UMW Toyota expands Takata airbag recall – 42k units of 2010-2012 Corolla, Vios, Yaris and Alphard affected

Local Toyota distributor UMW Toyota Motor has announced that its recall of Takata airbags has been expanded, this time concerning the front passenger airbag. In total, around 42,000 units of the Corolla Altis, Vios, Yaris and Alphard, manufactured between May 2010 and December 2012, have been affected.

As before, the problem is caused by a defective airbag inflator, which contains a non-desiccated, phase-stabilised ammonium nitrate propellant that degrades after prolonged exposure to high absolute humidity, temperatures and cycling between low and high temperatures.

As such, the inflator module could rupture when the airbag is deployed, causing metal fragments to pass through the airbag and into the cabin at high speed, potentially resulting in serious injury or death. The Toyota Motor Corporation is currently obtaining the necessary components for the recall, and UMW Toyota will notify owners to bring their cars to authorised dealers once the parts are available.

Replacing the airbag will take between one and three hours, and all costs will be borne by UMW Toyota. The company has also escalated efforts to notify owners about the recall, and as it is aware that some owners may not be contactable after the vehicles have changed hands, it urges owners involved in the recall to contact any authorised service centre, or call Toyota’s Freephone hotline at 1800-88-69682.

Owners will also be able to check if their car is involved by visiting Toyota’s Special Service Campaign website, using a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) checker. The Toyota Drive smartphone app will also have a link to the site and the checker.

The company is also setting up a booth, which will be able to conduct airbag replacements, at its Toyota Go 2017 events in April and May. The events will be held at various shopping malls, including selected AEON Mall outlets across Malaysia.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Toyota under UMW. GLC prihatin

• Ah Tan on Mar 31, 2017 at 3:05 pm

What about those Alphard that not purchased under UMW?

• Sama L00 on Mar 31, 2017 at 7:24 pm

No matter how old your car, we will change the anything as long as it is not safe. This is world biggest car maker’s commitment to the customer. Meanwhile, the wira and Iswara don’t even have airbags, so no need recall, and Proton said no recall means better quality.

• RavenAii (Member) on Apr 03, 2017 at 2:38 am

So Honda was the first to make a worldwide recall, which is their commitment towards the customer is better than Toyota, which only decided to do a recall in 2017. Eh?

• Albert Yong on Mar 30, 2017 at 7:18 pm

So so so scary. Already those cars had to VSC, now their airbags also don’t work?

That is like Nightmare on Elm Street.

• Lebih baik beli Persona2

• fucukerepot on Mar 31, 2017 at 11:41 am

Taknak Toyta, Honda, Perodua…Jepunis overlords kirrer pipu

• Kelab Pembenci Kunta on Mar 31, 2017 at 8:51 pm

No wonder the sales of Toyota cars are dropping. Outdated technology, overpriced cars and safety concerns.

• Merpati on Mar 30, 2017 at 7:53 pm

Model kenderaan Toyota mampu memberi ciri keselamatan baik dan penjimatan minyak.

Pembinaan kilang baru UMW Toyota juga akan menggalakkan pemasangan tempatan dan meningkatkan daya saing industri automotif tempatan sekali gus mencapai pertumbuhan mapan negara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Hahahaha… guess how many cars left after few years on the road

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 30, 2017 at 9:29 pm

Why everybody kutuk Honda over this Takata airbag recall but nobody say anything when Toyota is involved? Toyota demi God status meh?

• UMW Toyota, if you are reading this. Make sure your execution on this airbag recall are done properly and make sure your staff are well informed. Do not just publish for the sake of advertisement / marketing. My Alphard still waiting for the replacement airbag that promised to be replace in September 2017. 6 more months to go.

• quasar on Mar 31, 2017 at 11:46 am

Lol my exora is better coz no takata airbags inside

• Andrew on Mar 31, 2017 at 4:18 pm

Although Exora don’t have airbag recall, but it’s problematic car, my Exora breakdown 5 times a year and tow to sc repair for few week to month, last time I own Avanza have no problem at all. No proton car for my life. Next car I will back to Toyota.

• wow, now only start recall after soooo long

• Muthusammy Loo on Mar 31, 2017 at 6:39 pm

Echoed. Even my household’s Honda City (year 2013) already had airbag inflator replaced in the end of July last year (one or two weeks after parts availability issues resolved by Honda Malaysia).

Anyway, bravo to UMW Toyotaik, now this sucker only do recall after too busy counting their big fat profit all this while.

• Bryan on Mar 31, 2017 at 10:31 am

It’s just for show. My mum’s 2010 Vios has yet to get her driver airbag replaced since the ‘last announcement’. Reason/Excuse from service centre = No Parts available. Guess I’ll have to wait for another 2-3 years before she gets to replace her front passenger airbag.

• Soo dangerous…how abt those who bought grey imports Harrier, Alphard, Hellfire, Estima?????? where can they get the airbag replacement??

• My car was affected by the last recall in Oct’16. I have done multiple follow up with UMW but all they give is part not available. Imaging I have to drive this killing machine day in day out for half a year now. This is all you can do UWW? Switching to Honda….

• Andrew on Mar 31, 2017 at 4:21 pm

Honda also same what, I have few friends own a honda city that involve recall to change airbag, but until now sc still keep said no stock for new airbag. This is not Honda or Toyota problem, is part from Takata that part shortage, so u should blame Takata instead toyota or honda.

• You need to look at how these two companies approach these recalls. HM gives many updates to the public, have regional hubs and mobile units for part replacement, they even instructed the service center to only accept regular service at 50% of their capacity so they can speed up the airbag or part replacement. How I know? Because I read Paultan. You see a lot of updates from Honda but non from UMW. That’s the difference.

• keane on Apr 01, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Surprisingly, Toyota didnt get heavily bashing compare of Proton who may still massive bash about power window. Perspective people nowadays are kinda bias and judge by brand rather than test by themselves. No surprise if they even know about car?