F22 BMW 2 Series Coupe and Convertible facelifted

BMW has given its 2 Series Coupe and Convertible a facelift. Scheduled for market launch in July, the coupe and drop top sisters of the 1 Series feature revised front-end styling, a refreshed interior and more equipment. Munich has sold over 140k units of the F22, with one in three units going to the US market.

The 2 Series is now fitted with bi-LED headlamps as standard, with adaptive full-LED items and LED foglamps as options. The signature BMW twin barrel ‘eyes’ are present, but they have a hexagonal interpretation here – the new half ring LED DRLs are the easiest identifier. A larger kidney grille gives the front end a wider look, and the outer air intakes are also bigger. The rear end features LED rear lights with revised graphics.

Inside, the 2 Series sports a dashboard that has been lightly revised, with “a more spacious, calmer and clearer feel” as a result. New design air vents and centre console join a rejig that puts more focus on the driver. It includes dash stitching and new interior trim strips with chrome application, which also feature on the window buttons. The glove box has a new design cover, and the cupholders now get a sliding lid. There are more gloss black surfaces.

There’s also a new instrument panel with black panel design, Bluetooth/USB as standard, and an updated user interface and touch-sensitive 8.8-inch screen for the Navigation Professional system (with voice control). Wireless induction phone charging is optional, while Apple CarPlay can be accessed via a BMW navigation system. The in-car WiFi hotspot provides connection for up to ten devices. One new leather and two new fabric upholsteries join the range.

The list of assistance systems customers can specify includes Active Cruise Control with Stop & Go function. The Driving Assistant is also available and comprises the Lane Departure Warning system and City Collision Mitigation, which applies the brakes automatically at speeds up to 60 km/h in response to an imminent collision with a car, motorcycle or pedestrian.

BMW offers the standard car along with Luxury Line, Sport Line and M Sport trims, and there’s a BMW M Performance M240i/M240i xDrive flagship variant too, M2 aside. Mediterranean Blue, Seaside Blue and Sunset Orange are the three new colours, and the choice of rims has also been expanded – up by four to 17 designs from 16- to 18-inches.

A wide line-up of three-, four- and six-cylinder turbo engines are available, producing anything from 136 hp (218i) to 340 hp (M240i). All diesel engines feature new turbo tech and enhanced commonrail direct injection systems.

Transmission choices are a six-speed manual gearbox or an eight-speed automatic. The 225d and M240i xDrive variants come standard with the eight-speed Steptronic Sport version of the automatic, which also offers steering paddles.

Rear-wheel drive is unique in the segment, but the M240i and 220d variants can be ordered with xDrive all-wheel drive (M240i only for the Convertible).

GALLERY: BMW 2 Series LCI Coupe

GALLERY: BMW 2 Series LCI Convertible

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• salleh on May 11, 2017 at 12:11 pm

Looks good but coupe tak laku in msia. Abang abang got 5 kids how to use coupe?

• They r not the target market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Maria Ozawa on May 11, 2017 at 6:10 pm

Hello john

• U too r not the target market. Alfat/Helfire/ Pijot Traveller more space, better for ur activities.

• Maria Ozawa on May 11, 2017 at 10:20 pm

Oh… Are u mad bcoz i’m Japanese? Or are u mad bcoz the director no hire u due to the size of ur little bro? Poor john

• Maria Ozawa on May 11, 2017 at 5:01 pm

Better start controlling their population

• Segaran on May 11, 2017 at 4:40 pm

Malaysia had its strength in the automotive sector compared with neighbouring Thailand. More good news to come!

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/05/11/mida-in-talks-with-auto-firms-to-invest-in-malaysia/

• Mikey on May 11, 2017 at 4:52 pm

One word – AWESOME.

• paparadzi (Member) on May 11, 2017 at 4:57 pm

Only the lame 220i version was offered by BMW Malaysia; the 228i would’ve been a better choice. Recently the 2-series coupe has been completely discontinued here.

• Inline6 on May 11, 2017 at 5:31 pm

BMW Malaysia must bounce back quikly.
    Benz market supremacy not healthy for overall premium segmen.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 11, 2017 at 10:49 pm

the 2 series which should have came with a manual…but no bmw malaysia decided people who want an mpv would want a manual…that market research fler needs to be sacked