SPIED: Perodua Bezza minor refresh – new rear skirt

It’s not even a year after the Perodua Bezza was launched, and already there’s a minor facelift waiting for it. Or rather, a tail-lift, if these photos are to be believed.

You see, when Perodua’s first sedan was launched, it came with a rear end that was quite steeply raked to match the rising beltline. That avoided the dumpy boot look that typically afflicts hatchback-derived sedans, but also gave those driving behind a rather unsightly look at the Bezza’s underside and dirty bits.

It appears that the company is getting around that with a deeper rear valence that extends below the bumper, with what looks to be a contrasting grey strip to break up the excess visual mass. Of course, with the pictures provided only focusing on the extra appendage, it’s quite difficult to see how well the design works until we get a glimpse of it in full, but it should satisfy those who have been complaining of the looks.

Other than that, there’s no indication that much else has changed, but a shot of the interior of this Advance version does show us a set of chrome-edged (previously silver-painted) air-conditioning controls that add a little bit of class to the cabin.

Expect kit count to be the same across the range, with this Advance model coming with all the bells and whistles such as 14-inch two-tone alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, automatic engine start/stop, leather seats, speed-sensitive wipers, front and rear parking sensors and a Bluetooth-enabled touchscreen head unit with Smart Link smartphone screen mirroring (Android only) and a reverse camera.

Safety-wise, all Bezza variants should retain dual airbags, ABS with EBD and ISOFIX child seat mounts with top tethers, with the Advance getting Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) as well.

No change expected under the bonnet, either – a 67 hp/91 Nm 1.0 litre 1KR-VE VVT-i three-cylinder engine and a 94 hp/121 Nm 1.3 litre 1NR-VE four-pot will almost certainly be made available, mated to either a five-speed manual gearbox or a four-speed auto (Advance is a 1.3 litre and auto only).

GALLERY: Current Perodua Bezza

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• It Still looks Damn Ugly

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 16
    • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 11, 2017 at 6:28 pm

Real bodoh company. Typical UMW brain. Not even a year launched, already got facelift.

In the first place, before you launched your car, your engineers and designers could not see it was tonggek? All your highly paid local engineers and local designers could not see it was tonggek?

Now how would the tens of thousands of buyers feel? now that a facelift has come about? They would feel cheated. Also their RV would drop.

Perodua should recall ALL Bezza sold from day one and do this cosmetic make up cause the blunder is rather obvious. And you must be fair to your existing buyers who gave you support by buying your car DESPITE it being a tonggek car.

World record broken for a car. Not even 1 year launched already got facelift.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 180 Thumb down 28
      • tokmoh. on Apr 11, 2017 at 7:35 pm

Janji tak payah pening, tak payah fikir, beli je Bezza. Jimat minyak, murah servis, enjin Toyota reliable, RV ada.

If buy Proton, hari2 pening, banyak fikir. Minyak kuat, servis mahal, RV tada. Design still buruk anyway, but their designers like to syok sendiri they’re already BMW, Volvo level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 98
        • Din know u can get internet in caves. Does Volvo still coming out with boxy 240s?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 32
        • Cendol on Apr 11, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Jepunis kulit kuning mmg bagusss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 29
          • Ais Kacang on Apr 12, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Proton kulit hitam tebal minta wang rakyat sendiri bagus kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 25
        • If Proton not at BMW and Volvo level, why would our minister said so? Besides, why would the Rakyat subsidise Proton if they don’t think it has any value?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • I Hate Left Sided Signal Turn on Apr 11, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Syabas to Perodua! It proves that Perodua listen quickly to the customers unlike the other brand that keep on jerking same old crappy CVT gearbox and loud tractor engine, not to mention still insist on left sided signal turn on steering wheel when 99.9% car buyers prefer right sided signal turn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 81
        • Mikey on Apr 11, 2017 at 10:03 pm

That is bcos Left Sided Signal Turn are perceived to be “Premium” like BMW/Merc. Hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
        • aiyo1 on Apr 12, 2017 at 9:34 am

sorry to say, but are you OKU, got no left hand to use left side signal?

signal left or right also a problem? you must have many problems in your life then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 19
        • Go see a shrink on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:28 am

Why are there so many chronic mind disease people comment on this blog? Left side signal stalk is standard fitted on Lexus as well, would you complains to Lexus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
          • Betol Tak? on Apr 12, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Lexus selling huge numbers globally of which mostly left hand drive market. No surprise there.

Lu buat apa bikin left side signal car kalau kampung sendiri right side signal car market pun tak laku? Bahlol betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 31
        • maXref (Member) on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:54 am

signal stalk, kat kiri ke kat kanan, bukannya ko pakai pun. Kecoh je lebih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
        • U can always use ur hand to signal like the old way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Kelab sakit mental kunta on Apr 11, 2017 at 8:56 pm

Now the back looks better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 43
        • coward john on Apr 11, 2017 at 10:34 pm

i hope proton also stop being lazy and work hard like perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
          • No, we work smart, not hard. Take billions out of rakyat’s pocket is faster than working like P2, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • Honda on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:34 pm

At least they are doing something to improve it. And they are no.1 in term of car sales.

Better than some company, cannot perform, and further asking for extra loan of RM1.8 billion Rakyat’s money. Right?

Also when going to repay that previous RM1.5 billion softloan of Rakyat’s money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
        • P2 no.1 in selling car due to kancil, then viva.. now axia. small vehicle segment which P1 or honda still haven’t join this category.

• leoRNado on Apr 13, 2017 at 9:48 am

Then u r wrong. During kancil, kelisa & viva time, P2 not yet become no 1. They become no 1 after introduction of Myvi where P1 also introduced Savvy con-currently.

• Finally they woke up, but with a hard slap! Typical dumbos!

• Ollie on Apr 11, 2017 at 6:31 pm

Pretty new skirt but still can see Underneath…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • Its duck ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
      • Shredder on Apr 11, 2017 at 8:43 pm

Persona with funny ninja turtle shape is far uglier.

But worst is Saga that pretend itself as the ultimate Asian BMW 3-series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 29
        • Amongst them, Saga3 is the best looking. And Persona2, while ungainly, dun have anything sore that sticks out. Biza is just butt ugly- and I mean, literally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
        • no other cars in this world can challenge the ugliest of TONGGEK – butt up bezza, really beza indeed. period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
    • Perodua would do well to update the headlights with LED DRLs or at least some projector halogens.

• Maximus on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:40 pm

Very very ugly….. also the rear passenger seat is good for children only…..Too upright and low headroom for adults. Is P2 looking into this screw up too?

• Barang Naik on Apr 11, 2017 at 6:03 pm

Perhaps another “excuses” or “gimmick” to increase the price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
  • So fast refresh after 1 year only? IF cannot sell, gip to me at special price so I can package it with my special package. At least can help clear old stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • Raja Celup on Apr 11, 2017 at 8:51 pm

Perdana also urgently need an all-new entirely redesign from front to rear in order to convince the rich towkays it’s worth paying Rm130k for a faux Jaguar. Otherwise it’s a pity that only Spanco is clearing the old unsold stocks from rotting at store yards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • With RM1.8B, it’s easy job. Proton can hire any designer including Jaguar designer to design the next Gen sexy Perdana

• leoRNado on Apr 13, 2017 at 9:56 am

ada lagi ka 1.8b?. my old vendor company dah 3 mths due unpaid!!..

• Kenya W on Apr 11, 2017 at 9:00 pm

That rear more prominent than Kim K’s…

• Mikey on Apr 11, 2017 at 10:08 pm

B4 U help P2, U should look at your own backyard 1st. There are so many P1 unsold stocks at your stores. Clear your own backside B4 trying 2 be funny bcos it’s not funny. Hehehe.

• Funny. What i have in my backyard is unsold alzas myvis and Bizas. But only Biza comes with my special package. U interested?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Mikey on Apr 12, 2017 at 3:40 pm

Don’t KELENTONG lah. The last i check, P1 is lying even behind Honda. Unless U don’t know how to differentiate between P1 & P2.

P1 should give at least 20% discount NOW otherwise there will be more stocks unsold by end of yr. Hehehe.

• If u dunno how to differentiate between a P1 showroom and a P2 showroom, then I feels soli for u…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Ex-VGM staff on Apr 11, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Perhaps only the advance version. Too early to refresh. Perodua is stabbing its own feet if it does.

• Unknown on Apr 11, 2017 at 6:59 pm

Based on the picture, with the rear bumper extended further down makes it look a bit ungainly. Then again, that what’s happen when you turn a hatchback into a sedan you cannot avoid that “tonggek” rear end

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • lalok on Apr 11, 2017 at 8:33 pm

New Persona showed the opposite. even with new skirts, the back still “tonggek”!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • BOYRACER on Apr 11, 2017 at 7:43 pm

This is what perodua calls new model?They’re going to launch it this weekend.

• leoRNado on Apr 13, 2017 at 9:54 am

baca betul2 la bang.. P2 Bezza minor refresh.. nothing to do with new model or facelift..

• Inkheart Returns on Apr 11, 2017 at 7:53 pm

Gearbox problem fixed or not? heard many customers going back to SC to get gearbox done…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Not Toyota Fan on Apr 11, 2017 at 8:24 pm

Finally, covering up that tonggek upskirt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • JB_KIA on Apr 11, 2017 at 9:09 pm

What next? Racing stripes? Or fake intercooler scoop on bonnet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Jepunis wording stickers on the body and jepunis learner driver plate on the rear windscreen. With this me and my koliks can promote as “Made in jepunis but buatan MY” (with my special package)

• Johnson Amigo on Apr 11, 2017 at 9:50 pm

undoubtedly the most unpleasant looking new car of modern day…vomit few times when bump into one..

• tada beza pun on Apr 11, 2017 at 10:16 pm

They should include replacemen of tyres to larger size too..

• Rear seat comfortable on Apr 11, 2017 at 10:49 pm

We want better rear seat!!

• Mark from Predator XR on Apr 11, 2017 at 11:39 pm

You call this a facelift? How Droll. When you take a look from the back throughout the interior and finally the engine, this thing looks nothing like a facelift as those same things fitted into place are still the same design!

• Skchow on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:58 am

That’s look a lot better, the first gen see through underneath rear bumper was a failed design. If not launch yet, please upgrade the tyre size to 185 55 r15. A very good city car to own at good price.

• Joshua on Apr 12, 2017 at 7:15 am

Also to note, back bench inclination has changed

• proton persona break light.

• it seems normal business for P2 nowadays to change ONE new thing, and then launched it as a facelift. for me it is a desperation. P.A.T.H.E.T.H.I.C

• Ben Yap on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:14 am

Kudos to Perodua for their swift action to rectify the bontot tonggek…

• Senyap on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:56 pm

Perodua is very proactive company in order to keep the sales higher. Target-driven attitude is what make a company stronger, bigger and no need to keep asking Rm1.5 billion cookies every year.

• WonderPets on Apr 12, 2017 at 11:41 am

facelift or not facelift, still better looking than P1…..

• camtakpro on Apr 12, 2017 at 11:44 am

2017 and still only Bezza Advance has VSC wtf.

Anyway it is still ugly and Bezza rear can be described by just four lines.

• sabahan on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:06 pm

i thought a photoshoped proton persona at first glance….

• cendol (Member) on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:06 pm

Myvi needs a new facelift too.
    If been looking the same after more than 10 years.
    oh wait

• passion on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:17 pm

banks charging 3.25 for local cars and below 3 for foreign makes. lower resale value it seems.

• Just another driver on Apr 12, 2017 at 12:55 pm

Wonder whether will it affect the aerodynamics of the car or not. Hmmm….

• who mentioned facelift?? p2 didnt mention facelift. why the angst against an update?? LOL

• fariq on Apr 12, 2017 at 2:40 pm

MASIH KELIHATAN HUDUH…TU JELA AKU NAK CAKAP…MAKAN GAJI BUTA AGAKNYA

• kiasu on Apr 12, 2017 at 3:47 pm

Does it come with AEB? No? Ok…

• Always Extra Bailout (AEB) on Apr 12, 2017 at 4:23 pm

No, Perodua don’t need AEB (Always Extra Bailout) that cost duit rakyat Rm1.5 billion per year.

• Proton still have the best looking cars. If Gov approved the RM1.8B, that would be great

• Husnuzon on Apr 13, 2017 at 10:12 am

Ada yang minat Perodua.. beli lah Perodua
    Ada yang minat Toyota.. beli lah Toyota
    Ada yang minat Honda.. beli lah Honda
    Ada yang minat Nissan.. beli lah Nissan
    Ada yang minat Subaru.. beli lah Subaru
    Ada yang minat Proton.. beli lah Proton
    Ada yang minat BMW.. beli lah BMW

tengok poket.. kalau cukup.. beli mana yang minat..
    kalau tak cukup.. tengok balik niat nak beli kereta untuk apa.. renungkanlah…

Semoga kita semua diberikan hidayah untuk bersangka baik dan tolong menolong sesama umat manusia..

• Hikmah on Apr 13, 2017 at 12:18 pm

Aku sokong dan tolong produk Perodua sebab Perodua tak pernah menyusahkan rakyat atau asyik pinjam duit rakyat RM1.5 billion setiap tahun.

• Muthusammy Loo on Apr 15, 2017 at 1:20 pm

Itu i setuju, tapi klu pandu kereta Perodua tu kena lebih berhati-hati, tengok depan, belakang, kiri dan kanan sepanjang masa sebab ciri-ciri keselamatan kereta Perodua agak kurang (tak boleh bawak laju sangat macam org bertelur batu sebab handling macam cikai). Bukan nak simply hantam Perodua, tapi klu berkemampuan, seelok-eloknya beli kereta yg selesa dan lebih selamat.

• kenny yeoh on Jul 03, 2017 at 2:32 pm

any 1 facing gearbox problem for bezza advance ?