2018 Toyota Camry styling kits from TRD, Modellista

Toyota recently revealed the 2018 Camry for its domestic market (Japan), and just like the C-HR before it, styling kits from TRD and Modellista will be made available for the D-segment sedan.

Starting with the TRD option, the Camry’s front fascia features a black upper grille, while the lower bumper now sticks out further, and comes with additional LED lighting. Other components of the package include new wheels, side skirts and a modified rear end.

By comparison, the Modellista kit is a little more mellow, with the main changes being a modified lower apron with a large central chrome accent, new wheels, side skirts and rear bumper.

Toyota has yet to reveal what will go under the hood of the Japanese Camry, but it should include the US-market’s hybrid powertrain, consisting of a new 2.5 litre Dynamic Force engine with direct injection and VVT-iE. A non-hybrid 2.5 litre mill and a 3.5 litre V6 are also available for the US-market Camry, along with a new eights-speed automatic transmission.

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Camry (Japanese market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• passion on May 23, 2017 at 11:53 am

looks like LEXUS. WOW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 23, 2017 at 2:22 pm

We Malaysians got no time for TRD. The fact that we just got VSC and more than 2 airbags from Toyota last year itself we are so grateful

For 20 years, UMW sold us cars with no VSC and only 2 airbags despite the very same models having VSC and 10 airbags as standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Sama L00 on May 23, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Most models from Proton and Perodua has no vsc also. Why so worry of Toyota? When comes to Toyota models with good safety features, you complain you too poor no money can’t buy.
        Why good spec Toyota so expensive? Thanks to beloved government and proton protection. you think Toyota can’t compete with low prices and good specs like in Japan and US? Think again!
        But Proton definitely can’t survive when that day comes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • Princess Ayumi Yaoi Ike on May 23, 2017 at 6:32 pm

Why so many wow on this Camry? It is affirmatively confirmed not for ASEAN market.Coz we are 3rd world country with 5th world mentality does not deserve a Japan/USA/Australia version of Camry/Toyota.We will be giving a 2nd grade design by TMC specifically for low standard Asian.Why still many of Malaysian didn’t realised Malaysia were the worst in ASEAN region being discriminated for so long years by TMC? In Thailand and Indonesia new version of Yaris been sold for years but Malaysian completely sidelined by TMC.In Singapore you can find European/USA/Japan models on the road but here we only allowed to drive low specifications version.Anything else not sold by UMW can only available at 2nd hand/refurbished grey importer dealers.. Please support those who treated you fairly and equal not by world’s popular manufacturer.Coz this giant Toyota don’t treat you the same like the rest of the world.You are a scums,which not effect them at all.No respect from me,my money goes to those who appreciate me.Don’t be forever fools.

• Sampah lor on May 23, 2017 at 7:37 pm

Same loo,
          Did u ever think they should rename their to Toyota Facelift Developement (TFD)?

Its kind of cheating to use “racing” name as typical msian toyota pasengger car dont feel racey at all

• Sama L00 on May 24, 2017 at 12:28 pm

Same as Proton R3, engine sucks, gearbox big let down since R3 here and there. Why so sensitive?
            Want racing Toyota, get a 86! Why 86 so expensive in Malaysia? Thanks to your beloved government and Proton protection!

• Underpowered Old Toyota Kunta on May 23, 2017 at 5:17 pm

This overweight piece of Toyota junk is already underpowered using NA engine, when the Germans, A solo Japanese (Honda) and the Koreans are using turbochargers. Now with this TRD , ah bengs have every reason to cheer as they can ‘imagine’ additional 50bhp of power to push this old outdated dinosaur Toyota junk. So many unsold camRY and altis seen in used car dealers and showrooms. The reason is pretty clear.

• NaturallyAspirated on May 23, 2017 at 5:29 pm

The engine is turbocharged or not, it just a preference. I believe that there are still a lot of people appreciate naturally aspirated engine.

• handsomeboy on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:01 am

u think everyone need a turbo ? u dono any shyt about car please stop commenting non sense here, dont act like a pro idi*t….

• AutoFrenz (the original) on May 23, 2017 at 5:40 pm

Wow stunning…very sharp and sleek

• AutoFrenz (the original) on May 23, 2017 at 5:42 pm

The most good looking D segment in the market now…bravo toyota bravo…

• kunta makes pt bad blog on May 23, 2017 at 8:49 pm

Iriz persona preve exora got VSC, only Saga and perdana only on highest variants. Neo and ertiga dun. So most models GOT VSC!

• Sama L00 on May 24, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Who buy Iriz Preve Suprima S Perdana??? People only buy Saga, which has no VSC. And most of the Proton on the road, Wira, Iswara, Satria, Arena, Tiara, Juara, old Perdana, Saga, they all don’t have VSC (some of them don’t even have airbags). So when you come to comment Proton cars is safer with VSC, dun syok sendiri. Same, I won’t say Toyota is a racing car maker because we have 86 and LFA.
          People buy Proton because it is CHEAP, not because it is safe. At the moment they get their Proton, bank saving already not safe, thanks to awesome Proton QC.

• arowana on May 23, 2017 at 11:54 am

uncle car also need styling meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on May 23, 2017 at 5:41 pm

Most girls prefer uncle..unlike you who drive datsun120y

• AutoFrenz (the original) on May 23, 2017 at 8:48 pm

Uncle has more purchasing power…all hail to uncle (my chinese neighbour pronounce it as angkul like cangkul when it should be angkel)…

• Sama L00 on May 24, 2017 at 12:42 pm

When you can’t afford a Camry, you call it uncle car. And when you are on the road driving your Proton, you imagine you are on a M3. How hilarious!

• Lets see if basher will bash overlord or not.

• Wearing hipster outfit, uncle is still an uncle. Why Toyota? Tell us why? Why do you always make the Camry ugly?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Toyota Uncle Design on May 23, 2017 at 1:02 pm

There’s always disappointment on Toyota Camry Design. Always.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • U must understand one thing….if camry is so good looking, whos gonna buy lexus..now thats logic

• My opinion, Lexus and Toyota doesn’t play on the same market. If someone like me that wanted to buy a Camry, in my comparison list there will be Honda Accord, Kia Optima, Hyundai Sonata, or maybe Mazda 6. Lexus, it’s over-budget. So it’s either the Camry, or Toyota will lose this business, don’t mention Lexus.
          Anyhow, I’m still praying for a sportier look and more dynamic design for Malaysian version of the Camry. Please please…

• Sama L00 on May 24, 2017 at 12:40 pm

Every boy here will become uncle one day, no exception (unless you die early different story). But not every uncle can afford a Camry.

• toyotayucksdesign on May 23, 2017 at 5:41 pm

I dont think it look like uncle but aggresive in fact too aggressive. Weird eyes far apart from each other, big mouth like a whale. It just alien.

• Silver on May 23, 2017 at 1:14 pm

Jan, wait for the upcoming Honda Accord. New engine, new hybrid system, new CVT, and AWESOME LOOK for sure!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • All the while, I prefer Toyota driving experience over Honda’s. But the Camry looks always hold me back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on May 23, 2017 at 5:40 pm

Accord so ugly…

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 23, 2017 at 4:07 pm

sam loo say best sports car

• sparcov on May 24, 2017 at 10:30 am

Once the mind stick with Toyota, all uncle will continue buy toyota. If rich uncle, they will upgrade to Lexus.

People buy a car for track record. At the end of the day money is important, resales value is still top of my list.