GALLERY: Toyota Hilux 2.4G with TRD accessories

Official distributor UMW Toyota Motor has showcased a Toyota Hilux 2.4G outfitted with a whole host of TRD components. The kitted-up pick-up truck was done up by dealer Wing Hin Automobile, which has a subsidiary called Wing Hin Motorsports that is an authorised distributor of TRD products. The kit is available at selected showrooms.

Most of the accessories can be found at the front, where you’ll find a honeycomb grille, a protective bumper cover and a red skid plate. Matte black fender flares provide a more muscular appearance, while side steps, a black sports bar, a carbon fibre exhaust tip and 18-inch six-spoke alloy wheels (complete with TRD-branded lug nuts) complete the look. A TRD gearknob can be found inside.

No changes elsewhere, so kit count remains the same and includes halogen headlights, keyless entry, push-button start, Premium Security & Solar Film tint, auto lights and wipers, an eight-way powered driver’s seat, leather upholstery, a digital video recorder, a 6.1-inch touchscreen DVD infotainment system, a reverse camera, a digital video recorder and six speakers.

The engine has also been carried over, so under the bonnet sits a a 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV turbodiesel engine producing 150 PS at 3,400 rpm and 400 Nm of torque between 1,600 rpm and 2,000 rpm. A six-speed automatic transmission sends power to a part-time four-wheel drive system. Safety-wise, the 2.4G has three airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control and ISOFIX rear child seat anchors.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Tok Guru on May 13, 2017 at 2:48 pm

Wish the new hilux could have looked better…

• Toyota could have followed Proton in making the Hilux two tone to make it look better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Those torsion beam rear axle….mmm

• Anti Prabanathan Muntahsamy on May 14, 2017 at 4:49 pm

Of all the 4×4 Pick Ups live road tested by German magazine Teknikens Varld,previous Toyota Hilux was the worst among rivals in sharp cornering.After 9 years Hilux still haven’t change with the new model as in picture here.This is the new Hilux and it still terrible like previous one..During tested at the lowest speed 37mph Hilux almost flipped and dangerously performed on road while the other models such as Dodge Ham,Nissan Navara,VW Amarok,Ford Ranger,Isuzu D-Max and Mitsubishi Troton successfully managed to overcome sudden sharp cornering and these vehicles performed stability and rigidity at much higher speed ranging 40-42mph.It proved Toyota only sell it logo and reputation without solid fact.You can watch it on YouTube and see yourself how terrible the Hilux on the video.Fact don’t lie..! But still Hilux get the upmost respect? I really donbilivit how people got easily conned by image and reputation glorification.Shame on you Toyota!

• Anti Prabanathan Muntahsamy on May 14, 2017 at 4:52 pm

And now UMW want to cover Hilux flaws by massive beautification of this failure junk?

• Kelab Sokong Prabanathan Muthusamy on May 14, 2017 at 4:59 pm

That video was made by German supremacist trying to sabotage Japan success on Hilux for decades.Toyota proved to be the most reliable vehicle on road at any condition on every part of the world.Not just performed at certain good weather condition or flat road surface! Toyota proved to be the best in Africa terrain,extreme hot and cold weather for decades.Toyota will be no 1 and always be the best till the end of the world.Not a single manufacture can emulate Toyota success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
          • I Sokong You Anti Prabanathan on May 15, 2017 at 1:28 pm

Hilux failed the simple cone road test.What would happen if real drive situation on the road at much higher speed? Would you still trust in Hilux stability,rigidity and body control? Yes Hilux is the worst 4×4 pick up.I just watched it and I’m terrified.Luckily I’m not fall prey to Toyota SA last week.I’m going to Mitsubishi,Nissan and Ford soon for my next heavy duty car.

• Eternalgl0ry on May 13, 2017 at 3:03 pm

Carbon fiber trd steering wheel and dashboard missing

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 13, 2017 at 4:56 pm

Junk of a car. Only top model has VSC. Other models of HILUX got no VSC.

Malaysian Gomen themselves said, if all cars had VSC, 45% of all accidents and deaths COULD be prevented in a given year.

This means, if there are 10,000 deaths in a year, if ALL cars had VSC, we could have saved 4500 lives.

Come on UMW, pls give Malaysians VSC. All your cars overseas got VSC but in Malaysia, you purposely take it out to reap more profit and also force people to buy most expensive model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • JASONXer on May 13, 2017 at 7:46 pm

Controlled by Gomen. Keep P1 hopes alive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • That’s y i never choose Toyota brand, used plenty of money buy a reliable logo for what??? Only rubbishman do so

• Triton alredi have 7 airbags. This deathtrap only recently added ONE extra bag. Apakelanjiaoan ini? Mikey/ kunta/ albert, why ur jepunis overlord like that ah?

• Yes triton get more hp than hilux 2.4 & 2.8 engine. Torque also more than hilux 2.4.

• More cosmetic. Lagi2 tipu by toyota

• The car not save to drive, i already used my company car Hilux enter construction site, really suck!

• Bernard on May 14, 2017 at 1:28 pm

3 airbags!!

• Vince on May 14, 2017 at 9:55 pm

Ugly…Very Ah Beng looking. with the decals here and there…what happened to these cars in Malaysia? Very poor taste of design.

• ryanlee on May 15, 2017 at 10:27 am

not sure long shift stick is a trend or legal conformity issue, personally it looked cheap..can’t we just hav cute short shift stick which impart sportiness and lux perhaps.