New Kia Picanto on display in Malaysia – 2018 launch

Here’s a surprise – the new Kia Picanto is on display at the Red Cube Johor Bahru showroom in Plentong. The third-generation city car, codenamed JA, is set to go on sale here next year.

The unit shown here is decked out in sporty GT Line trim, which adds more aggressive front and rear bumpers, deeper side skirts and a gloss black rear diffuser with twin exhaust exits. There are also 16-inch two-tone alloy wheels, an inch larger than what the previous TA model was offered with.

The display car is packed to the gills with kit, including automatic halogen projector headlights with LED daytime running lights, LED tail lights, keyless entry, push-button start, six airbags and stability control, all of which were offered on the outgoing model.

On top of those are new features like part-leather upholstery, cruise control, a navigation system with a seven-inch touchscreen, a reverse camera, automatic climate control, a sunroof, a tyre pressure monitoring system (TPMS) and even autonomous emergency braking (AEB). However, don’t expect all of these to be featured on local units – this is, after all, a car that will be playing in a price-sensitive market.

Power should come from a the same 1.25 litre naturally-aspirated DOHC four-cylinder engine as before, making 83 hp at 6,000 rpm and 122 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, matched to a four-speed automatic transmission. Naza Kia previously sold the TA with a five-speed manual option, but a low take-up rate means that it’s unlikely to be offered again.

No information on pricing has been released as yet, but expect the new Picanto to carry a slight premium over its predecessor, which retailed at RM61,888 on-the-road with insurance.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Wow.. the interior put all existing A segment car in Malaysia to shame!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
  • very good looking interior. if comes with cruise control, surely making it very special in this segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • (Like) Iriz.
    (Dislike) Picanto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 97
    • Syiok Syiok Sendiri on Aug 24, 2017 at 2:49 pm

Iriz is a failure. a very big failure. Picanto isn’t. So you cannot compare both. By the way, old Picanto had 6 airbags, Proton give how many airbags?

Malaysian car for Malaysian people but don’t care for our safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 34
      • Iriz is game-changer. Onzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
      • Nope. Ever since Iriz came out P2 alredi stop production for Mivi lagi lagi best lagi lagi facelift. Have u even seen 1 on the roads?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 25
      • Oh yeah, Iriz oso got 6 airbags. So its same same. Ur Mivi brapa airbag tu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
      • rally_fan (Member) on Aug 24, 2017 at 4:32 pm

iriz does have 6 airbags in the top spec model for RM58k and 1.6ltr engine. For the Kia, you need to be paying just over rm60k, and you get a 1.2 ltr engine and if im not wrong, when launched in malaysia, has no stability control whereas all the IRIZ down to the lowest spec has it. This new GT line due next year has ESC i believe, but thats next year, so i find it strange that you are talking about safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 24, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Iriz also have 6 airbag on range topping variant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
      • Proton Asia Continental on Aug 24, 2017 at 5:05 pm

This picanto is very under powered. Floored the pedal also can’t feel acceleration. Iris is better. Better handling dynamic, more linear acceleration. Picanto only win interior quality and fuel consumption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
      • lotusftw on Aug 24, 2017 at 10:24 pm

Cannot compare with Iriz. Jepunis and Korean cars have sampan ride. Dun let me start with handling.

• Diff segment class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • thepolygonal on Aug 24, 2017 at 3:51 pm

Ini cadangan ke soalan?

Haha… the Iriz does have a good lookiing interior but I have to say this Picanto looks nicer maybe because it’s newer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • jibby v2.60 on Aug 24, 2017 at 2:32 pm

wow AEB. if naza include this, i’ll buy one straightaway!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Matchy on Aug 24, 2017 at 2:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 148
  • my goodness. look at those specs. is wow.. with sunroof somemore. i gonna change my iriz right now. Perhaps, naza should bring the top range Rio to Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
    • For 60k u can get a bigger much more comfortable Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
    • Proton Asia Continental on Aug 24, 2017 at 5:07 pm

It’s very under powered. Iris has better acceleration and driving dynamic. Picanto has better cabin quality and fuel consumption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
  • KIA we know you are looking at the comment section. Bring in Apple carplay/Android Auto, Sunroof, AEB and reverse camera, confirm will sell like hot cakes!

• camtakpro on Aug 26, 2017 at 10:16 pm

Give you 4spd auto. 1.25L engine. 6 airbag, VSC, TPM & AEB and Kia still can’t sell.

Because missing mirror-link, sun/moon roof, auto climate control.

• Basher on Aug 24, 2017 at 4:18 pm

At the front, on one hand looks aggressive, on the other looks like an angry toddler.

• Bernard on Aug 24, 2017 at 4:20 pm

No manual transmission?? Big mistake!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • heybadigol (Member) on Aug 24, 2017 at 4:47 pm

The interior looks Mazda-ish. And that is a praise. You sit inside and it reminds you of a more expensive car. Hopefully, they feel as nice to touch as they are to look at. But at the class its in, looks (and practicality) matters much more than material quality. But drivers who also frequent Paultan might want more powarhhh.

• 12yrsold on Aug 24, 2017 at 4:58 pm

Agree with U FF but RM61,888 on-the-road with insurance is NOT exactly Cheap. I’m not going to name names here but U will get more “cars” with more ‘bangs’ if U shop around.

• vwvwvw on Aug 24, 2017 at 4:59 pm

Still waiting VW Polo 2018. let’s compare the price & spec in future. :D
    I love those small car with unique design.

• ryder0707 on Aug 24, 2017 at 5:05 pm

KIA Malaysia, can you explain why little car like this gets 7-inch touchscreen while the huge Grand Carnival gets a little one???

• donno on Aug 24, 2017 at 5:31 pm

The new Picanto has a few design cues from the IRIZ, from the headlight-fender parting lines to the imitation leather stitching on the dashboard. That is what you get when you use korean design houses for your car. Then Kia brings it a notch higher with much more better details on all areas, exterior, interior, electronics. That is what a big R&D budget and massive production volumes can bring to the design of a new car, and highlights the proton’s lack of R&D budget with the semi-finished feel of the IRIZ.

BTW the center grille of the reminds me of the old NAZA Suria Concept car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Nope. This only shows that P1 was front runner and Kia only improve on this pioneering effort by P1. When its time for Iriz2, it will improve on this Kia. Thats innovation and improvement.

• heyheyman123 on Aug 24, 2017 at 6:33 pm

At least Proton (Geely) have more safety features than Perodua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 4
  • heyheyman123 on Aug 24, 2017 at 6:34 pm

At least Proton have more safety features than Perodua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr (Member) on Aug 24, 2017 at 8:12 pm

I have the second gen as my town car and it’s a very good one at it and looking at this 3rd gen I can safely say if KIA Malaysia brings the full spec in it will continue to be the A segment leader in terms of safety and spec kit.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 24, 2017 at 9:24 pm

its still a supermini

• Super-Value on Aug 24, 2017 at 11:52 pm

Wow 4 speed auto

• What is Hyundai doing? Still selling that same old i10…

• sam123 on Aug 25, 2017 at 10:48 am

got manual?