3.0 ler and the x5e is only 2.0. So the engines are not the same

• Sasha on Feb 28, 2017 at 2:00 pm

Only buy Pre-owned BMW. fullstop

• basherlogic on Feb 28, 2017 at 2:07 pm

Better buy Audi. More powerrrrrr

Audi real German car!

• Don't panic, Ringgit will bounce back on Feb 27, 2017 at 4:10 pm

RM1 = Baht7.8 (^^)

• Only an imbecile would say something like this. The numbers are completely arbitrary, you might as well say Malaysia is much richer than Japan… the truth is RM has depreciated against THB from 15 years ago (1:12) till now (1:7.8). You should never have been born. Next life you will pay for your sins of taking dirty money to promote corruption.

• basherlogic on Feb 27, 2017 at 4:17 pm

What a waste of money. I hope it does not come to Malaysia at those prices.

Anyway glad 520i F10 prices are dropping so much. I nego with a F10 520i 2015 model, accident free, done 30k KM for RM185k. Warranty still 3 more yrs left.

Better buy 2nd hand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
    • When can’t afford new, will always think buying new is a waste of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
    • BMW 520i on Feb 27, 2017 at 6:37 pm

With RM185k you can get a 2013 model at best.

• Kelab Kunta on Feb 28, 2017 at 12:53 pm

ha ha, that basherlogic guy is john in disguise. He is a compulsive liar. Ha ha ha….where can get 2015 520i that price????

• Mikey on Feb 27, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Since the latest 5 Series should be reaching our shores this year, why would anyone want 2 pay RM496,638(520d) or RM560,352(530i) for CBU ?!

Might as well get the latest Merc E-class that most commentators think it’s more classy beside the cheaper price & 9-speed auto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
    • Buy under company to show on accounts as expenses.

• Mikey on Feb 27, 2017 at 8:43 pm

One question sean. So U are saying if I am the director of your company, U will gladly allow me to pay 100k more to buy the BMW instead of buying it later isit ?! U must be the Best Boss in M’sia man. May I know which company allow such practice !!

• Big Boss on Feb 28, 2017 at 11:54 am

Yeah. Many company do that. You will not understand this.. keep working.

• Henry on Feb 28, 2017 at 2:44 pm

Your comment shows how little you know. For new company cars above RM150k the maximum allowable depreciation is only RM 50k over 5 years. Btw, a car in accounting terms is an asset and not an expense.

• Wow..nice

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 27, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Simply B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L

• question on Feb 27, 2017 at 7:29 pm

Same boring design until you cannot really differ between gens

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 27, 2017 at 4:47 pm

wait for 530e

• mattdamonfan on Feb 27, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Wait until matt damon coming back from Mars

• Dei Samy, after 5 years change battery for RM35,000 then you will complain BMW parts mahal.

• C. P. MOHAN on Feb 27, 2017 at 4:54 pm

Beautiful it may be but have but have to pass because too expensive or should I say not worth the price.

• C. P. MOHAN on Feb 27, 2017 at 4:56 pm

It may be beautiful but have but have to pass because it is too expensive or should I say not worth the price.

• The new E class suddenly looks very Ah Pek!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
    • Mikey on Feb 27, 2017 at 8:48 pm

If Ah Pek is indeed driving the New E-class, he is a rich Ah Pek. What is wrong with that ?! U have a problem with rich Ah Pek ??!

• Why would pipu buy this when there is better choice like Perdana?

• Rich Ah Pek drives Porsche, new E-class is for relatively poor Ah Pek and not the very rich Ah Pek.

• Mikey on Feb 28, 2017 at 6:30 pm

At least ‘Poor’ Ah Pek own/drive E-class. Better than U using BMW ie From Bus(B) to Motorbike(M) to Walking(W).

• Digidigi on Feb 27, 2017 at 7:47 pm

This car actually look better than new e class, especially exterior

• Sense on Feb 27, 2017 at 7:54 pm

Overpriced Overrated. Just when you thought E-Class is priced high. So expensive yet looked so generic.

• rich dad poor dad on Feb 28, 2017 at 7:41 am

Is it worth to buy a used 520d?

Now can see a bunch selling at RM130k-160k. On a 7-year loan, payment is about RM1900-ish, which is not too bad.

I’ll set aside RM10k per year on maintenance. Wise move?

• GT Fan on Feb 28, 2017 at 10:30 am

Good economical car. Very comfy and fast too. If you can get one under 5 years and low mileage you can still use its 5 year warranty and free service to change all the worn out parts.

• Not wise, look like better get the Vios. Not at BMW standard yet.

• Syok sendiri on Mar 02, 2017 at 12:01 am

Don’t know why John gets hard by insulting people calling them poor.

• Is it a sin to be poor, or a sin to be rich from taking regime money?

• Rich dad poor dad on Feb 28, 2017 at 7:46 am

I want to buy a used 520d. The price is more affordable now at RM130-160k, so paying roughly RM2k a month on HP.

Ill set aside RM10k per year on maintenance.

Wise move?

• Dpillai on Mar 01, 2017 at 7:50 am

I have owned second hand Bimmers for the past 15 years and now RM5-RM10 k is a reasonable budget to set aside.

As for diesel cars, with the B10 biodiesel issue, I’ve got my reservations.

Good luck.

• Dpillai on Mar 01, 2017 at 7:47 am

The Thailand pricing is crazy. My target retail price for the 530i is RM380k. Anything more than RM400k, I won’t even consider the car. Between RM380k to RM400k, depends on the specs.

The economy is slow. We may have our first real recession in 20 years i.e. since 97/98.

BMW Msia has to get pricing right.

Even at RM390k, the E200 CBU couldn’t sell and there are still 2016 units available for RM360k.

The reality is 70-80% buyers get the entry level 5 series and their budget is usually under RM400k.

It matters not than bmw only has the 530i as the petrol entry level. It’s still price sensitive.

Last year I was informed that the indicative price would be bmw RM360k to RM390k.

So anything above that would be utterly dissapointing.

It’s a buyers market. So don’t rush in.

And yes the 530e may be here sooner than we think.